We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #32 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We stayed here the end of March, having stayed elsewhere usually we decided to take advantage of hotel winter sale rooms for £69

We found hotel fairly easily from station, on arriving early we were greeted by 2 lovely girls, I can't remember there names. But were 2 blondes, Scottish and foreign. Both were very helpful in letting us leave our luggage as our room was not ready and giving us a map.

The hotel is in a great location for exploring the city.

We decided to return to hotel to check in after 1430, we were met by a tall guy and foreign girl. Who were not as friendly as the girls earlier. Both looked as though they had had a hard nights partying in them.
We checked in and our room was lovely and modern. Very clean too. You get tea and coffee making facilities in the room along with a packetbof biscuits and hot chocolate. The hot chocolate is lovely.

We used the spa facilities, whilst they are small they do the jib to help you relax. There's steam room sauna swimming pool and a gym. They were never that busy either. Towels are all provided too which is great.

The breakfast at hotel is huge fills you for whole day, was delicious. We didn't use the restaurant in evening unfortunately we had other plans. But the menu was reasonably priced and good selection of food.

I would most certainly visit the hotel again. Most of the staff we came across were friendly and willing to help with anything. The hotel in great location, very modern and very clean. You could always see someone walking about cleaning something.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotsGirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,823 - 3,829 of 4,558 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2011

Had an amazing trip. It was the perfect location for the purpose of our trip allowing us to be central Edinburgh. It was extremely clean with everything you need around you. Out morning after the stay started with a delicious breakfast followed by a very relaxed afternoon in e pool, sauna and steam room.

All staff were very attentive in a calm and relaxed way. No one was forceful or too 'nice' coming across false. The guest services manager settled us into our rooms and made sure we were happy with everything - this was a lovely touch!!!!

100% thrilled with the whole experience...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiara0186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Well, I was very impressed with this place. The location is superb - just five minutes walk from Waverley station. It's just off the end of Princes Street, but most of the traffic goes a different way, leaving Waterloo Place amazingly quiet for the middle of a capital city; the soundproofing inside is very good, also. A few yards away is Calton Hill, with superb views of the city and the Firth of Forth. The smart modern conversion of the Georgian building works very well, indeed everything works well. Staff are polite and helpful. Breakfasts are tasty. Rooms a decent size, well equipped. I paid £176 for two nights in a double - good value, I would say, for a hotel of this quality in a big city.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairfax09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

What a hotel, absoutely fantastic, fantastic staff, fantastic location, fantastic room and food. This is def one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in. Staff could not do enough for us. Pool area although small is totally adequate and spotless clean. We had a fantastic room on 9th Floor with great views. Bathroom was class with big bath. We only had breakfast in the hotel but everything was to perfection. I honestly cannot think of anything unreasonable about this place. The location is also excellent right at the top of princess street. We got a free up grade on arrival and a bottle of wine, small things like this make a big difference and go a long way. I would strongly reccomend this hotel and dont worry about previous reviews and you will not de dissapointed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mban1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

right from check-in the staff could not do enough for you they kept our bags for us as we were down early so our room was not ready and then put them in our room when it was ready. as we were down for the new year celebrations everyone was busy but they took time to tell you about what was going on.
the room was spacious clean and had everything you needed it's not often i manage to sleep all night on a strange bed but managed no problem.
the bathroom what can i say apart from it was great the shower was more like a wet room very roomy the bath which i actually used was brilliant nice and big plenty room for stretching out and relaxing.i forgot to say that there was plenty of hot water not like some places where it often runs out.
the breakfast in the morning was fantastic made to order which pleased my wife as she managed to get porridge i had an arbroath smokie with a poached egg and it was sublime just perfect for the start of the day. the staff were very attentive and courteous tea coffee and toast as soon as you sat down and took your order if you wanted a cooked breakfast.
the bar staff were as good if not better because they could make one of the best mojito i have ever tasted and my wife's french martini she couldn't get enough of them.
the only criticism i would have is the seating in the bar area was not very comfortable but apart from that our overall experience was excellent and we will certainly stay there again
and recommend it to our friends. i would just like to thank the staff and management for making our stay very pleasureable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howdenInverurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Reasonably pleasant stay at hotel and room/linens were clean which is key. Email communications with hotel prior to hotel were politely and swiftly answered.

When checking out I was asked by the receptionist if I had left a tip for the waitress at breakfast (I had.) I failed to see why this was relevant, nor did I think it an appropriate question. It left a sour impression after a pleasant stay - a great pity.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaadu79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

great location, very good hotel,
good service and very clean hotel, front desk very helpful, the breakfast was good and well served.
we had a duplex suite which was much larger than a standard hotel room, with extra large bathroom and lots of extras
look forward to going back .

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186402Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,607 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,890 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $115 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing