We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but very thin walls!”
Review of Masson House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Masson House
Ranked #118 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night. We chose this bed and breakfast because it was one of the cheapest rooms available and it was surprisingly good. When we booked we didn't realise that it was a university hall of residence turned into a B and B in the uni holidays, but the rooms weren't anything like the "padded cell" I had when I was a student. Our room was light and airy and had everything we needed - a TV, tea and coffee making facilities and a hair dryer etc. It was lovely and clean and the reception staff were really helpful and friendly. The only downside is that you can hear everything going on in the other rooms - the walls were paper thin.

We had to check out early the next day before breakfast so the reception staff arranged for us to take a breakfast bag which was a lovely touch.

The B and B is about a 15-20 minute walk from the Royal Mile so, while it's not central, it isn't too far out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swansea_Girl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 444 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

I read several reviews before booking, and thought it sounded okay; but somehow I missed that this hotel is in a conference center complex. The building is plan and simple. The 2nd story hallway is hot and has a smell like sweaty socks. The room is small and clean, and the bed is very comfy. There's a shower room; no shampoo, conditioner, bars of soap or lotion; instead there are 2 big bottles of hand-pump liquid soap.

The breakfast is HORRIBLE. It's in a cafeteria - think back to elementary school cafeteria. I've never actually seen fried eggs like that - the whites were actually stiff. I have also never had to spit out a hard-boiled egg before because it was so rubbery. My husband tried the pancakes and he couldn't eat them. They were the consistency of toast. On our second day, we actually got a laugh out of the other people who chose the pancakes, made a face and put them down, and then showed them to their companions, waving them around to show the texture.

I read a couple other views that the breakfast was great. The ONLY explanation I can think of is that the breakfast has changed since those reviews have been written.

The grounds are lovely. The staff in the hotel is nice.

Even though the price was right, I wouldn't stay again. It's too far away from the heart of Edinburgh to make up for the bad breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Not a great place, we stayed at Masson House due to its location which is great, it's quite close to Holyrood park and a 20 minute walk into the heart of Edinburgh. I wouldn't stay there again though, the room was quite small, the decor was very dated, the toilet/wet room was tiny and smelly. Beware check out is 10.30am which I never noticed when booking!! Overall it felt like a students room, but at least the bed was comfy.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We chose this accommodation based on price and location. We were visiting Edinburgh for a wedding and this was perfect walking distance from the venue. The halls are located right at the foot of Arthurs' seat; our room had a view, which was great! The room was a bit creaky and the wet room wasnt really to our taste but everything worked and was of a standard indicative of the price we paid. Breakfast was pretty hectic in the refectory, the food wasnt great but there was lots of choice and lots of food, the coffee wasn't good but free flowing. We got free parking, which was a bonus.
Overall, this was a good option for us given our reason for coming to Edinburgh. Its pretty basic and typical of student halls but there was nothing specific to complain about given the price we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S-Head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here while visiting the University. I did not pay for the room myself, so cannot comment on affordability, but the room was very comfortable. It was a bit small, but there is storage space, enough room on the floor for large suitcases, and a desk to sit at. Instant coffee and tea are provided in the room, as is Arran Aromatics shower gel, bath caps, shoe shine, a safe and good wireless internet. Check-in took quite a long time: several people came in at the same time, and there was only one person at the desk. The desk is staffed 24/7, though. One important bit of advice: do not forget to lock your room! It does not lock automatically when you close it!

Housekeeping is okay when they actually clean your room. I put up a 'do not disturb' sign for about an hour in the morning; housekeeping skipped my room and never came back that day (despite seeing me taking the sign off the door and walking out). My safe was locked when I came in, which also shouldn't happen.

Breakfast is a buffet with full Scottish (including lots of vegetarian options, such as vegetarian Haggis and sausages), cereals, juices, etc.; all good quality, but still a buffet, so not as good as having breakfast in one of the better cafes in town. A bit more fresh fruit would be welcome.

Finally, the location is good or very good, depending on what you are planning to do. Holyrood Park (with Arthur's Seat) is right next to the hotel, so it's easy to take a quick walk. The Royal Mile and the University's King's Buildings site are both about half an hour's walk away, but there are buses every few minutes too, and a taxi rank outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ewah564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Masson House – A Pleasant Surprise

Masson House is set in the grounds of Edinburgh University and accessed by car via the main entrance off Holyrood Park Road.  The security guard at the barrier will give you a parking permit card for hotel reception staff to complete.  The car park is next to Masson House.  Pedestrian access is via a walk through gate close to Masson House leading to Dalkeith Road.  We stayed on a Monday and Tuesday night, it was quiet and peaceful , it may be different at the weekends!  The double bed room was of a good size with tea and coffee making facilities and FreeView  TV.   Breakfast is included in the price in the self service restaurant a few blocks away.  There is an added bonus of leaving your car for a few hours after checkout if you still have things to do in Edinburgh.  Very good value for money when you consider the breakfast and car parking is included in the price.  Recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We booked this hotel at short notice found staff helpful and the accommodation was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with a large range of food. We certainly found this value for money.

Room Tip: If your just looking for a clean comfortable reasonably priced room with no frills then this would s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#117 of 151 in Edinburgh
365 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
KM Central
KM Central
#124 of 151 in Edinburgh
314 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,012 reviews
Royal Ettrick Hotel
#131 of 151 in Edinburgh
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masson House

Address: 18 Holyrood Park Road | Pollock Halls, Edinburgh EH16 5AY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $86 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Masson House 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Masson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masson House Hotel Edinburgh
Masson House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing