We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed at the Apex Waterloo during the Festival this August. Excellent hotel. The room was comfortable and large for Europe, with a king size bed...a bonus. The location is perfect for anyone who wants to be very close to all the action, but not right in the middle. The Royal Mile is within walking distance, but being one street over was great for a quiet night's sleep.

I would highly recommend the Apex Waterloo!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWDGM, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Jerry E
Thanks for the review. Sounds like you had a great stay and hopefully enjoyed all that Edinburgh has to offer during Festival time. Our location is ideal for getting out and about easily to Festival venues.
I hope we can welcome you back.
Thanks again
Alan Harbisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,497
    1,466
    309
    82
    28
See reviews for
733
2,193
204
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed here two years ago, just as nice as last time. Room clean and tidy. The concierge is a brilliant lady (was there on 7 Aug 14), friendly and knowledgeable about how to walk around Edinburgh. The Bar was nice, I was very happy to sit in the bar as a single lady and have a whisky and order bar snacks.

Room Tip: Not a room tip. This hotel has a short cut to Waverley Station, ask about it if arriving by train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy_fromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWDGM, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Wendy_fromAus
It's great to hear that this was your second stay here at Waterloo Place and that you enjoyed it as much as the first time.
Linda from our Concierge Team is always willing to help and assist with ideas of places to see and visit. Her local knowledge is fantastic.
Here's hoping we can welcome you back again in a few years time.
All the very best.
Alan Harbisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We just returned from our Scotland/England trip and thought I would share a few experiences we had. We flew into Edinburgh and spent our first 3 nights at the Waterloo. This is an awesome location and quick walks to just about anything to see. We took the tram from the airpot and the last stop is a 2 minute walk to the hotel, so don't waste money for a cab. Reception desk was very nice and stored our luggage for us until the room was ready. The room was exceptionally clean and large and had some nice amenities like coffee, snacks, bottled water. We did not have breakfast there, however we visited the bar a few times and they were quite nice and good service. The bar area is a very relaxed atmosphere. We wanted to attend the Military tattoo festival and found it was sold out but the concierge was able to get us tickets. She was awesome. I would have given 5 stars but our room was on the 3rd floor (2 floors down from reception - weird) and the view out our window was a brick wall. I didn't like that too much. However, I would definitely stay again due to its location and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Don't get booked on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belle1691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWDGM, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Belle1691
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay.
Great to hear our location was good for you and that the long awaited tram system was put to use!
I'm really pleased that Linda was able to source tickets for the Tattoo. It's a great performance and would have been a shame to miss it.
I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time travelling in Scotland and England and had a good journey home.
Warmest regards
Alan Harbisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in May 2014. Very good location; walking distance from most things you may want to do in town. Rooms are nice but a bit small (usual for mid-city rooms in this area.) Front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWDGM, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Bruce H
Thanks for taking the time to post your review following your stay earlier this year. Great to hear you enjoyed your time here and that you found the Front Desk Team friendly and helpful, they do a great job and are always happy to assist and recommend places to visit.
I hope we can welcome you back.
Many thanks
Alan Harbisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. I will start with the positives. The location was spot on. It was great for walking everywhere. We had breakfast several times while there in the restaurant and continental breakfast was delicious. The bathrooms were really nice and the rubber ducky was a nice touch. We loved how there were jelly beans that were complimentary and a few other snacks daily. It is advertised as a luxury hotel but we didn't see anything luxury about it other than the bathroom. The room itself was quite average for the price we paid for a room. We found it to be just ok. We also realize the fact that the fringe festival and Military tattoo were going on so perhaps thats why it was so expensive to stay there. Once thing I have got to say was they gave us a room high up and it was over looking the olderpart of the city and the view was absolutey fantastic. We got to see the fireworks every single night from our room.

We were a bit suprised that there was no turn down service. Now i'm perfectly able to turn down a bed myself but it was just different. Especially of a hotel that is suppose to be a luxury hotel. Once thing we noticed was the concierge was nowhere to be seen. We stayed there for 6 nights and I think we saw the concierge once. There was no offer to bring our bags up to our room for us which we also thought was a bit strange. The bed in the hotel we found was a little hard and uncomfortable.

We ate breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel every morning. One thing I noticed is they didn't change the cutlery after each person left. If they thought it was unused they left it there for the next person. One morning I witnessed someone leaving and the lady was setting the table for the next person. she just repositioned the cutlery and slid it over in to place. This put me off a bit because how can they be sure that nobody used it or nobody had their fingers all over it ect. Another morning there was a gentleman who sat down at the table next to us who ordered an irish breakfast. He asked the waiter for another set of cutlery because this was sticky and had syrup or something on it.

All in all it was an ok hotel. I was a little disapointed in it but it wasn't terrible. It woudln't stop me from staying there again or suggesting it to someone else. It just wasn't all what I expected it to be.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room and facing the parlament building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlbrown8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWDGM, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear mlbrown8
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay here at Apex Waterloo Place.
It sounds as though you enjoyed your time here. There is so much to see and do during August with all the festivals in full swing.
I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the view from your room overlooking the Old Town. Turndown service is offered for deluxe rooms and suites, perhaps we need to review this at certain times of the year when expectations may well be higher.
Thank you for recommending us to others. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.
Warmest regards
Alan Harbisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We Satyed, as a family, in a Master Suite, in late July for 3 nights on a B&B basis.
Hotel is very well located, nice and cosy, great staff, nice help and very good advises from the team regarding "what to see" and what could fit the kids.
Edinburgh is a very interesting city, the Hotel is located very near everything.
Regarding the room - Great, absolutely great value for money.
Breakfast is ok, service is very good.
I Highly recommend staying at the Apex Waterloo Hotel

Room Tip: Master Suite is a big room and I liked it No view from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilkalderon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWDGM, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear gilkalderon
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay here at Apex Waterloo Place. It's great that you and your family enjoyed your time here and I am sure you would have found lots of activities and interests to keep everyone entertained.
I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Warmest regards
Alan Harbisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I have recently returned from a seven-day stay at Apex Waterloo. The hotel is in an excellent location; it is just one block off a major intersection but is not on a crowded street. It is less than a five-minute walk from Waverly Station, which is the city's train station and where the bus from the airport stops. One can walk anywhere from the hotel.

The hotel staff were professional, friendly and helpful. I found Linda, a concierge, to be incredibly helpful. Our room was stylish, very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWDGM, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear TigerDiner
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.
It's great to hear you enjoyed your week staying here and that the team looked after you so well. Thanks for the positive comments about Linda. Her local knowledge is fantastic and she loves sharing tips on what to see and where to go.
I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
All the best
Alan Harbisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
961 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,024 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing