We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again but worth booking superior room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have stayed in the Hotel du Vin Edinburgh several times. The last time (June 2014) we had pre-booked in 2013 and went for a superior suite on the top floor (cannot remember exact description). It was well worth it as the room was far bigger, with a lovely big bathroom and super walk-in, roomy shower. A big difference, as the standard rooms can be a bit tight walking round the bed. Ouch.

Very comfortable bed, and we did not hear much noise from Friday night revellers in the courtyard. Some common parts (dining room) looking a bit tired now and could do with a refresh. Could not fault room. Breakfast pretty good, small upgrade to 'Full Scottish' from 'Continental' worth it.

I must mention the very friendly and helpful lady behind the bar on the mezzanine floor. Just the person for trying the whisky menu.

Names (not numbers) of rooms an irritation. Don't ask me what we were in... 'Albany'?? Not cheap, but central and an above-average quality hotel.

Room Tip: Try a price for the better rooms. Top floor and facing away from courtyard the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stevewake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Steve,

Thank you for your review of Hotel du Vin. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us in our unique conversion style hotel. Our rooms are named after Champagne and Wines. Each hotel is proud to be associated with these various houses. Thank you for your lovely comments about our bar tender and I will be sure to pass on your feedback.

Thank you once again and best regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

I joined a group of 6 friends to celebrate a birthday in the bistro at the hotel bistro. The interior is quite dark and quirky as it is in an old building. If as the website says it is in the old town, then it must be the very edge and I would say more the University quarter which has been hugely redeveloped. Entry is via a passageway from the street and there is a courtyard just outside the reception area where people were sitting enjoying a drink in the sunshine. The restaurant is like the rest of the hotel fairly dark but with lots of character and the staff were attentive. The meal was £24.95 for 4 courses: Soup of the day, Market table, main and dessert. We all tried different things but the highlight for me was the Market Table, a help-yourself buffet, mainly with salad, charcuterie, seafood and assorted picked vegetables. We all enjoyed what we had, although my steak and frites was light on the steak and heavy on the frites.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank arrbee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review of our Sunday Brunch at Hotel du Vin. We are very proud of our Brunch offering and at such outstanding value of only £24:95pp it is hard to find anything of similar quality in town. Thank you for dining with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

A bit difficult to find initially. Friendly welcome and a very strange layout inside which took a little gtting used to. Lovely suite with a bath in the window recess. Underfloor heating in the bathroom and a stainless steel shower tray - all just a little different!
Lots to choose from in the mini bar with lots of snacks too. Very comfortable bed too.

We didnt eat in the hotel but will save that for the next time.

Not a great view from the window but quiet with being so central.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank nelleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear nelleh,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel du Vin. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back to sample our Bistro soon.

Best regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

What a hotel – we stayed here having received gift vouchers as a Christmas prezzie and had a fantastic time. Our room was upgraded to one of their suites…and this was before they knew it was my birthday! The Krug suite was fabulous, being very luxurious and having a bathroom as big as the large bedroom area. It could actually qualify as having two bathrooms: one with standalone bath and the other with a huge shower. We also really liked the little balcony overlooking the bistro. Bistro closes down around 11pm so no complaints about the noise level, certainly no noise comes in from the street.

The bed was comfortable and MASSIVE! All facilities you would expect (tea/coffee-making; iron and board; wardrobe; safe; mini bar- with actual milk for the tea!; TV) plus some nice extras in the Nespresso machine, free paper and provision of fluffy bathrobes. The room is quite dark, which makes it cosy and great for sleeping.

We had a drink in the pretty courtyard area; we didn’t eat there as we had another reservation but the food looked very good. Probably at the upper end of the bistro scale with mains £18+.

The location is perfect: quiet yet central with cafés, shops, the castle, the Grassmarket and the Royal Mile in very easy reach. It’s about 5 mins walk from the Royal Mile and about 8 mins to the Grassmarket, which has several bars and restaurants. Recommend Biddy’s or Southern Cross for lunch, Mary’s Milk bar for gelato and the Mussel and Steak Bar for dinner. Nearby, Mum’s Comfort Food and The Elephant House do nice breakfasts, too.

The staff were great and we appreciated being able to leave our bags with them before we checked in and after we checked out at no extra charge.

We shall definitely be returning! Thanks for a very nice birthday stay!

Room Tip: If you can, get the Krug!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elsierose1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear ElsieRosie,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Hotel du Vin and a very Happy Birthday to you. I am delighted we made your Birthday weekend so special and that you got to experience the beautiful yet quirky Krug Suite. It was a true pleasure to have you as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Visited this establishment Friday, Saturday and Sunday 13th July 2014.. I've visited their Hotels a lot in York so I knew what to expect in Edinburgh. I was very depressed with the place. It was monotonous, predictable and pedestrian. Same Menu which is so poor it is embarrassing. Meals were tasteless. But on this visit it was not the meals which really concerned me but the management of the place. Run on very few unqualified staff this weekend. It was sad. We were prevented from entering various parts of the Hotel because of private booking of bars and certain rooms. I object to being booked into a Hotel to find that certain prts of it are out of bounds. The Hotel is booked by all clients using the Hotel so I think there should be no double booking rooms! Secondly our bedroom windows were locked without a key to open it at all. I complained to the Manager about the fire risk situation where if there had been a fire in our corridor we would have been trapped in our room with no escape anywhere! The bedroom windows have glass shields across the outside of the windows preventing any access to the upper rooms. HELP. Fire service please do an inspection for our peace of mind.

1  Thank Ernest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Ernest,

Thank you for your review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am sorry to learn you were not happy during your stay with us. The hotel is quite a busy destination and that weekend we had several private events taking place which used the many rooms we have to offer. Being a brand hotel, like most, the Bistro menus and Bar menus are the same throughout the group.

Due to Health & Safety, our windows are locked to prevent any accidents that could occur. The hotel has many exit routes on all floor levels in the event, a fire would occur and windows would only be a last resort to use if a fire crew were involved.

Thank you once again.

Regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

First time staying here and we stayed in the Dom Perignon executive suite.

Pro's of the suite were it was very spacious and had an emperor size bed which was very comfortable, a battleship bath which was very deep, a large shower, Juliet balcony overlooking the court yard, 2 large TV's, mini bar, free wifi, nespresso machine, air con and it is in a good location with a lot of different restaurants, pubs, shops etc close by.

Con's of the room were that the Bose surround sound system wasn't working nor was the heated towel rail.

We would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Holly,

Thank you for your review of the Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the Suite you had. The BOSE system does work for the CD compartment but not linked with the TV system. The towel rails we turn off during the summer months as the rooms can become quite hot. We can turn these on if a guest requests.

Many thanks again Holly and look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here twice now. Consistently good. In a great spot..Safe parking nearby discounted for HDV guests. Moat helpful staff, even found space for us to lock up our bikes. Not the cheapest but very comfy rooms, lovely luxury touches. Quiet and quirky hotel and lovely outside courtyard. No great views and don't like the central booking system but, other than that I like this hotel a lot.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 286HannahR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Hannah,

Thank you for your review of Hotel du Vin and great to have you come back as a return guest. I am delighted my team were able to look after you and your bikes during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,406 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,207 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $144 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing