We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Great central location, 5 minute walk from waverly bridge where the airport express drops off. Easy walking distance from Old and New town parts of Edinburgh.
Breakfast was superb on both mornings, staff were very polite and helpful.
Pool was nice to relax in after a full day of walking around Edinburgh. I must mention the bar staff were great, they seemed to really enjoy making the cocktails and chatting to patrons, added to the nice atmosphere in the bar. Our room was of high quailty and we didn't hear a single noise from either inside or outside the hotel. Slept very well and both my partner and I are light sleepers. Two Apex hotels now visited and two great stays.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyAlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,497
    1,466
    309
    82
    28
See reviews for
733
2,193
204
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel after reading good reviews
Booked a master suite room 8562 which was on 8th floor please be aware that this room has a large heating /ventilation unit outside the bedroom window so you have no view from the bedroom and it is very noisy through the night.
On arrival check in was completed quickly I had requested that as this was a surprise xmas present for my girlfriend then any upgrade/special touches would be appreciated unfortunately none was forthcoming on checking in.
The room was cold on arrival and took a long time to warm up which was not the best start to our stay,
Also found that the heating in the room was noisy when switched on and did not assist in a good nights sleep.room felt stuffy.
Swimming pool was ok but felt that it was rather dank and a little on the small size not helped by other users throwing ball about like idiots !
No staff seen in the
Leisure area ,steam room sauna very nice changing rooms very clean
We did not eat in the hotel as we ate out and found lovely Italian restaurant nearby for breakfast at a far more realistic price the hotel wanted £15 each for breakfast
Unfortunately my girlfriend suffered from an upset stomach during our stay which spoilt the weekend.
Overall a nice hotel staff seemed pleasant but avoid room 8562.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank david3169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed overnight at the Waterloo on 10th January. My friend and I were going to see The Lion King and decided to have an overnight at the same time. Hotel is an ideal location, no more than a 5 minute walk from Waverley Train Station, around 10 minutes for the Playhouse and minutes from the busy Princes Street for shopping. The hotel was very comfortable, we had a standard twin room, spacious with large TV, plenty of wardrobe space, safe, tea and coffee making and a lovely bathroom with a large walk in shower. We opted for breakfast at a cost of £10 each, a good selection of cereals, yoghurt, breads and croissants as well as a good range of cooked items which included full breakfast, omelettes, eggs benedict etc, tea, coffee and fruit juice - think you'd be hard pressed to get a better deal in Edinburgh. Staff were extremely helpful, once we mentioned we were going to the Playhouse we were shown the 'quick' way and saved us a good five minutes. As we live in Glasgow we'd usually do Edinburgh in a day trip, however if ever we were doing a theatre break again we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Waterloo and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed on level 5, no problem with noise.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandielou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed for two nights last weekend in a standard double to celebrate my husbands birthday. I lived in Edinburgh for 5 years and know it very well, so was confident the location would be good. Minutes from railway station, shops, restaurants, cinema and Playhouse. Also easy access to Carlton Hill and the High Street for a walk on Sunday. Lovely room - no view but totally quiet. Huge bath, great shower and copious hot water. Lovely toiletries. Pool was small but adequate for a bit of exercise. Great Turkish bath (sauna was only heating up when we went in at 9am but looked good). Lots of towels and all very clean. Breakfast - not as good as the one in the Apex City of London but OK. Staff all very pleasant and helpful. Good secure ticket system for holding the bags. Would definitely use this again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paros81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in December for a bit of a Christmassy break.
The location of this hotel is very good, you can walk to the castle, the Royal Mile - just over the bridge as well as Princes St and George St.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The room wasn't as big as I expected it to be but the bed was very comfy and bigger than a King Size I think!
Facilities, including the breakfast we had in the restaurant were very good, clean and the towels were changed daily and the bed was made which was nice.
The spa is quite small but still worth a visit, with a steam room, sauna, pool and clean towels to use down there also.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsmith91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel is located at the west end of Princes Street (the quiet end) short walking distances from the Waverly Station, Colton Hill, The Playhouse Theatre and the National Gallery. Parking is in the Omni multi storey for which a reduction on the cost will be given upon request at the hotel reception. The hotel reception lobby is bright and the staff are very helpful. Getting to your room is via a lift and narrow, low ceilinged passages. However, the rooms are big (high ceilings) and everything in them is large:- bed, TV(42inch), bath, shower and fluffy towels. There is a very good supply of toiletries (quite a selection) and a fridge with complementary bottles of water. There is no mini-bar (good) but there is room service at bar prices (plus £2.50 charge per order). Coffee and tea making facilities are very good (first hotel room I've been in with complementary Pringles!). Whilst our room overlooked Princes Street, the sound proofing was very good. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is self-serve continental, but the full cooked breakfasts are ordered through the very helpful waiters and waitresses (haggis and blackpudding - what more could you want). The eggs benedict was great (so my wife says). Although we did not try the spa, the swimming pool water was warm. I cannot fault this hotel except for the bar, which was relatively small for the size of hotel and the barmen were oblivious to queues (they seemed to serve the closest to them - so barge in!). There were many good bars a short walk away, so no loss.

Room Tip: Negotiate for an upgrade, or price reduction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent the weekend in a stylish family room on a great value dinner, bed and breakfast rate. Very professional and friendly staff at all times (nothing was too much trouble). Loved the location as easy to walk everywhere especially the Playhouse Theatre where we went to see the Lion King.

Our room was spacious, comfortable and had lots of nice little touches (like the ducks and free snacks). We thoroughly enjoyed our two course pre-theatre dinner and our cooked breakfast the following morning. I would however point out that the continental breakfast alone was not worth the charge. A major bonus for us was that children under 12 eat and drink for free in the hotel as long as the adults are doing the same. Our daughter made use of the swimming pool and although it was small many guests took advantage of this facility.

We would definitely return and it is not often that we say that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bosker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,025 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing