We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$268
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$275
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$248
$207
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$180
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$511
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$111
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$172
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
42
10
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
10
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect hostslovely homehaggisquiet streetcooked breakfastother guestsyogurttaxicomfort
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 59 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel after booking through booking.com and got a very good flash deal at £35 per room per night. The couple who owned the b&b were very friendly and gave us plenty of information on bus routes, things to do etc. The breakfast was very good and didn't appear to be smaller (as often expected when paying discount rates). We got taxis to princes street and the royal mile and both times were very reasonable, around £6. The room was a decent size although the bathroom was quite small, however the bed was very comfortable! After staying we thought it was well worth the money we paid and would have happily paid full price! If we return to Edinburgh we would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have been pleased to use 45, Gilmour Road for the past 7 years as my B and B for the Fringe.
Bill and Irene are delightful, chatty hosts who run a comfortable, reasonably-priced house in a quiet area which is easily reached by several bus routes.
The small single room has a separate shower room along the corridor. The bedroom is equipped with TV , hair dryer and coffee-making facilities. There is also free Wifi.
Breakfast is plentiful, varied and cooked to order. If you want smokes salmon, you need to give a day's notice!
Highly recommended as a peaceful haven during the Fringe or any other time!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisnik48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had a lovely weekend at the Edinburgh fringe festival and made even better by our hosts at the B & B made to feel very welcome on arrival, given lots of very helpful local info i.e. busses, taxis, shops and good places to eat, all of which came in very handy and made our stay more user friendly. The best bit was our room at the end of the day, very comfortable, clean and spacious with lovely views of the bowing green.
If we return to Edinburgh (which I really hope we do) I will defiantly be staying here again.

Room Tip: lovely room top floor facing the front of the house
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieCanveyIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Number 45 in June and were delighted with the warm welcome we received, even being driven into town to have a quick look around with good instructions on how to get the bus back! Very comfortable B&B, fantastic breakfast, great host and if you are lucky enough to get to use the bathroom downstairs, you will love it! Even though it wasn't what you would deem as "central", the bus into Edinburgh leaves from the end of the street and Irene gave us a business card with the correct bus numbers to catch. Even such a small thing makes a world of difference when you are staying in a new place. Irene was a fantastic host who made sure we were comfortable and the delicious breakfast ensured we were well fed before heading out for the day! We were sorry not to be staying longer and would love to stay here again when we return to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Number 45 is in a quiet residential area, so any bedroom would be fine.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlRobC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My wife and I spent a single night here. Owner Irene greeted us warmly on arrival. Our bedroom was well furnished and comfortable, with the bed one of the best I've had in any hotel-type accommodation. The ensuite bathroom was small, but adequate for a short stay. Decor is old-fashioned, but not old - the whole place is in good condition. Overnight the place was quiet and peaceful and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. The cooked breakfast the following morning was excellent with our host happy to prepare whichever combination of the usual foods (bacon, sausage, eggs, hash browns, etc) that we wanted. Cereals yogurts and toast were also available. As for location, the guest house is a good distance from the city centre, but is close to one of the main routes into the centre from the south and there are plenty of buses.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BayWalkerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews