We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #71 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Brought my girlfriend here for her birthday. Couldn't have been more impressed with the room, massive bath tub in the centre with Bose surround sound system and a Nespresso machine to top it all off. Staff were very courteous for example bringing up 2 fresh boxes of Nespresso capsules for our use. Highly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallerSt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear WallerSt123,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am very pleased to read you had a fantastic visit with us and made your stay quite special. It is great to receive this feedback and I will be sure to share with my team.

Once again, thank you and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    331
    123
    56
    10
See reviews for
102
578
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a very quirky hotel in which it is possible to get lost quite easily. All the rooms follow the HduVin brand. The beds are hugely comfortable and the quality of bedlinen quite amazing. Shower heads are enormous and the communal rooms are very comfortable. It is in a great location and the staff are professional and helpful. Downsides are that not all rooms are accessible by lift (not too serious as only three floors high), some of the rooms are a bit dark (those in the attic part) but overall a lovely place to stay. None of the H du V are that cheap but they are probably worth it

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Giz56,

Thank you for your lovely review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am very pleased to read you had a nice stay with us and you liked the charm and offering of what we provide. Unfortunately the layout of the old Asylum doesnt lend itself to provide lifts to all floor and therefore 8 rooms are accessed via a staircase. We do provide a rooming service to all our guests to ensure they know the location of room and also provide assistance with luggage.

I am glad you liked the beds and the showers, they are by far the best i have come across in my time in hotels.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenAhmed
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just back from a stay at the hotel, and I can't recommend this hotel enough. We like to stay at The HdV hotels, and this one does not disappoint.

As you walk in your greeted by a friendly reception staff that show you up to your room, nice touch and explain the features within the well appointed rooms. The room we stayed in was lovely. Spacious and very clean. The bathroom had both a bath and a walk in shower. The rooms are well decorated (a slight smell of paint in the room, but no big issue).

The hotel in an old asylum. its quirky, and had a individual feel.

We had our dogs with us, and most hotels make you feel quite unwelcome, however when we went down for breakfast, they had set up the whiskey snug so we didn't have to leave the dogs. We had dinner in the cellar bar, and again the set up a table for us to use and we ordered from the bistro menu. All of the staff in the hotel really go out of their way to help. They went beyond the call, we stayed for lunch on Sunday which was just great, and again chose to have lunch in the bar.

Sandy and the rest of the guys on the bar really looked after us he and the other guy are really helpful and we spent a great couple of days at the hotel.

The restaurant manager even offered to get some of the champagne we were drinking ordered back in for us. Great touch! That said they have a lovely wine list so it was no problem finding something else.

If i were heading back to Edinburgh, I would book this hotel in an instant!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Ben,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am delighted we got you to stay and that your dogs were also able to make the visit. We do take great pride in providing exceptional service to all guests and take the time to remember preference of guests, especially if staying over a few days.

My team are a great asset to the hotel and I thank you for taking the time to mention them and I will be sure to share your feedback with them.

Once again Ben, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Headed over to the bar for coffee and a wee dram........ What a great night..... Dominic took care of recommending some outstanding whiskey very knowledgeable, friendly and a great host..... The atmosphere is great, relaxing, intimate and a warm fire. Love coming here and always have a great experience, will be back again. The staff are all friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippiechick88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Hippiechick88,

Thank you for posting your review regarding you visit with us. I am delighted that Dominic took great care of you and recommended some fine Whisky's for you to enjoy. My team here are very knowledgable and will always go out of their way to enjoy you get as much education as possible regarding Wines and Whisky.

We do very hope to have you come back again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

What a lovely place. Staff were very helpful and attentive during our afternoon tea for 6 people.
The courtyard had a heated covered area to protect you from the normal Scottish weather should you need it as well as tables and chairs uncovered for you to use if the sun shines.
There was a huge log fire in our dining area which gave a homely effect though it did get very warm.
Afternoon tea consisted of the normal sandwiches, scones, cakes and the selection of different teas was very good. All the tea was loose leaf and there was extra water to add to your pot if you required it. Nice touch was that all the cups, plates etc were fine china which always makes the tea taste better (I think). We stayed for quite a long time and never felt we were being rushed to leave as happens in so many other places.
All in all a very enjoyable afternoon was had by all and I plan to get my husband to take me back to stay overnight and dine there as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trish f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Trish,

Thank you for your lovely review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am delighted to read you had a great Afternoon Tea experience with us. We believe Afternoon Tea to be a relaxed and enjoyable experience and would never rush anyone to enjoy a lovely treat. The fire in the bistro is a great addition, especially on cold winter days.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another treat.

Best regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here on the weekend of Friday 13th December for 2 nights and had a relaxing enjoyable stay in Hotel Du Vin. Upon arrival to our room we were greeted with a personal message from the manager with complimentary chocolates, a really nice gesture :) the rooms was small but very cosy and adequate for our needs; the bathroom was huge with a bath and monsoon shower, also had a good view of the courtyard.
We looked forward to coming back to the room each night, esp with the December weather! My boyfriend enjoyed having a smoke at the cigar hubby with heated fire, whilst I preferred the whiskey room for an afternoon tea which also had a fire in the traditional scottish decor room. The hotel was relaxing as it wasn't overly busy which was nice as coming home from a bustling princes street we looked forward to sitting down to a drink and able to enjoy the calmness!
The breakfast was the highlight of our trip, I had the eggs Benedict and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs during my stay (spoilt for choice, great menu!) and there is also the option of a continental breakfast with a vast array of choices such as croissants, yoghurts, fresh orange juice, pastries, cereals and fruit Etc
We found the wine a tad expensive, it works out better opening a bottle of wine from the Mini bar if enjoying a drink in the room rather than ordering a glass or two from room service.
Overall we had a most enjoyable stay in the run up to christmas, and found the hotel cosy, intimate, and relaxing. We hope to return back in the near future

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reflections1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Reflections1012,

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent with us at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am delighted to read how positive your stay was with us and that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay.

It is very encouraging to read how you had a great Breakfast experience and I will share your feedback with my team. I am glad you and your partner got to enjoy the various little nooks and crannies throughout the hotel.

Once again, thank you and I very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a one night stay in a superior room. Lovely room with a roll top bath and rain forest shower. All staff were attentive, friendly and courteous and a credit to the hotel. The breakfast was delicious, we enjoyed the cooked option. Gorgeous, cosy hotel - can't wait to return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mint a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear mintaero,

Thank you very much for your review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It is with great pleasure to read you and your partner had a lovely stay with us. I am delighted to note the staff were outstanding on this visit and that you particularly enjoyed your breakfast.

Thank you very much and we look forward to having you return to us in the near future.

Best wishes,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing