We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #35 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, CA
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location and room”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Clean and quiet room with coffee/tea. Staff was very helpful. Great location to train station. If you are a train traveler with luggage, this is such a convenient location, second to the Balmoral Hotel but you'll pay for it. We stayed on the third floor in a superior king with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the street. There's a small pub a few doors down that serves great beer for a small price, a nice place to people watch after a long day of site-seeing. Calton Hill park up the street too. Definitely would recommend this hotel. For lunch/dinner: Queens Arm pub was fantastic both times. For a tasty hot sandwich and homemade soup, Caffe Espresso on Bank Street. Order the #9 sandwich, "it's life changing". Kitchin for a Michelin star meal you'll not soon forget. Check out the subterranean jazz club, The Jazz Bar on Chambers Street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MissIvNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,553
    1,502
    315
    87
    31
See reviews for
763
2,235
210
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Excellent location, friendly staff, rooms clean and well maintained. Breakfast is standard cold buffet and choice of cooked breakfasts. Concierge particularly helpful.
The only thing we could really have a grumble about was the location of the bar next to reception, could sometimes be very noisy, but as we went over the Xmas period, one would have to expect some element of Christmas partying. We stayed in room 1005, which was spacious and well appointed, but the view isn't of the castle.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregory w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, Arbroath
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2013

No faults everything as expected stayed a couple of nights very convenient for the playhouse and St James shopping center breakfast a little over priced but plenty eateries nearby, will be
first option when staying in Edinburgh again

Room Tip: offered to upgrade the room but found the original was just as good if not better than the upgrade,?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harbournights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is an ideal location as it is very close to all of the tourist sights of Edinburgh and Waverley train station is directly in front of it. This meant that on our last morning we had only a ten minute walk from checking out to being seated on our train! However, because of the way it is set on a hill there was no noise from the station at all and it had very little road noise as it is well insulated.
As I visited at Christmas shopping time I found it ideally placed to visit lots of great shops and be close enough to drop bags back at the room before setting off again.
The room was fairly spacious with a double ended bath and shower with little extras like fro water, a coffee machine and free wifi. The staff were very helpful, giving spot on recommendations for dinner and good places to visit within a few steps of the hotel.
I intend to return soon with my teenage daughters!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al1Stockton_on_Tees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night during the festive period. The room and bathroom are lovely. Rooms have all the comforts, large tv, ironing faciltiies etc. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great with plenty to choose from. Only 5 minutes walk from train station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylieclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Went for 3 nights for birthday celebration. On arrival met by very friendly staff who upgraded us to a superior room as a birthday treat. Good start! Room had everything we needed and the comfiest huge bed ever. Didn,t want for anything. Had spa treatments and used all facilities, everything most enjoyable. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy6351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in December and were really impressed. For $414AUD for the 3 nights we felt it was a bargain for what we got - I booked the cheapest double room available.
Huge bed, small lounge, few chairs and storage, also a big bathroom with a nice deep bath. We got lovely toiletries including eye cream, temple cream and lip balm! Also in the room was bottled water (still and sparkling) Pringles, jellybeans, biscuits, tea, coffee & hot chocolate which was all complimentary.
Everything was very clean ad the bed was comfortable.
It was my husbands birthday so I emailed them to let them know and they left some chocolates and a card in the room for when we arrived.
I requested a room in floor 5 or above also as the others don't have views I believe. (We stayed in room 509) We used the gym and it was also good.
The location was great for us, a short 5-10mins walk from the train station (easy to do with bags) and easy to walk to all the attractions.
Our only "complaints" was that it was a bit chilly in the bathroom and a heat light would have been nice, and my husband didn't like the pillows (but I did!) and I wouldn't really class them as reasons not to stay in a hotel!
Definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amzc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,128 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,467 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,812 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing