We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location with views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Capital View Apartments
Ranked #106 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in Apartment B. The apartment could not have been more central being only minutes from the Royal Mile, the railway station and main shopping centre. Our host Jill was outstanding in her support to make our visit to Edinburgh and Scotland a highlight. Always prompt and helpful. The apartment was clean, well equipped and great value. In summary, Location, Location, Location!!
Tom, Australia

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 139 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2010

I was in this flat for Easter.
The accomodation is very nice: claen, well located and just as you see on the pictures.

A great satying!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annalisait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

My and my friend stayed in apartment B for 3 nights. Jill, the owner, helped with good information about the place and surrondings before we got there - thanks!

Nice apartment which got everything we needed. The view was amazing! And location was extremely central - walking ditance from everything.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globerotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights. The apartment had everything we needed, was clean, warm and comfortable. The views were stunning.
The location was excellent for the shopping centres and the Royal Mile and the museums.
The cost to stay was such good value we had expected that something would be wrong with it, but it exceeded all our expectations.
Cant wait to go back with my family next time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine&Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

This apartment was more than we anticipated. Firstly it couldn't be any more central for both shopping and entertainment. Literally a 2-3 minute from Princess Street and less to the Royal Mile. We stayed here for the fringe and certainly enjoyed. The apartment had everything we could have needed. Was spotless and well maintained, so much so that we have booked to go back next year, for even longer. The booking was a pleasure, with the owner staying in regular contact and being extremely helpful. A short walk from the train station. Excellent views. Have already recommended to friends

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FergieCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

My studio apartment exceeded all expectations. The views from my room on the 8th floor where STUNNING. See photos. The apartment building is on The Mound, with the rear entrance/exit right on the Royal Mile a couple blocks from the Castle. A 10 minute walk across Princes Street Garden are Marks and Spencer market, and a Sainsbury (better than M&S) market. Saved money eating by preparing food in the well-equipped kitchen. 5 minute walk to Waverly train station and the tour buses. 5 minute walk to fabulous pubs in the Grassmarket area. Jill and her husband responded immediately to all of my booking questions and were there to meet me when I arrived.

The only negatives and they weren't a big deal: 1) the laundry room only has 1 washer and 1 dryer and there was a line up to use them. I wasted hours going up and down the elevator checking on my clothes, if I'd known I would have just taken them to the cleaners. 2) the hairdryer was broken. I will definitely stay here again, literally had tears in my eyes when I had to leave Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoesTo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Yes it was a nice surprise for me to see this amazing ancient heritage building with modern lifestyle apartment in it.!.specially for tourists from Far East Asia .It was a very comfortable stay . The views from one of the highest points in of the city was magnificent indeed.The kitchen had nifty complimentary supplies , like a jar of sugar which otherwise you might need to buy.
The location is just excellent ..the hop ON and OFF tourist bus is just a mere walking distance away at Waverly Station.Shopping streets just behind and the Castle not very far off.A big thanks to Mr.Livingstone for making this a really pleasent stay! Nice memories of Scotland indeed.....will be back again..

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFNPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,191 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Residence
Royal Mile Residence
#117 of 217 in Edinburgh
46 reviews
Old Town
St Giles Apartments
St Giles Apartments
#22 of 217 in Edinburgh
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View Apartments

Address: 13 North Bank Street, Edinburgh EH1 2LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $135 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital View Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very centrally located apartment’s right in the heart of the Old Town in Edinburgh with terrific views. We are located next to the Royal Mile, Princes Street and the castle. Each apartment can sleep up to 4 people and has recently been refurbished. These non-smoking apartments are self-catering and have a serviced lift/elevator. All electricity is included, as is free Wi-Fi internet access, all bed linen and towels and free use of private laundry (washing machine and dryer). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Capital View Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing