We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay in Edinburgh”
Review of 94DR

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
94DR
Ranked #6 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I'm not sure what we can say about 94DR that hasn't already been said by other happy travellers.

The basics that you always want to know are: spotlessly clean rooms and shared areas; very comfortable beds and fluffy quilts, excellent location. The special points include: excellent contemporary, modern decor that still feels like home; underfloor heating in the bathroom, the honesty bar (well stocked with excellent liquor, coffee, and soft drinks), iPad/iPod set up in the lounge area for booking dinner or a cab, or playing music; spectacular breakfast room.

But what makes this place extra special are the hosts, Paul and John. Paul is a host with the most, giving you a big welcome and making you feel right at home. If you're a bit dubious about everyone loving the breakfast (surely it can't be as good as they say..), don't be. Paul creates a different 5 star menu every morning and it is ALL scrumptious. Especially the home made granola and his gran's porridge! And if you are really lucky you will have the experience of both Paul and John serving you breakfast and you can enjoy a really entertaining morning!

Both hosts are also very helpful and willing to recommend places to eat and shop, or interesting things to see. We talked to Paul about some fine dining options and next thing you know he's on the phone to a friend and getting us a much sort after booking for Castle Terrace, one of the Michelin star restaurants in Edinburgh. This really is an awesome place to stay if you are looking for modern, contemporary decor coupled with an outgoing and delightful pair of hosts. And let's not forget the adorable Molli who was a welcome addition to pat and cuddle as you are finishing that 4th cup of delicious coffee after breakfast.

A big thank you (and extra hugs) from us to Paul and John who made our stay here one of the most memorable of our big UK visit.

Stay here, you won't regret it. Happy travels!

Room Tip: It's likely that all the rooms are fantastic, but we stayed in Caol Lla, and it was lovely. At t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jai and Victori... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 564 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at 94DR at the beginning of our tour of Scotland, and it was brilliant. The rooms were nice and very comfortable, ours even had views of Salisbury Crags. Paul was very welcoming and helpful, and the breakfasts he cooked were simply stunning - deserving of a Michelin star in our opinion. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a great stay at 94DR, the B&B owners were simply the most friendly and helpful of any B&B I have ever stayed at. Even before we had arrived we were given a recommendation for a local place to eat and the even booked us in there for dinner. Om arrival, we were greeted with such enthusiasm and warmness, we new it was going to be a great place to stay. The room was lovely and quiet at the back of the house and had a very comfortable, modern feel. The breakfasts were fantastic and served by the hosts with great care and attention. They even lent me a jacket for the day as we were going to a wedding and I had forgotten my jacket, so kind! These guys deserve all the great reviews they have had so far and I have no doubt many more in the future. I would not hesitate to stay here again the next time I visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomO_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed at 94DR which I would highly recommend. We had a warm welcome from Paul on arrival, and had complimentary coffee and shortbreads whilst we waited for the rest of the party to arrive. Modern, contemporary rooms with beautiful white linen and fluffy towels. Breakfast was sublime, and we had a choice of traditional Scottish or Paul's special of the day which was served in the Orangery. The owners go the extra mile to make your stay extra special, and Paul even recommended restaurants for the both nights we were there, and booked our taxi's!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September and it was great. Paul is incredibly friendly and willing to help with anything from recommending restaurants to birthday present ideas for relatives! The breakfasts were amazing - he is a brilliant chef and clearly passionate about food, and they were delicious both days. The room was lovely - really well decorated and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was nice! There is a sitting room with an honesty bar and two ipads for guests to use, which was really useful and a nice touch. The 20 minute walk into town was fine (apart from the night we arrived when it was pouring with rain!), but if necessary there's a bus stop right outside, though you do need exact change.
A great place to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cazzaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights in the Bowmore room and had 3 amazing breakfasts professionally prepared and elegantly served by Paul. As others have commented, the room and facilities were spotless and tastefully decorated. The Bowmore room has a fantastic view of Arthur's Seat with a huge bay window facing that direction. However, be aware that it also faces the road and if you like to sleep with the windows open (we do), there can be some noise, but it was never enough to bother us. If I had to sum up the experience in a word, it would be "easy." The B&B was very easy to find on Dalkeith Road, Paul made reserving the room super easy (even from the US), access to city center either walking or taking the bus was incredibly easy, but the easiest of all was talking with Paul and finding out everything from the easy route to the top of Arthur's Seat to an easy access shop to get a flat tire fixed on a Sunday. From now on, any trip to Edinburgh Scotland will include a stay at 94DR.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible as this can fill up quickly. Simply tell Paul what you are looking for (g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMS_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Was there at the end of August during the Fringe Festival. What a great spot. Paul and John were wonderful hosts. The decor was contemporary, the rooms great and the food perfect. I had a quiet room overlooking the garden in the back. Paul was also so helpful in restaurant suggestions and ordering cabs. With the town so crowded this was a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist area. Thanks for a wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globalphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,004 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#6 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,884 reviews
Prestonfield
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,163 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 94DR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 94DR

Address: 94 Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 5AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $149 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 94DR 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary boutique guesthouse, offering hip stylish B&B accommodation in Edinburgh city centre, Scotland. This graceful Victorian townhouse has been transformed to a space brimming with style and sophistication. Sumptuous rooms with comfy beds, stylish en-suite bathrooms with all the facilities you'd expect in a luxury hotel. Chef prepared breakfast, free wifi, private parking, book and film libraries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your 94DR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
94dr Hotel Edinburgh
94DR Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing