We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
94DR
Nearby Hotels
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$141
$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$654
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$265
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$106
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$156
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$324
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$168
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (583)
Filter reviews
583 results
Traveler rating
547
32
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
32
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaul and johnhonesty bararthur's seathomemade granolaboutique guest housecompoteeggs benedictfantastic hostsevery morningwhite companyguest loungerestaurant recommendationsoverlooking the gardentunnocks tea cakesholyrood parkstayed longerwe loved our stay
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 583 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We've just had a couple of days in Edinburgh catching up with friends. I was recommended to stay at 94DR by friends and was not disappointed.
We stayed in the 'wee double' called the Aberlour as advertised when I booked the room on line. High ceiling and perfectly formed with everything we required in the en-suite The room was spotless with fresh water and a selection of coffee's and teas including a Tunnocks Tea Cake (my personal favourite). Paul and John are wonderful hosts and their attention to detail is second to none. Breakfast was amazing- thank you both again-and to Molli- their labradoodle. I will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Edinburgh and absolutely recommend 94DR to anyone visiting Edinburgh- a must stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionaspicer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I see a lot of guests rated this hotel Excellent but personally I believe the price of a room (£110,-a night for the smallest room) in this B&B is a bit high. Yes, the guys who are running this B&B are very friendly and the breakfasts are amazing but I still have a few cons.

I stayed in the Aberlour room which was very small. I really consider this room as a single room. It is situated in the front facing the road. You can hear the cars driving but at night the road is not that busy. The room had a few signs of tirement: white stains on the curtains and one side of the bed (bed is very comfy though), a damaged light cover and a shower door that didn't close very well. The water pressure was not always alright. There were a few hairs on the bed board and mirror in the room and dust. I have the feeling they didn't pay attention to the finishing touch of the renovation of he rooms. Painting and carpeting were a bit sloppy. They change towels every second day. I am a bit spoiled indeed but I love fresh towels every day especially during my holiday. The B&B is a situated out of the city center bit remote but a bus stop is nearby. During weekdays almost every 5 min a bus will leave for the city. The last bus back is around 23.30 h.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aquarius74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

A hidden gem in Edinburgh that goes a long way to make your stay in Edinburgh that bit more special. Close to the centre but only 10 minutes walk from beautiful park land it is a great location to base yourself. Each of the rooms have their own individual feel and decor ( got a sneak peak at several) and are immaculately maintained. The linen is crisp and the towels are fluffy.
Paul cooked a mighty breakfast coupled with a special each morning I would highly recommend the eggs Benedict. John and Paul practice what they preach, offering the highest level of customer service and attentiveness without being intrusive. They obviously enjoy their roles and shows through in their interaction with their guest. Their knowledge of places to see and restaurants and bars to visit is huge, they will even book a table for you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellyinches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Have recently stayed at this stylish and friendly guesthouse and can certainly recommend it.
The hosts are superb, the decor elegant, my room was chic, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were superb!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

94DR is such an amazing place that just for that reason alone I cannot wait to come back to Edinburgh. The place is really stylishly decorated, completely true to its photographs, and super comfortable. Paul and John are such great hosts, giving us the best tips for places to eat and drink in Edinburgh. And the best of all are the delectable breakfasts every morning, different but equally delicious every day. Just loved this place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews