We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Excellent location and Room.
Beautiful view from Sea Side Rooms.

Excellent location and Room.
Beautiful view from Sea Side Rooms.

Excellent location and Room.
Beautiful view from Sea Side Rooms.

Excellent location and Room.
Beautiful view from Sea Side Rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uzair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,246 - 2,252 of 4,644 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here for two nights on a work trip with a colleague. Lovely hotel, beautiful rooms, happy and helpful staff and very central but peaceful also and great value for money.
Our return flight was booked late in the evening but we finished with work early afternoon. We had planned to do some sightseeing but it was raining, we had bags and wanted to relax. The hotel were very helpful in arranging a late check out and them allowing is to use their spa until we were ready to leave. This I thought was kind enough but as I checked out ready to spend the next few hours in the spa one of the managers very generously told me they had an empty room and offered it to is to use free of charge until we were ready to leave for our flight. This I thought was extremely kind and generous. We decided to stay in the spa but I was really impressed with this customer care and would definitely recommend this place and go there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kismat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here from Friday 21st - Monday 24th March for our first wedding anniversary and couldnt have chosen a better place to stay. We were checked in by lovely staff to be told that our room had been upgraded due to our special stay what a lovely touch. The room was spacious and clean and could not have asked for more. The breakfast was exceptional with so much choice you were spoilt. It was very central to everything, 10 mins walk to the castle and 5-10 mins walk to Holyrood House Palace. We had such an amazing time and will definately be back to this hotel on our next visit to Edinburgh which hopefully wont be too long away!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riri2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were so looking forward to our stay at The Waterloo but due to an IT problem we had been double booked. The hotel is right smack bang in the city centre, which was perfect for us but when we found out about the mix up between the booking company and the hotel, no one seemed to care and left us the short time we had to try and sort it out. Really poor quality service. The hotel is lovely and super clean, though. I would of used this hotel again but was just so disappointed with their lack of help.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bleaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I had a room on the 10th floor with very cool slanted walls with windows that are embedded deep into the wall. My view overlooked ancient towers and the beautiful hillside. The only complaint I have about the room is that the thermostat is set at 21°C which I find a bit too cool for my taste.
The room is well-equipped with the hot water kettle, a refrigerator, and a safe. It also has all the other standard amenities you would expect in a nice modern hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Georgia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I took my mum for a few days away and thought this hotel was perfect. Whilst we didnt use the spa so cant comment on that the hotel rooms was perfect - just a city room so no view to speak of but who sits in a room all day - it was a very warm, clean and comfortable room. Breakfast was lovely. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. As for the location it was perfect, 2 minutes walk from Waverley Station, right next to Princes Street and was only a 5 minute walk from Edinburgh Play house.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ozzy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at the Apex Waterloo Place for my daughter's 10th Birthday. The staff made our stay a very memorable one even making her a beautiful birthday cake. The staff are so very helpful and polite, I wouldn't think twice of recommending this hotel and will revisit again this summer. We stayed in a Deluxe Room on the 10th floor, what a lovely room with fantastic views of Edinburgh. Some great little touches with the nice Elemis products and jelly beans, pringles.
Location of this Hotel couldn't be better it's close to everything, especially the train station, which is a 2 minute walk exiting at Calton Road. We ate in the hotel in the evening and the meal/service was very good. The full Scotish breakfast was also excellent.

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,690 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $112 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing