We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky hotel, ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #68 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quirky hotel, ideal location”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had high expectations having stayed in a hotel du vin before and we were not disappointed. Excellently located and with a 20 minute walk from the train station, it proved an ideal base to explore the wonderful city. We were able to leave our bags before and after check in. Not convenient if you arrive by car as it had no car park and parking elsewhere was very expenisve. You have to embrace the quirkyness of the hotel to enjoy what it has to offer. I loved its unusal history, it's a beautiful old building. Our superior double room was worth paying for the upgrade, however, the open plan design of the bedroom with freestanding bath and monsoon shower came as an eye opener! We soon got use to it and found it romantic and a novelty for the two nights we were there. Tastefully decorated, luxurious tartan fabrics and soft bedding- we had a great nights sleep, the room was lovely and warm. Having a drink in the cosy whiskey snug is a must for hotel guests. We had an evening meal in the bistro, which was excellent. The staff were attentive, the food and wine delicious. However, the price was expensive meaning it was a one off nice treat. We decided not have breakfast at £15 per head. It was very quiet when we went and did think the staff on reception could have been a bit better with check-in. I also said it was for a special occasion and were suppost to put a bottle of champagne in the room which never materialised which is why I rate it 4 rather than 5. On balance I would definatley recommend staying here, a great Scottish hotel steeped in charm.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. I beleive the standard rooms are a bit on the small side so paying for an upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Anne,

Thank you for your review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro, Edinburgh. I am delighted to read you had a lovely stay and that you really liked the hotel. The hotel is very quirky with some unusual touches and I am glad you liked those.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the champagne and the team at the front desk, this is something I will look into and ensure we improve upon those.

Thanks again Anne and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    336
    124
    57
    11
See reviews for
108
585
43
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked a twin superior room as they don't have any twin suites which seemed odd. The hotel wasn't full but it turns out the only twin room they had available was the disability adapted room so the beautiful gracious bathroom in the website pictures was functional and basic with a massive shower with shower curtain, adapted loo, massive hospital taps etc. And the bath was in the actual bedroom so no privacy what so ever. This was not explained at booking or at check in and so bearing in mind it's a twin room is unlikely to be a bedroom used by people who know each other well enough to take a bath in front of each other. The room was very noisy , i could hear the tv from next door, and even coughing and sneezing. The floor boards in out room creaked everywhere and so loudly it was impossible to even go to the loo without waking up the other person. There was no Bbc 1 on the tv (ie there was sound but no picture). The receptionist when we arrived did not even say hello or smile. Her first words were: the room isn't ready yet. Housekeeping were cleaning the next door room before 9am and the hoovering was so loud you would have thought they were hoovering our room.
There's so many wonderful hotels in Edinburgh, don't bother wasting your money here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Rosiewill,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel du Vin & Bistro, Edinburgh. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and encounter some minor issues. I am sure if these were brought to the attention of my team, they could all have been resolved.

Like most hospitality establishments, we are DDA compliant and need to cater to the needs of many guests and abilities. During your stay, the hotel was full and all rooms were allocated. We do believe the rooms are tastefully decorated and fitted out to meet the needs required.

Thank you for your feedback, which is valuable.

Regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have stayed at many of the HdV hotels around the UK. During that 10 year period the standard of both the rooms and the service has steadily gone downhill. We booked a standard room at a cost of £150 per night, excluding breakfast.

On arrival we were offered room 'Schlos' which overlooks the central courtyard. It was small, with very plain décor and looked directly into the room opposite, so we asked for a different room. We were offered 2 rooms and chose 'Torres' which was larger with higher ceilings as it seemed to be in the original part of the building - everywhere creaked in the newer part. Torres was much better, but on closer inspection it was a bit tatty in the bathroom and the curtains didn't close properly as they were not fixed at either end of the rail. On the plus side the bed was extremely comfortable and the shower excellent. The cleaning regime did seem a bit slapdash with not enough attention to detail.
We decided not to eat at the hotel, as we haven't been very impressed with the food in the past especially the breakfasts, which seemed to be lacking a good butcher and free range eggs.

Edinburgh is a very walkable city, so the location is perfect, being a short walk to the castle. To go further afield we used the excellent and easy to understand Lothian buses - buy a (bargain)day ticket for £3.50. We went by bus to the Royal Botanical Gardens, the zoo and the Britannia at Leith and regularly north to the Princes Street area. There are many interesting places to visit nearby, including the National Museum of Scotland, National Gallery and the previously mentioned Royal Botanical Gardens which are all free.

In conclusion, HdV seem to be resting on their laurels and relying on their previously good reputation to draw customers in. Our opinion is they are charging premium prices for what is no longer a premium product. Overall a disappointing stay at HdV Edinburgh and we won't be staying at HdV again.

Room Tip: Rooms in original part of the building seem bigger and even overlooking the road were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterCheckmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro, Edinburgh. I am sorry to read the hotel did not meet your expectations overall and the feedback is certainly useful to the teams at the hotel.

Our Bistro has always received great comments especially with regards to breakfast. I do believe if you had eaten here, you would have had many enjoyable meals.

Thank you once again and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I thought this hotel was okay..for the price we paid. It didnt have a lot of parking space - being in the town centre so we had to park about 10mins walk away (closest NCP) & it cost £20 /day. The hotel used to be an asylum a long time ago, before being turned into a blood transfusion unit and it was then turned into a Hotel. This does explain the layout of the rooms which are quite small (we did opt for the most basic room as we weren't going to be in them for most of the day!) and quite clinical. I was a bit disappointed that we got a room with disabled bathroom facilities - with wet room style shower...which just made the room feel even worse. However, the staff are really lovely & really helpful so for me this is a big plus for the hotel. I'm sure if we asked and they had rooms free - they would have done their best to move us. Another plus is that it is within short walking distance from Edinburgh Castle (approx 15mins max).

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vicky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Vicky,

Thank you for your review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh and your kind words regarding the team here. With regards to rooms, the hotel does have a few rooms which comply with DDA regulations. When the hotel is busy, all rooms would be utilised. As you did note, should you have contacted reception, we would off course have tried our best to accommodate you in another room.

Like most city centre locations, parking is not the best and this is something we cannot have much influence over. We have however negotiated to offer guests 20% off parking at the NCP closest to the hotel.

Thank you once again for your review and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

stayed overnight on a business trip and was rather impressed. great rooms, lovely staff, good location and one very filling breakfast! the food in their restaurant was ok but i wasn't wow'd! the rooms have names and not numbers which is cute but can be quite tricky finding your way back to your room. everything was great, the only thing that would really top it for me would be a pair of slippers and a warm room on arrival (the air con was on full blast...) would most definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Joanna,

Thank you for your review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro, Edinburgh. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here and thank you for your feedback regarding the restaurant. I am sorry the Bistro didnt match your expectations and I will be sure to pass this onto the Bistro Manager and Head Chef.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel du Vin in the near future.

Best regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife booked this place for a lunch deal, and this place looks fantastic inside. We had the set lunch package, and to be honest we couldn't fault it. The nice touch is with the top quality olive oil and balsamic vinaigrette dip. The staff were very friendly, and although we cannot remember our waiters name, it was great. What more can you ask or, great for, beautiful wine.
Even of the offer to view the wine cellar was a nice touch, and if we had more time then we would have accepted his offer. Next time though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David34eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for your wonderful of our Bistro at Hotel du Vin, Edinburgh. I am delighted you had a great meal experience and the team looked after you so well. The Bistro does offer great quality food and wine, which i am glad you enjoyed thoroughly.

The Bistro team and myself look forward to having you return again soon. Maybe then you can take advantage of a little private wine tasting in our Laroche Tasting Room.

Regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham uk
Level Contributor
521 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked the sunday night deal which includes dinner for £99,and we were extremely pleased with our decision. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty,and made to feel really welcome. We were shown to our room,which was very tastefully decorated,and everything about the hotel was explained to us in an enthusiastic but professional manner,and when my wife requested a change of bedding because of her feather allergy,it was handled without any fuss. Prior to dining in the bistro that evening we relaxed in the whisky bar,where I savoured some excellent malt,and my wife was blown away by her Caiprainski cocktail. The food was of equal quality,with an absolutely sublime dressed crab,and lip smackingly good rib eye steak. Hotel Du Vin is also ideally located for all that Edinburgh has to offer,which helps make for a totally enjoyable stay. Well done.

Room Tip: There isn't any parking at he hotel,but if you arriving from the South,then you can leave your c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlunlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Sunlunlad,

Thank you for your "Quality" review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro, Edinburgh. It was with great delight to read your lovely comments about the hotel, bar and Bistro. I am also happy to read that the team were very enthusiastic and assisted you during your stay.

As a team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best wishes,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#48 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing