We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel with the best staff in the heart of Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“The best hotel with the best staff in the heart of Edinburgh”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

What can I say... I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this hotel. And what sets it apart for the rest? The staff.
Nothing is too much trouble, everyone is welcoming and friendly and nothing is too much trouble... honestly!
Site reception is clean and bright, the bar is cosy and relaxing. The standard rooms are nice, newly refurbished and all the rooms have tea making facilities with easy to use kettles without fiddly cords. You can make fresh coffee in your own room with clever little coffee filters. The complementary toiletries are Elemis. The beds are super comfortable. I have stayed over a dozen times and have yet to find a less than favourable room. In the superior rooms, the baths free-standing and deep, perfect for a long leisurely soak. There's even a rubber duck you can take home if you wish! There are little touches as well in both standard and superior rooms, such as complementary water, both still and sparkling. And the breakfast?!!!!! Wow. The eggs benedict and the scrambled eggs are great, but my favourite? The banana bread - made fresh every morning, just perfect with a cup of their filtered coffee. I just wish they had take-away cups so I could take the coffee to work as it knocks the socks off Starbucks! Great place, great hotel, superb staff.

Room Tip: Get breakfast. Upgrade to a superior if you love a good soak in a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grainneoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,472
    1,448
    301
    81
    26
See reviews for
723
2,172
201
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
259 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

If you are staying here, PLEASE take the time to call and inquire what room you have been assigned! If you are on floors 5 or above, you are fine. Your room will be spacious, have all the amenities and have light and/or views from the windows. BUT....if you are in a room on 4th floor or lower (the hotel is built into a hill so 4 or lower is below ground), not only will your room be small and dark, it even lacks amenities provided on upper floors! FOR THE SAME PRICE!!! We were initially given a room on the 3rd floor (for $300/nt.). Small, dark with one window overlooking a brick wall with a handicap bathroom (whereby the entire floor gets soaked when the shower is on) that was not requested. I called and asked for a new room and as was told, "Sorry, everyone has checked in for the night already." What the heck does that mean? It was a Wednesday night and they were not full -- she just didn't feel like going to any trouble. After stewing for about it for one night, the next morning I approached the front desk, informed them the trip was a surprise for my daughter's 18th birthday and conveyed my disappointment in our room. This employee was much more helpful and, lo and behold, a new room was found. This one on the 5th floor. Bright, spacious and here is the list of amenities the 5th floor has that the 3rd does not (for the same price): terry cloth robes, full length mirror, radio/alarm clock & additional toiletries. Does not seem like much, but why is there any difference at all? Lower rooms are not cheaper. Basically -- you will be treated like a prince if given a high floor number and a pauper if given a lower floor room.

Furthermore, while the location was okay, if I was going to Edinburgh again, I would definitely want to be nearer the action -- look for somewhere on the Royal Mile. This hotel is actually sort of on the outskirts of where all the fun is. And if you are looking to save money, the chain hotel next door (maybe Travelodge?) was better value than the pathetic 3rd floor room we were originally given.

Room Tip: The higher up you go, the more value you will get for your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Codeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake district
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We chose the hotel due to its superb location. It's seconds from Waverley, a minute from Princes Street and about 5 minutes to the Playhouse Theatre. It's also very close to North Bridge giving easy access to the Old Town/Royal Mile etc.
We only had breakfast there, but that was excellent and the bar was comfortable. We were told the bar was 24 hours, but when we returned late that evening it was all shut up and we were told drinks could be served in your room - not the same thing!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LakeDistrictRolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duram
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful modern hotel just minutes from princess street. Quality breakfast. Lovely room. Elimiss toiletries. Large t.v. comfy bed. Large shower. Pool, jacuzzi, gym, sauna and steam room. Attentive staff that went the extra mile with ballons, chocolates, goodies and banner as it was my 50th birthday. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank hinney911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Fantastic hotel. Extremely good customer service, everyone very friendly. Great location. Great rooms. Big hotel but nice and quiet.
Its a shame that there was a certain amount of maintenance going on during my stay though (steam room wasn;t working too) but overall fantastic

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snodnod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I believe the hotel is good value for money.

The location is at the east end of the City, although very central, far enough away from everything to not be disturbed from a good nights sleep.

There is an adequate gym with steam (not working on our stay) and sauna, with a small swimming pool.

The bar area is a little sole less and although we did not eat in the restaurant, the menu looked fine.

I would recommend Leo's Beanery for some great breakfast and Castle Terrace for a fine dining experience. We also went to Jamie's for brunch which was up to his usual standards with a varied selection.

Overall better than the average mark, although not sure it was "good".

To sum up, value for money in a good location.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible as the hotel is on a slope so some rooms on lower floors are actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fussey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to be bought a weekend away in Edinburgh by our children. We stayed in the Apex which is ideally situated close to the railway station and not far from all the sights. The hotel is spotless and the staff are excellent. Linda on the information desk was so helpful! Our room wasn't large but tastefully decorated and the bathroom was beautiful. The bed was so comfortable and the pillows were to die for. All in all a wonderful weekend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank skippy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,307 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing