We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheerful little apartment, just so conveniently located”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Capital View Apartments
Ranked #104 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have stayed in this apartment a number of times. We keep coming back because it's so conveniently situated for the old city and also the new town and shops. The apartment is very small but has everything you need. It is very clean and has splendid views. For the first time we stayed in the lower apartment on the 5th floor, we were aware of street noise for the first time, but not enough to disturb. If you want to explore Edinburgh at a reasonable cost the is this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the 8th floor apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank WarwickshireMarakesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 139 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Location is about the only thing the Capital View apartments has going for it. We stayed three nights in September. The first thing that happened was a rickety toilet seat that fell off. The bathroom is cramped for space, with no place to put toiletry items or an outlet for hair appliances. The towels were old and bleach-stained; by the time we left, they smelled rank. The duvet cover also was old and had lipstick stains. The furniture covers/pillows also were old and the bed was uncomfortable. The street noise was terrible at night, particularly when the bar downstairs empties between midnight and 2 a.m. and the verbal fights between men and women go on at length in the street -- you can hear everything! Plus the traffic noise. Aside from the outdoor noise, the building was eerily vacant and silent -- we saw only a couple of people the whole time. No wi-fi, contributing to the feeling of isolation. This place needs a complete rennovation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed in the apartments during the fringe festival and they cannot be faulted, location is ideal for all things fringe a walk away from everything. Jill is very helpful prior to arrival and will try to accommodate all wishes. Her new arrangement with the coffee shop next door to the apartment means there are no expensive storage costs for left luggage at the train station which if you arrive prior to check in time and leave well after check out time like we do then it is ideal. Don't ever book anywhere to stay :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lambey2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in Edinburgh. The apartment was clean and cozy and super central to everything -- less than spitting distance to the Royal Mile and directly behind the Writer's Museum. The apartment is small, but workable. We would definitely stay there again.

The apartment was easy to book and Jill even sent us information prior to our trip. Great communication!

Also, Mike, the bartender at The Wash, (bar directly below the apartment) was extremely helpful and accommodating throughout our stay. Besides being unusually friendly, he let us keep our bags in a safe location while the apartment was being cleaned (we arrived a bit early), and even let us use his printer the day we departed. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here on our first trip to the Fringe - it could not have been better placed. Walked everywhere, was able to pop back for a short power nap and picnic! Would definitely stay again mainly due to the location and value for money.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Exchangers1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed here for the entire 2012 Fringe and it was ideal. The central location and terrific views made this location absolutely perfect for exploring and experiencing Edinburgh. The managers were responsive and friendly throughout the trip. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This apartment has everything for your visit to Edinburgh if you plan on seeing the sites all day as we did. Nothing fancy, but a clean room with a kitchen and bath. The apartment is centrally located so we were able to walk everywhere--no need to rent a car or hire a taxi. Having spent 8 days traveling Scotland, we can attest that the price was great too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,016 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View Apartments

Address: 13 North Bank Street, Edinburgh EH1 2LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $130 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital View Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very centrally located apartment’s right in the heart of the Old Town in Edinburgh with terrific views. We are located next to the Royal Mile, Princes Street and the castle. Each apartment can sleep up to 4 people and has recently been refurbished. These non-smoking apartments are self-catering and have a serviced lift/elevator. All electricity is included, as is free Wi-Fi internet access, all bed linen and towels and free use of private laundry (washing machine and dryer). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Capital View Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing