We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, comfortable and very friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auld Reekie Guest House
Ranked #51 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed 4 nights over New Year, very comfortable, clean. & warm, nice walk into old part, castle & Princess Street, Rhona & Brian are very welcoming, friendly & helpful, would highly recommend. Brian & Julie.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Auld Reekie Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 153 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have just returned home after a great weekend in Edinburgh with my partner and our 11 year old daughter. As we were arriving on the latest train from Aberdeen, Rhona, the landlady was kind enough to arrange to leave our room key in a box at the front door and gave us advice and directions on how best to get to the "Auld Reekie" when we arrived at Waverley Station. The guesthouse is a beautiful old Victorian townhouse situated in a lovely part of Edinburgh and although it is a couple of miles from the city centre there is an excellent bus service from just outside. Our family room was spacious with a lovely en-suite and great shower. The accommodation was spotless with comfortable beds, a double wardrobe and plenty of drawers. Breakfast was served from 8am - 9am and there was a wide choice, beautifully cooked by the landlord, Brian: including a variety of cereals with fresh milk, fruit juice, filter coffee or tea; a choice of full Scottish, a variety of omlettes, porridge, french toast and a vegetarian option - all served by Rhona with a friendly smile and good conversation. Nothing is too much trouble - and the "Auld Reekie" feels like a home from home. If you are looking for a taste of the real Edinburgh and a good, old fashioned Scottish welcome from the hosts - this is the place to stay! There is no doubt we will be back at this guesthouse on our next visit to the capital! Thanks for a grand time Rhona & Brian - all the best from Susan, Gavin & Evie x

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is a well situated guest house. Rhona is really welcoming. The room was large, clean and comfortable. There are only two parking spaces, but we managed to get one of them. Breakfast was pleasant, but the sausages and black pudding tasted a little unusual. Our original guest house had to cancel and Rhona put us up at short notice. I think we will be back.

Room Tip: The front rooms get some noise from the busy road, but it did not keep us awake. The rooms are very...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith4529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The room was clean, bed comfortable, nice to have tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was on the small side but clean with plenty of hot water and clean towels daily during our 6 night stay. Excellent breakfast choice, beautifully cooked and cheerfully served up by Rhona. We managed to park in one of the two spaces available on site, there are on street spaces, but it can be a bit tight during the working day. We walked into Edinburgh through the park, a lovely start to a day of sightseeing and museum trawling. A wonderful city, superb museums.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marabooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I 'phoned Rhona the day before we arrived to check if they had a vacancy and if so to advise that our arrival time was going to be after 11pm.
She organized it for the room key to be in the outside key box ... all done without any deposit/payment being made.
Buses into the centre go past every ten minutes or so and the same back again.
There is a Laundromat a few minutes bus drive away along with numerous
restaurants and Pubs ( about 10/15 minutes to walk).
For Pounds 8.90 the Laundromat washed and dried a pile of clothing.
Breakfast was substantial ... if staying for longer than a few days it might become monotonous.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoff96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stay for 6 nights and was a very good experience. Good English breakfast, good connection to downtown. Rhona a very nice person, try always to be helpful. Big room, unfortunately bath room very small. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bugarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived in Edinburgh for a 2 night stay taking in the Fringe we found that the b&b we had booked thru Visit Scotland knew nothing of our booking. A quick phone call from one hotelier to another and Rhona jumped to the rescue. If that original cock-up hadn't have happened we wouldn't have the pleasure of staying at the Auld Reekie. Thank you Rhona for looking after us all so well.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacraeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#43 of 393 in Edinburgh
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Appin House
Appin House
#89 of 393 in Edinburgh
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aaron Lodge
Aaron Lodge
#34 of 393 in Edinburgh
819 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dene Guest House
Dene Guest House
#20 of 393 in Edinburgh
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gladstone House
Gladstone House
#91 of 393 in Edinburgh
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Reekie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Reekie Guest House

Address: 16 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $93 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auld Reekie Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Auld Reekie Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Reekie Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing