We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #55 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

In Edinburgh for the weekend (a friend's birthday party) and it was difficult to choose a hotel. We have stayed at several other hotels du vin and probably knew what to expect. Location is very good, but Edinburgh is a relatively small city. Most tourist attractions are within walking distance of the hotel, and the castle is only a 10 minute walk maximum.

As usual, the restaurant/bistro is really the focus of the hotel, and means there is little in the way of lobby/public areas because the bistro takes up most of the ground floor space. The food is good, service also good.

Our room was disappointing. Great in the sense that it was very quiet (as for the top floor because I imagine the lower floors are not quite as noise-free) and the bed was very comfortable, but as usual the Du Vin's weird design features ruin the experience. The bathroom is vast (as big as the bedroom and the worst thing is that it is open plan. Completely. So the bath is in the middle of the floor, and the toilet is completely open too. Doesn't matter how long I have known my other half, I still think it is crazy to have an open plan toilet.

Being 40 something, I think I am slightly too old for this hotel chain and its wacky open plan toilets. It's a shame because the service is good and the overall concept is appealing.

Would not choose a du Vin again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't have an open plan toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Called in unplanned on a wet day in the Capital. A guy called Graham looked after us as if we had been his best customers for years. Chef with a fertile mind and great menu to choose from. The enthusiastic staff gave every assistance in the choice of food and wine. Great ambiance. Could have happily stayed all afternoon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnieamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Hotel is very well situated, near to Univ of Edinburgh and the old town. The staff were very helpful, accommodating and friendly. The room was clean and well appointed, though small, especially the bathroom. We had dinner one evening at the hotel -the dining room is lovely, the steak excellent, but the appetizers and sides were just okay. the wine selection, was very good, . There are far better choices in the city for the money.
The hotel property itself is terrific - lots of history and character (it was the old asylum!)..

Room Tip: get a delux room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUDEIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Despite being Edinburgh locals, this was out first experience of Hotel Du Vin, and we were not disappointed. The place has soul and the staff have personalities!

We stayed in the ERRAZURIZ suite on the first floor. What a beautiful room. Fitted out with Bose surround sound system, Nespresso machine, fully stocked minibar, excellent toiletries, his and her sinks and showers. There was nothing we could have wanted that wasnt there.

Dinner was also a great experience. Knowledgeable and friendly staff, not pushy, perfect space between courses and of course, the food was excellent.

After dinner we made out way to the bar and enjoyed a few drinks.

Breakfast was probably one of the best selections I've seen. Many options including full breakfast, waffles, duck eggs and haggis followed by a very nicely presented table of pastries, mini-muffins, yoghurts all of the highest quality.

For smokers, they even have a wee snug in the courtyard with sofa, chairs and heating. Not the usual after thought in most establishments.

We loved our stay and can't enthuse enough about the whole experience.

We'll definitely go back and recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is wonderful. We have stayed here many times and staff could not be more helpful. On this occasion we were accompanied by our black Labrador - we could not believe how dog friendly and accommodating the staff were! Dog bed and bowls provided and lots of canine cuddles. Food is excellent as always, breakfasts relaxed and extensive, lunches and dinners of high quality and well prepared. We would not stay anywhere else in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Front rooms a little noisy at night. Attick rooms quirky and fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoadsterMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Fantastic stay here - wonderful, quirky hotel with friendly, helpful staff.

Nabbed the Veuve Cliquot room on the 3rd floor - superb. Yes there's a flight of stairs to negotiate to the rooms up there, but as it's a wonderfully converted old building, chocked-full of character, it's not a big deal.

Great food at night and ace breakfast.

5 min walk to The Grassmarket and 10 min walk to the Royal Mile.

NCP car park very close with discount for hotel guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkAndMorag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Like the previous reviewer, we had a room on the third floor with a rather unnecessary bath in the middle of the room. The route to the room involved a lift to the second floor, a hike around the periphery of the building, and then up another flight of stairs.
The room itself had a very comfortable bed, a huge walk-in shower, a mirror/basin area and a separate toilet. There was a very narrow sort-of sofa thing at the bottom of the bed and a single upright chair - in my view, the room would have been much better without the bath and with a nice large sofa.
Also, either my eyes are getting exceptionally dim, or there seemed to be some very "economical" lighting.
However, unlike the previous reviewer, I was impressed with the sound-proofing from the Night Club opposite, and could hardly hear it above the continually-necessary air-conditioning. However, my sleep was disturbed by a very creaky floor-board right outside our door.
Having said all that, the Hotel did get several thing very right e.g. free proper milk in the mini-bar (I hate UHT in my tea), and friendly and helpful receptionists.
Its position is outstanding for the Fringe, with even the EICC being only about 20 minutes walk away, the Udderbelly and Pleasance Dome about 2 minutes and the Pleasance Courtyard about 5 minutes.
Having visited the Fringe for the last 5 years, I can also reassure the previous reviewer that £280/night is not bad, and only about £50 more than the Travelodge during August! I know where I would rather stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickLz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,406 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,209 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $144 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing