We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atholl Brae Royal Mile
Ranked #33 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights in the ground floor apartment and enjoyed it very much!It really became our home away from home for the holiday! The apartment is very spacious and the fact that it's very well equipped (from the appliances, to the books / games / dvd's) gives it a real homely feel. Location wise it's also great. It's very close to everything being in the old centre, but at the same time on a quiet part of the royal mile which ensures a good night rest. Before our arrival I was in touch with the owner (Liz), who was very helpful in giving tips for our visit. Finding shortbread and bubbles in the fridge upon arrival really completed the whole experience! :)

I haven't seen the other apartment offered (on the 1st floor), but the ground floor apartment was very light! I would highly recommend this apartment to any of my friends / family travelling with more than 2 people as it's great value for money!

Room Tip: The ground floor apartment gets a lot of daylight, so I guess it's just as good a pick as the 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaartenDeGroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for posting!
Home away from home, is just what we aim for - a bit like staying in the very comfortable apartment of a good friend.
We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh soon.
All the very best for now
Liz & co
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    25
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Really lovely. The location is so convenient. The parking was a great bonus as we had a car but it's so convenient for the station too. Flat was lovely and clean and modern. Having two bathrooms was really nice. Would definitely stay again. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thanks tons for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to welcomng you back to Edinburgh. Kind regards. Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the appartment - the location is excellent, both for the train station and for exploring. Agree with other reviews that it felt like a home from home. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are all really please that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay at Atholl Brae. Kind regards and very best wishes - we look forward to welcoming you back. Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

From the moment I phoned to ask about the apartment, Liz was a wonderful help: friendly, accommodating, with lots of advice and attention paid to detail. The location is superb, just a couple of minutes walk from the Royal Mile. Far more spacious and homely than going for the hotel option. We are really glad we booked it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaSparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for that lovely review - we're really glad you all enjoyed your stay.
Haste ye back!
Liz & co
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this apartment, very central and a great asset to have free parking in the underground car park. The apartment was very clean and well stocked with tea, coffee, dishwasher tablets, etc. We had a restful sleep in the comfortable beds, all in all a 'home away from home!'

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for posting your very positive review. We try very hard to keep our guests happy and it's great to get posiitve feedback. All the very best. Liz & co
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I can't imagine a better location from which to explore Edinburgh. Despite being in a comfortable modern apartment, you feel like you're a part of Edinburgh's history. You can easily walk up to the Castle or down to the Palace and the lovely hikes around there. We arrived via train and it's a short walk to the apartment .(well it would have been if we had followed Liz's instructions but unfortunately a well-meaning railroad employee sent us on a roundabout 'scenic' route!) The layout was perfect as 2 of our group were a bit jet-lagged and could easily be up in the living room or kitchen during the night without disturbing the sleepers. Quiet, comfortable bedrooms, extremely well equipped, and we really enjoyed the cosy electric fireplace after getting drenched in what we later learned was the worst storm in 30 years. I would highly reccommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
thanks so much for posting your review; we're all really glad you enjoyed your stay. All the very best for now - we hope to see you agin! Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our second stay at Athol Brae, although in a different apartment. Thrilled to advise that two years later the standards are equally as high. Easy and efficient booking and payments, a friendly and timeous meeting and handover of the apartment.
The apartment was spotlessly clean, rooms a good size, with 2 bathrooms. All amenities are available and in good working order. The location is superb for easy access to Royal Mile and central Edinburgh, and the parking facilities are good.
Thanks again Liz and Ernie, for this great apartment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEMJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're all delighted that you so enjoyed your stay. I hope we'll see you again when you come back to Edinburgh. Very best wishes. Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,136 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
326 reviews
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#70 of 149 in Edinburgh
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 149 in Edinburgh
517 reviews
Old Town
Aparthotel Adagio Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Brae Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Brae Royal Mile

Property: Atholl Brae Royal Mile
Address: Old Tolbooth Wynd, Edinburgh EH8 8EQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Brae Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, 4 star Visit Scotland accredited, apartments, right in the heart of the historic Royal Mile, in Edinburgh's Old Town. - Blair Angus has fully level, disabled access to ground floor apartment which is now separately listed, on our partner sites - Atholl Brae is our first floor apartment - up a short flight of stairs from street level. Both apartments can also be booked through our own web-site - see details above , at the top of this listing. We guarantee the best price through our web-site. 2 Very beautiful apartments in an ideal location - OK, yes, we're VERY biased. We are only 2 minutes walk from the Royal Mile, 7 minutes walk from the train station. Within a modern luxury block, the apartments overlook a beautiful courtyard - a luxury oasis, just off the hustle and bustle of the Royal Mile. Secure underground parking behind a roller door, off the street. Wi-fi included. Our prices are per apartment, not per person. Each apartment will accommodate 4 in luxury, or up to 5 plus a baby in comfort. Our best rates are for stays of one week or more. We will also be delighted to help you plan your stay in Edinburgh, if you wish; we're good at welcoming and friendly, personal service. Our ground floor apartment is disabled friendly. Welcome to Edinburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholl Brae Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Brae Royal Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing