We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded all our expectations!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“exceeded all our expectations!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

First time at The Apex Waterloo...hopefully not the last!! The decor was second to none throughout the hotel with lots of unique finishing touches. Our room was very comfortable, spacious, extremely clean and well-stocked with drinks, snacks and Elemis toiletries. The spa area was very relaxing with a sauna, steam room and pool which was just the right temperature and ambience...all spotless. Food was excellent, especially recommend the eggs florentine, and all the staff we had contact with were extremely pleasant and went the extra mile....a special mention must go to Alan, our breakfast waiter on the second morning who took time out to chat to us about the festival, went and found us some literature and even gave us an i-phone app to get free tickets to some of the shows!! All in all a great hotel in a beautiful city in a perfect location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ailz46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,388
    1,393
    290
    78
    25
See reviews for
681
2,100
192
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

Just returned from a long weekend staying at Apex Waterloo Place. Great location, just at the top of Princes Street.
Good points - location, friendly staff, large room (326, see photos), clean apart from window sill and bathroom ceiling, comfortable bed, huge pillows.
Negative points - someone had done work to the window in the bedroom and not cleaned up after them - dust, screws etc left and window sill was filthy. Bathroom ceiling had been repaired and not painted over - looked unfinished (see photos).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MozBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Have returned for our second visit to the Apex for the Fringe Festival and had a wonderful stay. The room was excellent, very clean and well appointed. The restaurant was as good as ever, but we were sorry our favourite waiting staff, Nicole and James were not working that evening. They are an asset to the hotel.

All in all a wonderful stay, would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

We booked a Superior Double Room. It was a corner room with windows all along two walls. It was spotless and totally comfortable with new, modern fixtures and a huge bathroom. Internet reception was flawless. There was bottled water, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and biscuits refreshed every day. The full Scottish breakfast and eggs Florentine were delicious. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JesupWatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
220 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

Booked this hotel in June as part of a trip to the Fringe and Festival and thought it was really great. It even had reasonable rates when many other four star hotel had put theirs right up. We had a Superior Room which was excellent - large, clean and well furnished. The staff were helpful and friendly and the whole ambiance of the hotel is good. Nice bar too.

A major plus is that virtually every Fringe venue is within walking distance. Find it difficult to mention any negatives - perhaps the toilet flushing mechanism was a little stiff in our room (325) and had difficulty getting service for coffee in the bar one morning. Apart from that all very good.

Did not eat in the hotel's Elliots Restauran but hear it is good. However would recommend the following - Dining Room at the Scotch Malt Whisky Society, Wedgewood and Mother India for dinner: Harvey Nichols, Missoni Hotel and Plumed Horse (in Leith) for lunch.

Will definitely stay again the next time I'm in town,

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed in a City room, the most basic and cheapest they offer. It was lovely, absolutely huge compared with their sister hotels. Location is great, decor is nice, modern. We had good friendly service from reception and housekeeping. The fitness centre is small but has a good range of cardio equipment and was spotless. The only downside was our window was locked and housekeeping told us they were not allowed to open it "for health and safety". It was only a minor niggle in an otherwise lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veggington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Arrived in Edinburgh at 9.00am in the morning, we knew we could not check in until 2.30pm, the hotel held our bags and when we did check in our lugguage was already up in the room. Great location, our room did not have a great outlook but it was quiet, bed was massive as was TV, bathroom very nicely decorated. very good value for money, would use again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing