We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'd be mad not to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #65 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Situated in an old insane asylum the renovation is brilliant.
Plush rooms, lovely bathroom.
Cute whisky snug and stylish bar.
We had afternoon tea which was delightful, and breakfast was yummy, with a brilliant choice.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Location excellent, situated near the old town.
Would most definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in a large suite earlier this month - got a great deal on room, suite upgrade and bistro meal/allowance.
Staff were very helpful, polite and professional. Service in the bistro was superb - very attentive, without interrupting too often.
Suite was lovely - roll-top bath just fab!
Would definitely stay here again - great standard of accommodation and service, and close to city centre.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite and enjoy plenty of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having recently stayed at the Hotel Du Vin in Glasgow which really was amazing we had high hopes of this stay. All in all it was really rather lovely and the location can't really be beaten. We ddin't eat in the hotel but the bistro looked lovely. We had some very good cocktails in the bar where the staff were friendly. The one let down was the first member of staff we came across at reception. She frostily assumed we were there for lunch and came across as extremely snooty. It certainly ruined our first impression. Her colleagues and the comfy bed made up for her attitude.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Amazing, comfortable room. Very quirky! Loved the massive bathroom, roll top bath and walk in shower. The cook to order breakfast was great Although a liitle slow arriving. Not a problem if you want to enjoy a leisurely breakfast. Nice decor and helpful staff in the bistro. Dinner was wonderful albeit a little pricey. The snug is a great place for after dinner coffee or just to chill. Reception staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. Nice to stay somewhere a little different. Would certainly return.

Room Tip: Choose a superior double for more space. Worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMC36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excellent, central location. Enjoyed a weekend break with friends. Bistro good and appreciated the fresh cooked breakfast which is so much nicer than a buffet where much of the food is past its best. Room a little hot but managed to sort out the heating on the second day. Standard rooms can be a little small but when you are sight seeing all day it really doesn't matter.

Staff helpful and pleasant. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFG10AO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our room was amazing and really nicely decorated, loved the roll top bath and monsoon shower. The bar staff were friendly and attentive. A couple of downsides: We had no hot water in the shower for most of our stay, but this wasn't too much of a issue since the bath water was still fine. Also when we turned up we were told that we'd have to pay £50 on top of our room bill in case we spent any money at the hotel. Although nice that we didn't have to think about money whilst there, a little warning prior to arrival would have been appreciated!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnabelHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Excellent hotel.Great location and wonderful friendly staff.
Breakfast was good and cooked to order always a plus point.The kitchen is spotless as you can see through a glass window from the breakfast room.
Will most certainly be back next time we are in Edinburgh

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bonio007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,593 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,094 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,758 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $143 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing