We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #162 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed May 14, 2011

No 45 is a great B&B, the location is excellent with a short walk to the buses which run every few minutes. You would be silly to try and get around Edinburgh any other way. 3.20 GBP for all day travel. The room was very comfortable and well furnished. The only complaint would be the size of the bathroom, it was decidedly cosy. The wide stair case made accessing the room very easy. Irene was an excellent host and was very obliging. The breakfast at No. 45 was excellent. I would have no problems staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossco90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    8
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
28
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
barrhead
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Purpose of our visit was to drop my son off at Uni and tried to get B & B near his campus but no-one would book us in for just the one night. Tried No 45 and it was no problem. We booked in at 12 which gave us the day in Edinburgh to enjoy the Duathlon in Holyrood Park which was the other reason for our visit. No 45 is on the main bus route into Edinburgh which meant it was easy to get to Holyrood and in and out of the city for dinner etc. Mrs Cheape was lovely, very chatty - breakfast was great, definitely enough to keep you going throughout the day. Room was immaculate and very comfortable.

We would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrhead16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2010

My family and I enjoyed a fantastic break at this hotel Mrs Helene and Mr Bill were great and even tought the weather were pretty much cold they provided extra heating to keep my room warm enough to my kid.
Food were great I really enjoyed Full Scothish Breakfeast
Room very clean and organised, bathroom really small but not a problem at all.
I'm looking forward for my next break and definetely I recommend this extraordinary B&B.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2010

This is a well-run bed and breakfast with friendly owners and personal service who will adapt breakfast to suit (both in terms of time and contents- they will even do vegan!). I have tried a couple of places in this area in the similar price bracket and this is my favourite. Note some of the other ones are on the main roads- so this is a nice quiet choice. I dont go into town, but at least during the day there are regular buses and taxi from the station is 7 pounds. The kitchen table is communal but this isnt unusual in b&bs in scotland. there are some restaurants about 10 minutes walk from the b&b.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foss_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2009

The room was comfortable, spacious, and clean. The breakfast was great - in fact, I miss it a lot :) A choice of cereals, fruit followed by a cooked breakfast and toast. I highly recommend poached egg, bacon, tomato and toast. I loved the communal table in the dining room and met a few interesting people during my stay who I am still in contact with. A very friendly atmosphere. The owners are very helpful with recommendations of where to go in the city and for other places to visit. A short walk to the main road gives access to bus services into the city - approx 10/15 min journey if I recall correctly.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devonia73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2009

The structure was quite far away from the city center (not clearly mentioned on the website): this is not a problem during week days, but on sundays there is only one bus per hour going to Edinburgh and walking might not be an option depending on weather conditions. It might also be not easy to find a place to eat in the evening. The room was a bit cold and with no shower in it ... only a bath-tube. Breakfast was served on a common table with the other guest of the B&B and the food was just ok (the yogurth was 2 weeks out of date). It was a cheap one, but I wouldn't recomment it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaja_the_Best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We enjoyed our stay very much. The breakfast was very good and Irene fixed homemade goodies each night for tea. When she found out we had a very early flight she fixed some scones for us to take with us to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishMist22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#37 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#34 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#48 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abcorn Guest House
Abcorn Guest House
#181 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#88 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wilton Road
Wilton Road
#130 of 202 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 45 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 45 Bed & Breakfast

Property: Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
Address: 45 Gilmour Road, Edinburgh EH16 5NS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Number 45 Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No. 45 is a family run, fully refurbished 4 star B&B. We are in a great central location, on main bus route into city center. We are near most tourist attractions. Our home is a large Victorian semi-detached villa, with a beautiful Victorian staircase, and many period features throughout our home. No .45 is also fortunate enough to overlook a lovely grassy bowling green. All rooms are en-suite except, our single room it has a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Number 45 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing