We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, staff and comfortable accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #65 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2009

I recently stayed at Hotel Du Vin in Edinburgh with a group of friends where we had arranged a private dinner in the hotel's 'Burk and Hare' dining room. There were 20 of us who came for a 3 course meal and 10 of us stayed in the hotel. The staff were very accommodating to help sort out menu choices, arrange rates on accommodation and on the night, the service was excellent. The food was very tasty, although perhaps a little heavy, and the portions were very generous. The Burk and Hare room is a lovely venue for any groups wishing to arrange a private area for dining and was reasonably priced. We were also able to have a private drinks reception in the hotel's Whisky Snug, which started the evening off in a gorgeous setting.
As for accommodation, we had originally booked a studio room for 3 to share. When we checked in however, we were upgraded to the Dom Perignon Suite, which was incredible. It was a stunning room, with huge bed, balcony, free standing bath, monsoon shower etc. Other guests in our party stayed in the standard rooms or studios which I think were a little on the small side. The breakfast the next morning was super- plenty of choice and the hot breakfast was made fresh to order.
Overall the best thing about the stay was the service from the staff- they helped out with every aspect of our stay.
The one negative thing I would say about this hotel is there is no parking and not even a convenient place to stop and unload your car- double yellow lines outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spring09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,024 - 1,030 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2009

We stayed here for two nights during a rugby weekend and paid £160 for the first night and a whopping £190 for the second - for a standard room. Overall we felt quite disappointed and that we hadn't really had value for money.

On the plus side
This is a hotel that has been beautifully renovated and furnished to create a lovely environment. We loved the muted colours, super-comfortable bed, good quality bedding and towels and the general feel of the place.

We also liked the location - while it is a 5 minute walk to the Royal Mile, it is a nice quiet area and still easy to get to all the sights.

On the down side
We didn't feel the rooms were worth the money we paid. Although what was there was very good quality, there were some fairly basic omissions. For example, there is no mineral water in the room except at a charge from the minibar. There was no cotton wool/cotton buds, mending kit, shoe shine or - rather surprisingly - moisturiser. We only had one face cloth between two people. I'm sure we could have had another if we'd asked - but for this price you really shouldn't need to. The coffee and tea was great - but no biscuits were provided.

You can judge for yourself whether these things are likely to bother you. Most of them didn't really bother us in themselves but we have stayed at many other hotels where this has all been provided - and we have paid much less. Equally we've paid much more elsewhere and been completely satisfied.

We thought the standard room was small and quite boxy. There was no comfortable chair - only a high backed dining type chair at a small desk. If we'd had room service one of us would have to have eaten while sitting on the bed.

Which is probably what a previous guest had done as one of the cushions had a large tomato (at least thats what I hope it was!) stain on it. This was replaced when left out and obvious but I was surprised it slipped through the net. The room was spotless otherwise though. Housekeeping did try to come in the room when we had the do not disturb sign on the door but they were very apologetic about this.

In terms of our particular room we did have a number of issues, including the fact that the telephone did not work. Which meant whenever we wanted to speak to the hotel we either had to go downstairs or ring from the mobile. Staff did what they could to sort this out but as it was a line problem it was not possible to remedy it. They also offered a room change (to another standard room) but by that time we felt it probably wasn't worth the hassle to move.

We also found the airconditioning unit quite noisy - it seemed to emit a high pitched sound for about half an hour after it had been turned off - we mentioned this at check out. There was also a bulb out in the bathroom - which we didn't complain about in the end, having seen enough of the maintenance people already because of the phone problem.

The other thing to say about the rooms generally is that most of them seemed to overlook an inner courtyard. This courtyard is also the outside space for smokers and houses the cigar bothy (shack). Which meant that in the evening it tended to be quite noisy with drinkers outside smoking and generally being loud. (This was even with the double glazed windows closed) Staff did do what they could to move people along at about 11-11.30 ish but if you want to go to bed earlier than that and there are a lot of people out there you might struggle.

Breakfast was nice - and good value as far as hotel breakfasts go at £9.95 for continental - although service was not great. The first morning tea and coffee didn't arrive until we'd almost finished eating - and after two requests from us. The second morning we had to ask twice for a bakery basket and when it arrived it was only half filled.

We also ate in the bistro one evening which was similarly a mixed experience as my main course (fish) was almost completely raw and had to be sent back. Both of our meals were replaced and staff were apologetic but for this kind of problem I might have expected them to say that there would be no charge for that dish or that they would give us the drinks for free. Similarly with the room - it wouldn't have taken much at check out to write off the minibar charges (only around £14) given the problems we'd had.

Instead, we came away thinking the hotel was beautifully renovated and decorated but despite that we'd had an average experience for quite a lot of money.

Would we go back? Probably unlikely. We might if we could get a better rate than the one we paid.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

The Hotel Du Vin is a beautiful looking building with a lovely courtyard next to the entrance.
Upon arrival my Manager and I were each shown to our rooms by the receptionist, who even gave us a 'tour' of our rooms.
My room had a beautiful, Scottish-feel decor, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely and big, with heated floors and a wonderful monsoon shower.
I also had to chance to sample the bar and restaurant. The bar was very busy but despite this the barmen were very attentive and helpful, finding us a table to sit at.
The restaurant was great, the Sommelier was very knowledgeable but there were only a couple of vegetarian options on the menu. The food itself was lovely and not too expensive.
My stay was very enjoyable and comfortable and I highly recommend this hotel to business and leisure travellers alike.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelguestBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We arrived at the hotel at 16:10 to find out suite was not ready (check in was supposed to be from 15:00). Staff asked us to wait in the bar and someone would come and get us in 20 minutes when the suite was ready. Unfortunatly 20 minutes came and went and noone came to get us. As we had early dinner reservations at The Witchery at 17:30 we were a little anxious so had to go and find out for ourselves.

We stayed in the Don Perignon suite which was fantastic! Decor, facilities and entertainment were superb. Had a bit of trouble with the door but overall amazing.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was ok. A good range of cold and cooked breakfasts available. Pity our tea and coffee order was wrong and they forgot to bing our toast after asking for it.

Hotel is in an excellent location. Watch out for parking! The new NCP is not sign posted so be prepared to keep your eyes peeled!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expectthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ditagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellingtonboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,591 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,088 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,755 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $143 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing