We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in excellent position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent value in excellent position”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

This hotel is a truly 4* in an excellent position (next to the station) - service and food appropriate for the category - Minor disappointments: the spa is good because is included in the price, but i would not pay for it; Some rooms are not very well insulated from the external noise.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,503
    1,472
    309
    82
    28
See reviews for
737
2,197
206
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, WIlts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Lovely front of house staff who let us check in early. They also upgraded us as it was my husbands birthday and gave us a free bottle of wine. Very nice rooms, comfy beds. My only gripe is the room was cold even with the ac up full blast. It's a really old building and having no double glazing didn't help but once we realised this and kept the door to the bathroom closed it was fine. Location is fab, easy to all attractions basically great try it you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyme101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

It is conveniently located just 3mins away from the Waverly station connected through the hotel side/back exit. Have to walk the steps up to the train station so heavy luggage can be a challenge. Full Scottish breakfast was very fullfilling indeed with generous portion that keep you going for the whole day. Hotel lobby might look small but the room was big and we appreciate that very much because we had to stay indoor most of the time due to heavy snow when we were there. The Heart of Scotland tour departure point is at the bus stop right opposite the hotel, sooo convenient but unfortunately our tour was cancelled due to bad weather. Nevertheless, we enjoyed the pool in the hotel and also killed some time at the mall which is less than 5 mins walk away. There is a convenient shop right next to the hotel followed by a Chinese Restaurant (we haven't got change to try this) and an Italian restaurant (Martone) that serves good food and coffee. I highly recommend APEX Waterloo to business and leisure travellers and also family with kids. There is a cute grey rubber duckie complimentary from the hotel. Very sweet.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I really liked the location of this hotel. Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is different as compared to other hotels I ever stayed - it has a uniqueness in that it allows guests to feel as relaxed as they would in their own homes but with the added benefit of 5 star+ furnishings, fittings, service and treats. I stayed in Apex waterloo for one month. All the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. As I stayed for one month in this hotel, Monika at reception, and Sandeep, Guseppe(Italian fellow), Hitesh from restaurant made my stay even comfortable and memorable. I have to say they are a real credit to the hotel. I would certainly stay at Apex Waterloo Place again if we ever return to Edinburgh. I would definitely recommend to my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitgupta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I really liked the location of this hotel. At the foot of Calton Hill, it was a good base for exploring Edinburgh. It's a trendy hotel with clean, modern rooms and free Wi-Fi. Staff was nice, but not overly friendly. We had a plumbing issue in our room and it was fixed right away. About my car comment...parking situation is not great. Street parking is very limited, and despite the parking garage discount, parking was a bit pricey. We walked the first couple of days and I think 18 hours in the garage ran about 38 pounds. I'd rather have spent that on a cashmere scarf or some whisky ;-) Overall, a good place to stay. I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runrhirun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Would definitely recommend this hotel. Our room was great...incredibly comfy bed! We arrived very early in the morning and were given a room straight away...good service. We used the restaurant one evening...good food and friendly service.
We found a cheaper alternative to the hotel breakfast though...small friendly restaurant about 50 metres away...Martone's...would recommend their breakfast.
Would happily use this hotel again when back in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Pros: Excellent location, walking distance to anything you can imagine downtown. Was able to check-in early and got a corner room on the top floor with the most amazing sunset views. Great service--it always felt cold so they brought up a space heater for me. Decor was nice and "artsy". Beds were large and comfy (larger than a double). The gym/spa looked clean and inviting.
Cons: The shower, though powerful, was never hot enough. The sink water was super hot, on the other hand.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightniter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,042 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing