We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Masson House Hotel & Bistro
Nearby Hotels
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$141
$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$324
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$265
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$106
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$156
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$168
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$654
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (848)
Filter reviews
848 results
Traveler rating
246
357
161
57
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
357
161
57
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarthur's seatuniversity campusholyrood parkhalls of residencecommonwealth poolpollock hallsfruit puddingstudent dayscity centresalisbury armsrooms are smallwalls are thinbreakfast was amazingroyal milecold meatsminute walkbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 848 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Looking at the pictures before booking we did not realize that this hotel was located inside a university campus. When we arrived we actually had to check in at one of the other buildings (a university dorm). Our building which is the castle that shows up in most pictures did not have a front desk and we didn't see any hotel staff until our second day there. Having said that, is not a bad hotel. The rooms look renovated and clean, the internet inside the rooms is great, the breakfast features a very complete buffet of fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, freshly baked breads. Besides they also serve a prepared to order Scottish breakfast with eggs, sausage, baked beans and black pudding. The hotel had free parking and we never had any issues finding a spot for our car. The hotel is not too close to the city center (about 10 minutes by car). On The days when we didn't want to drive to the city center we took a bus which was also an easy access option. There aren't too many restaurants walking distance from the hotel but the location is a good option to save some money on pricier hotels in the city center.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SOBETraveler1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you're looking for a decent budget hotel then you cannot go wrong with Masson House. As others have stated, yes, it's part of the university campus, but do not let that put you off! The rooms are small, basic but clean and have everything you'd need - bed, en-suite shower room, complimentary toiletries, tea & coffee facilities and a hearty breakfast thrown in too! I didn't experience any of the noise disruption others have mentioned, and because of the location, there are a plethora of affordable bars and restaurants right on the doorstep. Only 15-20 minute walk to the Royal Mile if you want to dine somewhere less studenty. Edinburgh is notoriously expensive (in fact I've paid more on previous trips to stay in bunk beds at a hostel!) and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

As other reviewers have said, this is student accommodation. Knowing this before you book will help manage your expectations. We didn't know this as we booked through booking.com and there was no mention of this being student accommodation. Neither were there any reviews on tripadvisor at the time we booked mentioning student accommodation.

The room is small and the bathroom is very basic to say the least. I would classify this as a one star accommodation. The breakfast is included and is served in the cafeteria. The place is huge with lots of serving areas and very busy. The food is what you'd expect from a university cafeteria and is all you can eat for those with a big appetite. There is limited parking on the campus, so if you get a spot don't move your car as you may not get another one. Check in took 20 minutes as there were about 4 guests in front of us, however there was only one check in staff and one of the guests had a problem with their credit card. When our turn finally came, they were fast and efficient and it only took 2 minutes to get checked in.

We only stayed here because we had limited options due to Fringe Festival and the Military Tattoo and we booked 6 weeks in advance. We paid £91 per night to stay here, extremely expensive but at this time of year that's the price. It was either this or hundreds of pounds as everything in between was booked out. Had we known that this was student accommodation, we still would have probably stayed, but their page on booking.com should make it clear that this is not a hotel and is in fact student accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Booked this at last minute,agree with most previous comments and would say in my opinion that location,free parking are the main benefits. I would add that the check-in staff were very helpful,and the breakfast was first class.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews