We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bunie Tasmania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great place to stay. We spent 3 nights while we attended the tattoo and this was the best hotel we stayed at while in the UK and Ireland for 6 weeks. The staff were magnificent,the food excellent and the room had everything including a small fridge and air con (Other British Hotels please note). We are already looking at returning to Edinburgh and when we do we will be booking at this wondeful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,502
    1,472
    309
    82
    28
See reviews for
736
2,197
206
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Well where do I start with the excellent experience I had staying and marrying at the Apex in Waterloo place. From my first visit and encounter with the wedding coordinator the service from all the staff was positive and top marks especially to Jennifer and Niall who ensured the day went as flawless as it did. The room we stayed in the night before was amazing, the little personal touches added to our stay along with the huge comfy bed to the huge bath and walk in shower. The room service couldn't do enough, even coming up within minutes when we were in desperate need of scissors! The breakfast next morning was top class and had a selection of everything from continental to full English, the waiter was superb and treated my little girl like a princess. The morning of the wedding was chaotic and yet again staff were on hand to lend a hand, the room was big enough for a wedding party of 11 and make up and hair artists!....the heated mirror in the bathroom was a godsend!...the wedding ceremony room and wedding meal room were set up even better than I could imagine, the ceremony ran so smoothly and the room looked amazing. The food was delicious and the staff went out their way to accommodate everyone, nothing was too much trouble. The overall experience was just beyond what I had imagined from start to finish, I cant highly recommend this place enough. Cant wait to spend every anniversary here from now on! We all really appreciated the hard work put into organizing our day so well and every guest had nothing but great reviews also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummymummy031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very nice and the staff on reception and in the 'spa' were lovely. As we're the waiting staff in the restaurant. My complaint was about the 'spa'. It is not a 'spa'!!!
It is a hotel with a pool, steam room, sauna and treatment rooms!!
A spa should have robes, slippers and most importantly a quiet or relaxation room... At the very least somewhere to sit. After treatments to go back to the changing room was a poor show!
The treatments were lovely and therapist very good. There are only 2 chairs outside the treatment room and it is beyond me how they could cater for hen weekends or indeed any more than 3 people.
While I did enjoy my day I was very let down by the fact I though I was going to a 'spa'. As there are plenty of 'spas' in edinburgh.
A Higgins

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent 4 nights here for our honeymoon. Staff was wonderful and made our stay special. Rooms were nice, bar and restaurant were also very good. Great location in the heart of the city, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for one night to celebrate her birthday in Edinburgh. The hotel is very close to Waverly Station which is great. The hotel room/bathroom were both lovely and comfortable and staff were very helpful. Our breakfast was excellent, with lots of choice. The only minor negative comment to make is that the apple juice at breakfast tasted watered down! My daughter really enjoyed her pancakes with bacon and maple syrup.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy_Dave966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here as it was central and had good facilities. The staff were excellent and our room was ready even though we were early. Nice room with plenty of space, clean and well catered for. The view was nothing special as we were at the rear of the hotel but that didn't matter. The staff were excellent and looked after us very well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel old on the outside new on the inside .All the staff very friendly and helpful .It is in easy walking distance of centre of town.If you are arriving by train very near the main train station .A lot of the main shops are near by .Edinburgh has a good Taxi service .The hotel has an excellent restaurant .

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timbo756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,038 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing