We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at Apex Waterloo...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was there with my husband and son for 3 nights in April... it is an excellent hotel... we had one of the small suites and it was perfect for the 3 of us... the room was immaculate, the staff were all really helpful in all the areas of the hotel... the food in the restaurant was lovely as we had breakfast and dinner there. The pool is small, but it was never very busy so was ideal for us. I would really highly recommend this hotel and really can't wait to go back.... the location is within walking distance of the train station and centre of Edinburgh so you really can't beat the location either... we all loved it.. thanks for a lovely time :0)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,199 - 2,205 of 4,644 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

We are just back from a short stay at the Apex Waterloo Place Hotel and can't recommend it highly enough. We visited for our wedding anniversary and can honestly say it is one of the most comfiest hotels we've ever stayed in.

We stayed in a Deluxe Double Room which was on the corner of the hotel so had windows down two sides of the room. As we were on the 9th floor we could see over most of the roof tops and had a view of Edinburgh Castle. From the other side we could see over the Firth of Forth as well. The room was a great size and so was the bathroom.

The staff were very welcoming and we had no issues at all with the service. The price of the hotel was very competative and I think we easily got our money's worth. Its in a great location very close to Waverley Train Station and if you are driving the OMNI car park which you get a discount for using is less than a 2 minute walk away. If you are using the OMNI car park don't bother walking all the way up the hill to Waterloo Place. Instead as you leave the car park walk down Calton Road as there is an entrance on the left hand side with lift access to the main reception.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borahorza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I spent four nights at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel last March, and I can say that i quite enjoyed my stay at this property! Location is really comfortable, pretty close to every major attraction in Edinburgh, and in a quite area (the city is indeed pretty much quite, and so beautifully appealing). The room was very good, the bed could be slightly more comfortable, bathroom a little dissapointing in terms of size and general facilities. Room service was good with a decent array of choices for an overnight request. The great spots on this hotel are the swiming pool and spa area, and breakfast service, very very good indeed. I loved my eggs benedict or omelets every morning, with a very attentive service from its personnel. Staff very helpfull and welcoming every time i had the oportunity to interact with them. I truly recommend this hotel when visiting this lovely city, and in terms of cost-benefits just tumbs up! (They might consider a renovation of rooms decor and facilities to make them a little more cosier and comfortable).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darnok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I booked apex waterloo as a surprise trip to Edinburgh for my partners birthday. It was fantastic!!! From the beginning we walked out of the train station... Looked right and there it was! PERFECT location. On entering the hotel it was clean, modern and reception staff were extremely friendly. We went on standby for an upgraded room prior to our stay and well worth it!! I would 100% recommend upgrading to a junior suite if you can!! It just made our stay. Gorgeous room... Huge living area, bathroom with lovely tub and great bedroom. My partner was very impressed. The little amenities in the room made it even more special and a card left in the room saying happy birthday with a complimentary drink at the bar was the best unexpected touch. Definitely take your swimming trunks because the pool and steam room are so relaxing and highly recommended. Gym was well equipped although we didn't use it. You MUST book spa treatments in advance... I wish we had booked more as there was no space left so do not forget this. If we stay in Edinburgh again it will def be to Apex Waterloo... Thank you to all the staff :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary on the Mayday bank holiday weekend. I had booked a superior room including dinner and breakfast. I emailed the hotel in advance to tell them it was our first anniversary perhaps expecting some small touch. On arrival we were told we had been upgraded and only realised this was to a full suite when we entered the room. Also, included was a voucher for two free drinks and another £10 voucher to spend in the bar or restaurant,

The downstairs included a big tv, sofa, coffee machine, minibar and WC. Upstairs was the big bed, another big tv and impressive bathroom,

The upgrade really went above and beyond and contributed to an amazing stay. We had a deliecious dinner in the restaurant and breakfast the following morning was excellent too.

The room itself was superb, with a very spacious and comfortable bed. The best part of the room was the bathroom with an incredible shower with five water points, in addition to a hige bathtub.

We used the swimming pool, steamroom and sauna, all of which were great. If there was a jacuzzi as well that would have made it perfect.

Taking into account the amount we paid, to get a delicious dinner, excellent breakfast and a stunning room we could not have been happier with our stay. We will most definitely return again! Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjbest12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is REALLY a 4 star! It looks AND is nice and classy. Great ambience, excellent location! A lot of attractions/sightseeing options within walking distance.

The staff, especially LINDA, was so incredibly friendly!!! Linda anticipated my needs as a guest, offered assistance proactively and was genuinely kind. Also helping with local logistics. Just lovely! The restaurant staff at breakfast was VERY friendly also. I really felt like a guest by being pampered by so many staff members.

Endulge yourself in an oasis of comfort, tranquility and amazingly comfortable beds. I'm planning to visit again in June for business and Apex Waterloo is my preferred choice. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Room Tip: Request for a room with a view on a higher floor. Preferably a day or two PRIOR to your arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTraveler1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hotel is by a nice breakfast place towards Princes street, the Howies restaurant up the street which has a great lunch menu.
There is a mall and movie theater on Leith street and all the shops you can dream of on Princes street (Primark, M&S and the like)
Up the street you will find Regent Gardens which overlook the city and is a must see, especially if it is sunny. You just have to go over the north bridge, with a nice view of the city and 5 italian restaurants!, to get to the touristic Royal Mile with the Castle, the Palace, the church, lots of restaurants and tourist shops.
The train station is also very close (but you don't hear anything as it is below)
The hotel itself looks new, you get free wifi, AC, a big TV, hairdryer and iron, tea, kettle and biscuits and a big shower room. We haven't tried the gym and the swimming pool but they are complimentary as well.
The reception desk is very helpful. Great stay!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank cmdpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,687 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $112 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing