We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have stayed the week!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cramond Mill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #143 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 day break at this beautiful B&B and we wish that we could have stayed longer. As a family, we took all four of the bedrooms as we were attending a family Wedding and Ceilidh. I think I can speak for the whole family when I say that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Elaine and Ali, who were extremely welcoming and accommodating and will stop at nothing to make your stay more comfortable. The bedrooms, each of which is beautifully furnished, have very comfortable beds and pillows and duvets are goose down. The Mill is situated beside the babbling river Almond which is an idyllic spot and great for lovely walks and a peaceful alternative to staying in the City. The full Scottish breakfast is the best I have ever tasted and I can vouch that the cakes and scones are freshly baked every day (this couple never stop!). Thanks Elaine and Ali for a wonderful stay, we will definitely return when we are next visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlandtravellers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 121 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our stay at the Cramond Mill was fantastic. The room was great - roomier than I expected and very quiet. It was stylish and it had everything we needed. And the location on the River Almond - wow! After settling in, we took a walk along the river toward the firth. The tide was out, so we could walk to the island along the "dragon's teeth" - but check the tides before you go!
Our favourite stop on our holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in this fabulous bed & breakfast for 2 nights in August whilst on 5 day break to Scotland. Really lovely family room and very comfortable bed. Elaine is a great host and served a delicious breakfast. Had lunch in café also run by Elaine and it was also very tasty. Great place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank ScottX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After driving the UK for three and half weeks with my family, Crammond Mill B&B, was just the place we needed to finish off our journey. Beautifully situated near the River Almond, for us, it was an oasis just outside the very busy city centre. It is a twenty minute bus ride (we got off before the congestion of the tourist hub of the castle and the train station) into the city, and only a 15 minute drive to the airport. Yes, the location is directly below the flight path but this did not affect our nights rest or enjoyment of our time here.Our room was clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable.
Welcoming and warm, owner Elaine went out of her way for our family ensuring we had everything we needed from the moment we arrived to booking our taxi for our early morning flight and setting up a continental breakfast the night before so we could eat before we headed out at 6:30 am. After the confusion and crowds of Edinburgh during the August Festival time, Crammond Mill B&B was a soothing balm at the end of our busy days. Thank You Elaine, if we are ever in this part of the world again, we know exactly where we will be staying!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

What an amazing "lucky" find for our family! A bed and breakfast that has invested in a good nights sleep, by investing in orthopedic mattresses - so we all slept soundly, even our daughter had a proper bed and not a sofa bed or a fold-up guest bed - THANK YOU. The house fronts onto the River Almond and although under the airport flight path - the noise is not disturbing, probably due to the thick walls of the 17th C mill, which has been amazingly and lovingly renovated. Elaine, the owner also runs a café next to the Bed and Breakfast, with great home-cooked meals and snacks, very welcoming after travelling. There is so much history and wildlife here, one night was not long enough and we can't wait to return, of course this would be to make sure Salom the cat was not missing us too much. Thank you Elaine, for allowing us the chance to stay in your gorgeous home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beautiful room 1, ensuite - with an amazing wooden bed, that once belonged in an In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

A beautiful location, but when visiting Edinburgh take a bus ride of 30 minutes to the centre into account. (But in a really cool 2 storey bus for 1,50) The room was very nice and clean and the owner was very friendly. She really gives it her best to make you comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

we were stopping at the caravan club site just down the sea front and we were told that there was a lovely café just a walk away before finding this lovely secluded place we found a very strange place much nearer to the caravan site where when I asked for a mocha they had no idea and were quite rude, as a pleasant place to eat and stop for tea and scones(all home made cakes etc) this lovely place is well worth the walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,015 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cramond Mill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cramond Mill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 10 School Brae | Cramond, Edinburgh EH4 6JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cramond Mill Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing