We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel is located very central to Old town and New town. All the major attractions were in easy walking distance. If you are doing any type of tours the pick up points are close by as well. We took the bus from the airport, very easy to do and the walk to the hotel was less than 8 minutes. The beds are very comfortable and the service was great! Very quite at night and the amenities they offer are very nice. We had dinner twice in the restaurant and the food was quite delicious and the wait staff was wonderful. We also took advantage of their bar area and again the service was great. Highly recommend this hotel due to its location and price. You just cannot beat it. I will certainly stay here again on my next travels.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,299 - 2,305 of 4,644 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

The hotel is in a great location for a walking tourist in Edinburgh, located just at the bottom Princes Street.

The hotel itself is very modern, and generally feels quite fresh and new, which is something that appeals to me at least.

We opted for a junior suite and found it to be very well equipped and pretty spacious. However, considering this room is two levels above the standard room, i did wonder how much smaller the basic room must be...? Again, the bathroom had ample space and the shower was fantastic.

The staff are very courteous and helpful, exactly what you would expect in a good 4 star hotel. The same goes for the bar staff.

We did however think that the breakfast at £15 per head, was expensive (£60 for two mornings breakfast for two seems like a lot to me!!) and so we eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConzoMuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend and we were not disappointed. The room was stylish and spacious, with a large bathroom. Lots of little extras were provided in the room - bath robes, Elemis spa toiletries, Jelly Belly beans, Pringles, biscuits, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, still and sparkling water etc. The room even came with a complimentary rubber duck to take home! The hotel is ideally situated and very convenient if you are travelling via train - there is even an entrance to the hotel from Edinburgh Waverley station.
We made the most of the spa facilities during our stay and both treated ourselves to a relaxing treatment at Yu Spa. The spa facilities were adequate, but there is only a small pool, so this may not suit you if you're a keen swimmer. I was slightly disappointed that there wasn't a separate jacuzzi hot tub. However, the sauna and steam are perfectly nice, and the pool does have a jacuzzi end.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrs_CC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I decided to opt for the Apex Waterloo Hotel after expploring numerous other options in the area and was not disappointed.

Even though I arrived several hours before check in time, I was given a room on the third floor which also had the leisure centre, so bonus there. The front desk staff were very friendly and informative. An unusual feature of this hotel is that because it is built on a hill, the entrance to it is actually the fifth floor.

The room was spacious and tastefully decorated with tea and coffee facilities, a room safe, iron and ironing board and a wonderful writing bureau. The bed was big and comfy and the tv had a decent selection of channels including some premium sports channels. The bathroom again was oversized, bright and airy with a shower and a large separate bath which included a rubber duckie! The only thing missing was a couple of bathrobes and slippers.

Breakfast was included with the deal I had booked (on Alpharooms.com) and your hot items are served to your table. The selection of cereals, breads, pastries, etc were not overly abundant but what was available was decent and probably reflected the most popular choices. A hot breakfast is priced at £15 so check around to see which deals include breakfast.

The leisure centre is located on the 3rd floor and the changing rooms have lockers (which require a returned £1 coin) and your room key is required to gain entry. There are plenty of towels supplied so no need to bring anything from the room. There is a sauna, steam room and a nice pool, very relaxing after a day seeing the sights of Edinburgh.

The only negatives that I could mention would be that the room had no view and the window did not open but this wasn't a huge issue for me. Also, I could not get any mobile phone reception in the room. Other than that, you will not go wrong with this hotel and I would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rjoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Spent 3 nights here in January and was a perfect short break. The hotel is in an excellent position at the east end of Princess Street and a short walk to the train station. On arrival we were met by very friendly staff at reception who gave us information on the city. Our room was specious and very clean with a large bed and a mini fridge with water, tea/coffee making facilities, biscuits,Pringles and jelly beans! The bathroom was lovely with a large walk in shower and desperate bath tub complete with complimentary rubber duck! Would love to return next time we visit the city.

Room Tip: Get a superior city room for extra room space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HSwindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

we stayed at weekend for 2 nights and from start to finish we found the staff first class
the room 707 was a superior and very well appointed the only thing we thought was missing was a towel hook for shower but we found everything else perfect
the best sleep we have had at any hotel we have stayed at no loud doors / people talking loud when returning from a night out
breakfast we great. choice was very good food and plates were very hot service quick and professional
tip if you arrive by train exit the train station at platform 2 [ there is a lift if you have a large case ]
when you exit station walk under bridge and there is a door on right hand side press buzzer and take lift to 5 floor it took us 2 mins to get to hotel for station
hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ELLY3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and had a really lovely relaxing time.
The hotel is just 5 minutes walk from Waverley train station and near the shopping area
And sights.
The room was not huge but big enough with a large flat screen t.v. Very comfortable beds
Tea coffee making facilities a huge bath and walk in shower with nice toiletries and large fluffy towels. The heating in the room was very good so we were nice and toasty
It even had an iron and ironing board.
We did not have breakfast or eat in the hotel but we did have a drink in the bar
Which was small but adequate.
The spa looked good and the treatments sounded nice.
Overall we could not fault the hotel and will definitely stay there again when we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aziza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,690 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $112 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing