We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
94DR
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masson House(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    Prestonfield(Edinburgh)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    KM Central(Edinburgh)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (580)
    Filter reviews
    580 results
    Traveler rating
    544
    32
    3
    1
    0
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    544
    32
    3
    1
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewspaul and johnhonesty bararthur's seatb bhomemade granolaboutique guest housecompoteeggs benedictfantastic hostsevery morningwhite companyguest loungerestaurant recommendationsoverlooking the gardentunnocks tea cakesholyrood parkstayed longer
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    281 - 286 of 580 reviews
    Reviewed December 27, 2012

    My Husband and I stayed at 94DR at the beginning of december for my 30th Birthday. From booking our stay the owners (Paul & John) could not have been more helpful & friendly. We arrived at the guest house early on the saturday, so we could have a full day in town, I thought we were too early for check in but we were welcomed with open arms, paul gave us a map and showed us where to go in the city and which buses to catch etc. He also recommended booking a resturaunt for that night, which he also did for us securing us an amazing table with a view of the castle at the outsider, such a treat for my birthday ! We were shown to our room that contained the wonderful bottle of champagne and chocs that my husband had organised with them and a birthday card that my mum had sent directly to the guest house. The room itself was on the top floor with a beautiful view over the hills and rooftops, it had a very comfy double bed a spotlessly clean en-suite shower room with The white company toiletries provided, and lovely soft towels. There was also a tv and a ipod dock in the room which we didn't really get round to using we were so busy ! After our first day and evening in edinburgh we were ready for our breakfast which certainly not dissapoint, the granola was to die for as was the eggs benedict with salmon we chose. Each day there is something different to choose from which is brilliant for a little bit of variety ! After our second long tiring day we headed back to the guest house to make use of the fantastic honesty bar were we also booked a taxi on the ipad provided to make our way into town again.On the last day we were a bit delicate after partaking in a whisky tasting so we opted for the scottish breakfast which again did not dissapoint. The owners are sooo friendly they make you feel very comfortable and I would without hesitation recommend 94DR to anyone looking for super luxury just a twenty minute walk from the centre. Thank you for a fantastic birthday weekend we will be back !!

    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank nicki07
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 26, 2012

    I cannot praise Paul and John, the owners of 94DR, highly enough. We have stayed here on a number of occasions now and Paul had veryh thoughtfully booked a table at a restaurant for the Friday evening some weeks in advance because it can be difficult to get a table.

    Everything they do is aimed at making sure that you have the best holiday possible. The food is unbelievably wonderful, the beds are extremely comfortable and the whole guest house is stylish and immaculately looked after. There are wonderful little touches like a great DVD collection, a wide array of books and games, iPads, iPod docking stations, basically everything that you could possibly need. Their knowledge of the city and tourist attractions, bars and restaurants is encyclopedic and they will go to great lengths to ensure that you have a fantastic break.

    • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank TravellingMontagues
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 20, 2012

    My husband and I have just returned from a truly fantastic long weekend in Edinburgh. Paul and John are what made our stay for us. They went out of our way to help us from the outset! We had flight cancellations due to Fog but eventually made it to their incredibly warm, chic and simply PERFECT Guest house. Paul and John are passionate about what they do and complete perfectionists in every way and it shows! Our room was stunning with contemporary decor, fluffy white towels, underfloor heating in the bathroom and an incredible view over Arthurs Seat. The iPod docking station, iPads at our disposal, nespresso machine, library chillout area and honesty bar are all special touches. One of the highlights for us is how consistently friendly and warm they both are. I have also ever, ever in 12yrs of travelling experienced such incredible breakfasts. Just a dream! Paul and John were also incredible in assisting us in finding all of the best restaurants in Edinburgh - I have never eaten so well. I cant fault 94Dr and we cant wait to return. I cant highly recommend it enough! Enjoy. Mary & Michael Collins

    • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank Mary31Collins
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 13, 2012

    We stayed at 94DR for 4 nights in November 2012 for a short break and we cannot recommend it highly enough. Our room was the Tamdhu on the top floor, with a gorgeous super-king size bed, a lovely bathroom, and views of Arthur's Seat. The breakfast experience is absolutely fabulous... starter of granola with fruit compote and natural yoghurt followed by a 'special' - for example: variations on eggs Benedict. These change daily making for a wonderful surprise to start the day. I rate the breakfasts better than our meal at Castle Terrace! The breakfasts set you up for the day of sight-seeing so there's no need to buy much for lunch. There are only 3 parking spaces, but we parked on Marchhall Road just 2 minutes away with no problems. It's a pretty easy walk into the centre; alternatively buses stop just outside. Paul and John were so welcoming and keen to make our stay an enjoyable one... they recommended The Outsider restaurant and booked it for us and it was AMAZING (hint: duck leg confit & Duc de Morny 2011) . We loved Molly too, their gorgeous labradoodle. One last comment - avoid driving in the centre until the roadworks for the new tram are completed... it's total chaos and satnavs and google maps cannot cope.

    Room Tip: Tamdhu is on the top floor with a great view of Arthur's Seat. It was a quiet room except for quite a lot of noise from outside late on the Saturday night. The bed and bathroom are great. the upper spiral staircase is a narrow so I wouldn't recommend it for anyone who has difficulty with stairs.
    • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank chopperiso
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 5, 2012

    My family and I have just returned from our annual trip to Scotland and this year we stayed an additional night in Edinburgh in order to celebrate our daughter's birthday. We booked 94DR after researching B&B's on Trip Advisor and we were delighted with our choice. Arriving to the warmest of welcomes and lots of helpful information about the city we spent the day in Edinburgh; having a delightful lunch/coffee at Urban Angel as recommended by Paul. A birthday dinner at Tiger Lily was great, the food was reasonably priced, the cocktails were original and the people watching was entertaining! We had a nightcap in the 'honesty bar' back at 94DR...what a brilliant idea, so much nicer than a mini-bar in the room. Our bedrooms were comfortable, contemporary and warm with plenty of tea/coffee etc and Tunnock's teacakes which our younger son loved! And then, breakfast...Having just spent a week up at Gleneagles I can honestly say that the breakfast at 94DR exceeded anything that we had the previous week. It was delicious and there were clean plates all round. All in our party agreed that we would definitely return. And finally....Paul & John have a gorgeous labradoodle called Molly who we all fell in love with.
    94DR is a superb B&B run by people who obviously have a real passion for what they do.

    • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Anne M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews