We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Capital View Apartments
Ranked #113 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed in one of these flats for 2 months ... and I loved it! The location is fantastic and the conditions are optimal.
Jill was always very helpful in all my requests!

Therefore, I recommend to all who wish to visit Edinburgh to stay in these apartments!

Room Tip: If you are staying for a long period and need space for store all the luggage and clothes go for fla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLLUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 139 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed for a weekend in the penthouse apartment to watch the Sotland v Wales Rugby match. The game was a bit dour but the accomodation and position of the apartment was perfect. More than enough room for 8 people and could easily have taken 10. Marvellous views of Edinburgh.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank harry n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My 17 year old daughter and I stayed here while visiting the University of Edinburgh from the U.S. It was delightful in every way and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. Jill ensured we were well-prepared in advance, and the location of the flat made ground transportation extremely easy. Although we arrived from our flight well before the flat would normally be ready, we were met at the door, given a key and place to store our luggage, and directions to the university and eating options so we could begin orienting ourselves. A Sainsbury's is nearby so we saved on expenses by having a pub meal out every day--there are many excellent options nearby--and eating at the well-appointed flat at other times. The flat had modern plumbing and plentiful hot water, which was unexpected, and it was quite safe for my daughter to go shopping or sight-seeing on her own when she wished. It is on The Mound so beautifully situated for cultural excursions, shopping, and the university, and being so close to Waverly Station is ideal. We could hear bag-piping buskers very faintly from our flat but on the 8th floor there was little street noise. The wifi was consistent as was the elevator, with only one exception. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: No fitness center obviously, but the stairs down to Princes Street will more than suffice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jirovska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had previously stayed in a studio apartment in this block, on this occasion I stayed in the three bedroom apartment, which was huge and would be ideal for families and groups.
The location is excellent with stunning views to Princes Street, and Edinburgh catle and most other tourist destinations are within walking distance of the apartment.

Room Tip: Any room I had has great views, it comes with the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JimWeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just back from a few days stay in Edinburgh and would like to reiterate what a lot of other travellers have said about Capital View Apartments. The location is excellent. On your doorstep you have two exits - one towards Prince's Street and another leading to the Royal Mile.

The apartment was perfectly sized for our needs (a couple wanting to spend a lot of time out and about exploring but also wanting a base to be able to take a break during the day). The apartment was fully equipped and we were able to cook at home one night and eat breakfast each day in the apartment.

Our contact, Jill, was very helpful and sent info on Edinburgh prior to our departure. There was good communication throughout the booking process. We also received some tea and shortbread on arrival which was great. The bathroom is modern and the shower is great. Good power and clean, tiled floor. There is a walk-in space to hide away your bags and hang clothes.

Finally, our apartment was warm and cozy. It rained solidly for a couple of days so it was nice to come back to a warm space. The heating is good and we had no need to plug in the additional electric heater available.

Would definitely recommend Capital View Apartments for an Edinburgh break.

Room Tip: We were on the eighth floor and didn't hear any noise over the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceedee321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our fourth stay at Capital View Apartments and there will be many more. The apartment is always clean and comfortable. Since we stayed more than one week, Jill provided us an extra set of linens and towels. The view is amazing, the location is fantastic, and Jill is extremely nice. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Adriana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here with friends for the Hogmanay celebrations; we were all very impressed with the size and location of the apartment. It slept our group of 8 very comfortably and was the perfect city centre base for exploring the city. I would definitely recommend this apartment to a friend and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HJW1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,034 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View Apartments

Address: 13 North Bank Street, Edinburgh EH1 2LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $121 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital View Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very centrally located apartment’s right in the heart of the Old Town in Edinburgh with terrific views. We are located next to the Royal Mile, Princes Street and the castle. Each apartment can sleep up to 4 people and has recently been refurbished. These non-smoking apartments are self-catering and have a serviced lift/elevator. All electricity is included, as is free Wi-Fi internet access, all bed linen and towels and free use of private laundry (washing machine and dryer). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Capital View Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing