We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend, very modern hotel, close to the Edinburgh playhouse.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #32 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great weekend, very modern hotel, close to the Edinburgh playhouse.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

Booked this for my boyfirends birthday as we were going to see Al Murray at the Edinburgh playhouse.
Hotel is just round the corner from the Playhouse, so was ideal.
The hotel is amazing, very modern and the staff were very nice and helpful.
The room was a bit small but has nice touches like a big walk in shower and a 42" tv. Our room was at the back and looked onto scaffolding which was a bit disappointing but for all the time your in your room, it wasn't a huge problem.
Breakfast was lovely, plenty to choose from the menu. Staff are very professional.
The swimming pool, sauna and steam room looked amazing. The only problem was the swimming pool was absolutely freezing, it took a while before I built up the courage to go in. All the guests were commenting on it. Most people were in and out in a minute. There must have been a problem with the heating.
Hotel is central: princes street, castle etc are all walking distance.
Overall, we loved this hotel and will definately be back!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank _-_L4UR4_-_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,441
    1,422
    295
    80
    26
See reviews for
709
2,142
196
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

We stayed at the Apex Waterloo at the end of our Scottish scenic rail trip (see other reviews)
We had asked Apex for a high level, quiet room - it was our thirtieth wedding anniversary.
On arrival we were upgraded to a very large well- equipped room in the older part of the building - beautiful decor and features.
Staff were continually pleasant and helpful. The hotel facilities are excellent ,we used the lovely pool area and the bar.
Edinburgh itself has a terrific atmosphere and lovely people (as we found throughout Scotland). Certainly, both the the hotel and city are places to return to.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citybreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

This hotel made our short stay in Edinburgh very memorable and pleasant for everyone in our party of nine ranging from Grandma to a one year old baby. The hotel is beautiful, clean modern lines and contempory feel but still retaining a warm friendly atmosphere. The rooms were large and very clean (our party used three rooms and they were all of the same high standard). The bathrooms were a joy and my three small neices had great fun in the large bath with the Apex rubber duck! The very large seperate walk in shower was wonderful and very powerful - certainly blew the cobwebs away!

We all made use of the hotel's swimming pool which was small but perfectly formed with several skylights letting in natural light which was a very nice feature as was the heated floor and heated loungers - plenty of clean towels available too. The gym was small but had all you would need for a quick work out.

We booked dinner, bed and breakfast and we were glad we did. The food was lovely and the children were very well catered for (in fact the menu for the children was very well thought out with two sizes of portions on offer which was great for my 6 year old neice who has a good appetite and her 3 year old sister who doesn't eat as much). The boiled egg with toast soldiers was a big hit as was the delicious homemade icecream!

The hotel location was superb. A very short walk from Waverly train station and a short stroll away from Jenners and Harvey Nics (for those interested in shopping) and a 5 min walk over the North Bridge puts you on the Royal Mile - couldn't have been better placed for our party. Our room overlooked a building which is currently being renovated but the excellent sound proofing ment that we were not inconvenienced by the workers in the slightest.

The hotel staff were excellent. Very warm and friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Everytime we returned to the hotel one of the receptionist offered to help with baby buggy, bags etc - they really went out of their way to make us comfortable.

To summerise, we all enjoyed our stay at the Apex Waterloo and it would definately be the first hotel we would all try to rebook on our next visit to Edinburgh (my 6 year old neice enjoyed her stay so much she told me she wants to go there everyday!). Totally recommended!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likesabreakaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

HAving never been to Edinburgh before, I selected the hotel from a travel website based on location and price. We were very pleased when we arrived. It has a great central location. Waterloo Place is just an extension of Princes Street and you can walk to all of the sites in a few minutes. The room was large and clean and very modern. We actually stayed an extra day because we enjoyed the hotel so much. The staff is great. They were very helpful in assisting us with questions and provided good information on where to get a rental car. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again when in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigIVes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

stayed for four nights, and it was really good, Breakfast 10 gbp if you preboo it the day before. Rooms where clean and nice.

My tip for edinburgh for a chic place to stay is hotel Tigerlily if you find it to expensive APEX waterloo is a good second choice.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EugenStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

We stayed for three nights in the fall. It's right around the corner from the train station and close to shopping and all attractions. The style is a great blend of old and new. Staff were extremely helpful. Free wifi everywhere and a small business centre you can use with free internet there as well. One complaint was the price of the food. Their continental breakfast is small for its price. I would love to stay there again, and just eat elsewhere.
BEAUTIFUL pool/sauna/steam room facilities and a gym.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

Service received upon entry to the Hotel was second to none. Staff could not do enough for me and were extremely informative on all levels. Was upgraded to a Superior Room on arrival which was beautiful and overlooked most of Edinburgh. Room was light, had plenty of room and a bath to die for!! Lots of extras were included, bowl of fruit, luxury fudge, mini bar etc and the usual bathroom toiletries - with the exception of shower gel which I found a bit odd but perhaps was just an oversight - these things happen!! Only small criticism is that the room had no full length mirror which for girls (and probably most vain men is v important!!) Very central at the end of Princes Street with bus stops on the door step. Will definitely stay here again and indeed any Apex.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilly1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing