We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic - definitely worth a visit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic - definitely worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

I absolutely loved every minute of our stay at this hotel. The staff were so friendly and the hotel was very clean. We arrived at 11am to check-in and the staff told us the room wasn't ready yet but they'd take our bags and keep them safe and they'd text us when our room was ready. So we wandered around Edinburgh and only 45 mins later we got the text. When we arrived back our bags were in our room and the room was plush! The bed was so comfortable, there was a mini-bar with stocked literally two bottles of complimentary water, the bathroom was amazing with a large bath and walk-in shower! We loved this hotel instantly. One guy on reception had a fantastic sense of humour too which had a very welcoming effect.

The hotel is only 5 mins walk from Princes Street and Waverley Station so is in a superb prime location. You can't see the castle from the hotel but come out and walk 2 mins and it's there in front of you.

We decided to go to the spa in the hotel which again was amazing. It's free to use for guests and you have to use your room key to get into the changing rooms which then leads through to the spa so non-guests cannot walk straight in, I think they can pay to use the spa and get given a key at reception. There is a fitness centre (I can't say I used that though), a swimming pool, sauna and steam room which all get the thumbs up from me. Towels are provided and there are two walk-in showers with complimentary shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. All these little extras make the reasonable price you pay for the hotel well worth the money.

I definitely recommend this hotel, it's a must!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezibella83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,375
    1,389
    289
    78
    25
See reviews for
678
2,091
191
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

I checked in late, and I was unfortunately not able to visit their spa. As I stayed in only for one night, I can only judge on their room and services. What I liked about the room is its bathroom. The bed was also comfortable, and the TV was a 40-inch flat screen. Internet was for free. The location is also ideal - quite central. Room services was avaiable for a late dinner, and the staff was very helpful. Just one tiny flaw: the room could have been made bigger.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thesupr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

The service, cleanliness, food & rooms were great, however, it's situated on a main road & the bedrooms only have single glazing. Despite earplugs & several pillows over my ears I had one of the worst nights sleep ever. If you do stay here ask for a room at the rear.
Hotel staff were so polite & helpful, breakfast was cooked to order, which was great & the rooms were spotless. It's a real shame that the lack of soundproofing should spoil what is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bay51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

The Apex Waterloo is a great hotel: great location access-wise (close to the airport shuttle's bus stop and Waverley Station) and tourism-wise (a few meters to Carlton Hill and its fantastic views of the city, but also close to the Old and New Towns). The beds were large and incredibly comfortable, and we had fantastic views of the city from our room. N.B. We asked for 'a nice view' and were put on the top floor, room 1011.

But...

For a four stars hotel, I was surprised at how disorganized some things were: our WIFI connection did not work once in 3 days (and as another reviewer commented, this was one of the reasons why we picked this particular hotel), our windows did not open (though we had AC -which is rare in Edinburgh- we would have liked to get some fresh air), we could hear a very loud "bang" whenever other guests closed their door, and there seems to be some problems with housekeeping (they once forgot to do our room and had to do it at 6pm, and woke us up the day after at 8am to do it again...)

Overall, it was a great experience, and I am hoping those few glitches will soon be resolved.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swimisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed for three nights at this hotel. At first, I was concerned about its location. It is just next to Calton Hill. But I soon realized how easy it was to walk from there to High Street using the North Bridge. Grassmarket was a little too far but was only a 5 pound taxi ride. The room was smaller than expected but not too bad. Great shower. The hotel staff was very helpful. We did not eat at the hotel. Not a breakfast fan and ate out at restaurants at night. The bar was okay but very high priced and had a surprisingly pool selection of beer and wine. The spa and pool were very nice. One small complaint is that it was impossible to get a cup of coffee from the hotel restaurant to take to the room. There is a kettle in the room but only instant coffee which most of us Yanks will not drink.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RDC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for four days in July 2010, and it was a really great experience - considering what we paid for the hotel room, we really found it to be very good value for money. Room was very large, bathroom also - very clean with new facilities and very quiet
Staff very friendly and helpful, and the location is great, as it is in walking distance from basically everything in central Edinburgh. Only gripe we had was that the wi-fi almost never worked in our room, as the signal was so bad - as the wi-fi was one of the reasons we had selected this hotel, this was slightly annoying.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MereteJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong/UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

I stayed in this hotel several times (including the first day of its opening). Room has always been clean and tidy, a bit chic, with a large bathroom with shower and tub. Room size is obviously more generous than hotels of the same class in London. Apex Waterloo occupies a good location, close to the city centre, Waverly train station and the North Bridge. Reception is efficient and helpful, although the room cannot be ready until 2pm - the official check-in time so make sure you have some places in mind to shop around when you take an early flight to Edinburgh. Free wifi and flat TV are standard items in most of the boutique hotels in the UK and this is no exception to Apex Waterloo Place. The hotel also has a tiny indoor swimming pool - already quite a luxury in the UK hotels. The Apex group, however, doesn't have any loyalty scheme so frequent business travellers may not be able to bebefit from their frequent stays. Yet, this is a good hotel to stay in - with its hospitality, cleanliness and good location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Wong_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing