We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Edinburgh”
Review of 94DR

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
94DR
Ranked #7 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B in Edinburgh”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September and it was great. Paul is incredibly friendly and willing to help with anything from recommending restaurants to birthday present ideas for relatives! The breakfasts were amazing - he is a brilliant chef and clearly passionate about food, and they were delicious both days. The room was lovely - really well decorated and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was nice! There is a sitting room with an honesty bar and two ipads for guests to use, which was really useful and a nice touch. The 20 minute walk into town was fine (apart from the night we arrived when it was pouring with rain!), but if necessary there's a bus stop right outside, though you do need exact change.
A great place to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazzaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
89
331
23
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights in the Bowmore room and had 3 amazing breakfasts professionally prepared and elegantly served by Paul. As others have commented, the room and facilities were spotless and tastefully decorated. The Bowmore room has a fantastic view of Arthur's Seat with a huge bay window facing that direction. However, be aware that it also faces the road and if you like to sleep with the windows open (we do), there can be some noise, but it was never enough to bother us. If I had to sum up the experience in a word, it would be "easy." The B&B was very easy to find on Dalkeith Road, Paul made reserving the room super easy (even from the US), access to city center either walking or taking the bus was incredibly easy, but the easiest of all was talking with Paul and finding out everything from the easy route to the top of Arthur's Seat to an easy access shop to get a flat tire fixed on a Sunday. From now on, any trip to Edinburgh Scotland will include a stay at 94DR.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible as this can fill up quickly. Simply tell Paul what you are looking for (g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMS_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Was there at the end of August during the Fringe Festival. What a great spot. Paul and John were wonderful hosts. The decor was contemporary, the rooms great and the food perfect. I had a quiet room overlooking the garden in the back. Paul was also so helpful in restaurant suggestions and ordering cabs. With the town so crowded this was a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist area. Thanks for a wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globalphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived at the hotel a wee-bit tired, after flight delays and some delayed luggage issues, and Paul was more than welcoming. He immediately made us tea and helped us to our room. The room was small but cute and very clean. The location itself was a nice 20 min walk to the center, which is nice if you like to walk (and I do). Most importantly, the breakfast… this was amazing! For breakfast, we had the choice of starting with porridge or yogurt with Scottish strawberries and granola and my friend and I decided to each get one and share. Both were absolutely amazing! I’ve never had porridge like this! This was followed with a bagel with tomatoes, avocado and bacon – drizzled with olive oil and lemon juice – again, this was fantastic! This place has a great breakfast (that we're still talking about and drooling over), good location and most importantly a lovely owner who is very welcoming and kind!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mashag82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Thank you Paul and John, gracious, informative, lovely hosts and Paul, your breakfasts were so very good, something I looked forward to every morning.
My cousin and I were 5 days in Edinburgh and we were lucky enough to be able to stay at Paul and John's lovely B&B in the Bowmore room. Spacious room, modern in concept with soothing whites, greys and blacks, and a lovely big bathroom. The king size bed was very comfortable.
Wi Fi connection fast and reliable something we missed in other places we stayed at later in our trip.
To get back to those breakfasts, Paul, have you considered offering evening meals occasionally?I would definitely have made it back to the hotel in good time for one.
It is a 20 to 25 minute walk to the Royal Mile, bus service is convenient and taxi reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana154932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Amazing hotel and host! We had been attempting to get a room at 94dr for months before our trip and a couple of times after we arrived in Scotland. Imagine our delight when a room opened up for our last night in Edinburgh. The room was wonderful followed up by an equally wonderful breakfast. Paul is an amazing person - very attentive to your needs and willing to go the distance to provide assistance. 94dr will be on our list of lists for places in Edinburgh. Thanks again Paul - if there was + that went with the top rating you would get it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to stay to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary and this was perfect. We stayed for 4 nights 13 - 16 Aug. Paul and John (and Angela!) were the ideal hosts, advising us where we could visit, bus routes, booking a table at a nearby restaurant, that sort of thing
Paul's breakfasts really set us up for the day - homemade granola with fruit compote, eggs benedict (with asparagus for me as the vegeterian option), home-made blueberry pancakes....
We stayed in the Caol Ila room which overlooked the garden at the back - if you are a light sleeper see if you can get one of these rooms as 94DR is situated on quite a busy road, even later at night.
There is also an honesty bar so you can have a wee dram (or two!) before retiring.
We'll definitely be back! (oh, and look out for Molly the dog!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THESMURFSHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
960 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,812 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#3 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,131 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 149 in Edinburgh
986 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 94DR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 94DR

Property: 94DR
Address: 94 Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 5AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 94DR 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary boutique guesthouse, offering hip stylish B&B accommodation in Edinburgh city centre, Scotland. This graceful Victorian townhouse has been transformed to a space brimming with style and sophistication. Sumptuous rooms with comfy beds, stylish en-suite bathrooms with all the facilities you'd expect in a luxury hotel. Chef prepared breakfast, free wifi, private parking, book and film libraries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your 94DR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
94dr Hotel Edinburgh
94DR Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing