We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay in a good hotel with high standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #35 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay in a good hotel with high standards”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

great location, very good hotel,
good service and very clean hotel, front desk very helpful, the breakfast was good and well served.
we had a duplex suite which was much larger than a standard hotel room, with extra large bathroom and lots of extras
look forward to going back .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186402Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,552
    1,501
    315
    86
    31
See reviews for
762
2,234
210
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Stayed at the Apex Waterloo Place Hotel in January 2011, Front desk greeting was excellent, no waiting straight to our room 825, very spacious, clean, large Flat screen TV, Bathroom cavernous and spotless,lovely large white towels, all the Elemis toiletries,large walk in shower (room for two) large Bath (almost room for Two). The BED was most comfortable with copious pillows and cushions for comfort. Breakfast was excellent Buffet and service, hot plates, hot food freshly cooked, good position to explore the delights of Edinburgh, we shall be returning to This Hotel in a month or two as we visit the city few times a year.e All done on line what a find! Congratulations and thank you to Management and staff EXCELLENT

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobev_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

This Hotel is in a fabulous location - we travelled to Edinburgh by train and found the ability to pop back to the hotel throughout the day, with shopping bags or to change for dinner, added a lot to our trip. The room was a good size and the beds comfortable. The Yu Spa is a bit on the small side for the size of the hotel and I think it would benefit from having 'no children' times - we used the spa but often found the pool full of noisey children, which didn't appeal as we were there to relax. I'm not against children using the facilities but it might be nice to offer times when the spa is 'kid free.'
We were on a room only basis and the price was reasonable considering the 4star quality and city centre location. We would visit again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kas86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Stayed here for three nights in early November on our minimoon. Friendly and polite staff - we were upgraded and also given a bottle of Cava on arrival as it was a special occassion which was a lovely touch and very much appreciated. The hotel is nice and clean, the pool which we used twice is small but pefectly formed. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant but that was lovely, plenty of choice. Lobby / bar area is very comfortable, contemporary and funky.
The location is excellent, really close to everything and kind of exactly in the right position - kind of between Edinburgh's new town and old town. Loads of stuff to do as well - we shopped, ate at The Kitchin in Leith, visited the Castle, Camera Obscura and the Whisky Experience, and visited lots of pubs!
I would recommend this hotel in an instant and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidWalesSiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

This hotel is a truly 4* in an excellent position (next to the station) - service and food appropriate for the category - Minor disappointments: the spa is good because is included in the price, but i would not pay for it; Some rooms are not very well insulated from the external noise.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, WIlts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Lovely front of house staff who let us check in early. They also upgraded us as it was my husbands birthday and gave us a free bottle of wine. Very nice rooms, comfy beds. My only gripe is the room was cold even with the ac up full blast. It's a really old building and having no double glazing didn't help but once we realised this and kept the door to the bathroom closed it was fine. Location is fab, easy to all attractions basically great try it you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyme101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

It is conveniently located just 3mins away from the Waverly station connected through the hotel side/back exit. Have to walk the steps up to the train station so heavy luggage can be a challenge. Full Scottish breakfast was very fullfilling indeed with generous portion that keep you going for the whole day. Hotel lobby might look small but the room was big and we appreciate that very much because we had to stay indoor most of the time due to heavy snow when we were there. The Heart of Scotland tour departure point is at the bus stop right opposite the hotel, sooo convenient but unfortunately our tour was cancelled due to bad weather. Nevertheless, we enjoyed the pool in the hotel and also killed some time at the mall which is less than 5 mins walk away. There is a convenient shop right next to the hotel followed by a Chinese Restaurant (we haven't got change to try this) and an Italian restaurant (Martone) that serves good food and coffee. I highly recommend APEX Waterloo to business and leisure travellers and also family with kids. There is a cute grey rubber duckie complimentary from the hotel. Very sweet.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,808 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,462 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing