We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Elaine”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cramond Mill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #123 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thank you Elaine”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I've just spent the most fantastic 4 days as guest at this B&B. It has a truly wonderful homely atmosphere made special by Elaine, the owner who has a beautiful warm personality, and her husband who is very helpful as well. The decore alone in the dining room is well worth a visit as it has the most magnificant and exquisitely hand-crafted chairs with very high backs that are fantastically different as I've never ever seen before. I don't know how many bedrooms it has but there are only a few, which is great because it's not overun with people. The locality is idyllic and really beautiful. Across the road is a river which is very pretty and calming to sit in the seats provided and just to sit there and feel the serenity wash over you. A five minute walk takes you to a beautiful waterfall and a short walk further on is an open field with about 8 gorgeous Shetland ponies of various colours. I must mention also the cafe attached to the B&B where you can relax with a hot chocolate or whatever and sample one of Elaine's amazing huge scones that she bakes fresh every day, while looking at the serene vista. And - if you're a cat lover (which I am) there's this gorgeous resident black cat whose name is Salem, and who is just the most loving of cats I've ever seen - takes any amount of petting and cuddles and I just loved him so much I would have joyfully brought him home with me!! I will definitely be going back there in May when I revisit my friends in Edinburgh.
Leah (New Zealander living in London)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    30
    1
    7
    9
See reviews for
38
44
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

A real gem, tucked away in the Almond Valley. Delicious soup with crutons and bread, and home-made scones and lemon marmalade to follow. Really friendly service, and excellent value. We recommend this to any walkers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Comfort from the word go. We were greeted from our taxi, luggage taken up to our room and tea offered in the breakfast room downstairs.
On a particularly frosty weekend our room was heated and toasty warm. The bed was very comfortable and the room + en suite spic and span. There's a kettle and choice of teas in each room.
A beautiful view from the window showed up the colours of the leaves against a hard frost in the morning.
A full Scottish breakfast was cooked for us after which we walked along the River Almond, just yards from the front door. This area is popular with walkers, joggers and cyclists. The b&b also runs a cafe, serving homemade soups and hot meals.

Room Tip: Use the website to make a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruskin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Cramond Mill (aka 'Cramond Falls Cafe') is our longstanding favourite in the area for coffee, a snack, great cakes, homely service. Never stop at Mr Grumpy's (down at the foreshore); the Mill wins hands down every time!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

enjoyed lovely homecooked meal even fussy teenager satisfied!! homemade cakes also delicious. service was fast and staff very friendly. lovely location on river Almond discovered whilst on lovely autumn afternoon walk.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveHeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

A very cosy, homely cafe with courtyard and indoor seating. Nohting too fancy, and a bit on the eclectic side.
Went there for lunch after a bike ride and were pleasantly surprised that the lunch food was as good as the tea and cakes!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronika_Kaschenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Amazing scones and good coffee. A few years back the Botanics cafe had the best scones now it has to be this place.

Interesting venue that could do with a little reorganising and investment. There's a odd mixture of styles going on throughout and things are a little haphazard.(ironing board in the toilet? Etc)

Well worth a visit.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Iain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,930 reviews
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#94 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,206 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cramond Mill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cramond Mill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cramond Mill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10 School Brae | Cramond, Edinburgh EH4 6JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cramond Mill Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing