We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in Edinbirgh. It is an extension of the big street, Princes St, but there is very little traffic and crowds. It is also very close to the Royal Mile. Great location!
The hotel itself is clean, modern, and very accommodating. We got in very early from a cruise, and they called me as soon as my room was ready. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherigreenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,542 - 2,548 of 4,644 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was in Edinburgh on business trip,
the hotel was great, good location, and nice service staff. Breackfest was sightly disappointing but all in all it was a good stay. I am visiting Edinburgh ocesionaly on business trip, and I will definitely visit agin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights here. Very nice, clean, modern hotel with friendly and attentive staff at front desk and concierge. Check in and check out were a breeze, and they kindly granted us a late checkout when we asked.

Hotel location is very convenient. Only a 10 min walk to the castle or to Princes Street shopping area and only couple of blocks from the train station. Very safe to walk late at night. Taxi from the airport to the hotel was about 27 pounds.

Room was a decent size with nice décor. We stayed in a standard double room. Bathroom was nice with a shower (no tub) with very good water pressure. Two things about the room - no clock and only two plugs – not enough to charge all our electronics. Also the lighting in the bathroom was not good for makeup application. There was a mirror for makeup in the room which was good for daylight but for evenings lighting was not very good. Complimentary in-room Wi-fi was convenient, although at times it did not work in some parts of the room – moving around solved the issue.

Breakfast was good – a continental breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, cereals, cold cuts and breads and an a la carte menu – we tried the eggs. Service was prompt. Our server Mike from Slovakia was particularly kind and very friendly.

There is a small swimming pool, gym, wet and dry sauna with locker rooms which was nice to get the exhaustion out of the long trip.

We recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vero_PK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Location and personal service were great but we felt the rooms were very average. The wifi never worked properly and the lobby was small. Groups use this hotel and there wasn't enough room to accommodate all of the guests waiting for transfers. Breakfast was very expensive- much better to walk down the road and eat in a local place. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was down one level from the lobby and felt very confined.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joaniecf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

stayed for holiday-upgraded to really luxurious room, wonderful views, fantastic location. very comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, and the best aspect was the staff- without exception friendly, helpful, efficient. An excellent base in Edinburgh, and I'd love to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed at the Apex Waterloo Place with my sister over the August bank holiday weekend for the Fringe Festival. The location of the hotel is excellent, just past the North Bridge and handy to the bus/rail links on Waverley Bridge.
From the minute we arrived at the hotel the staff could not do enough for us. We received a warm, friendly welcome from the reception staff and our room was well appointed and clean.
The "yours to keep" rubber duck in the bathroom was a lovely touch too.
We were on a bed and breakfast basis and the staff in the dining room were superb. Pretty much anything you wanted would be provided quickly and without fuss. The waiting staff were extremely attentive, always greeted us with a cheery hello and a warm smile. The housekeeping staff also provided a great service, the Elemis toiletries were replenished regularly as were the tea/coffee and complimentary bottled water. I would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to my friends and family. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allergicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Only few minutes from the train station and all attractions in Edinburgh.
Friendly and helpful staff always cheerful.
Habeeb at the front desk always had a charming smile and was very courteous.
Young ladies at the reception were also very good.
Gary the concierge helped find our way around town and booked our tour to Lochness and the Highlands.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KapoorIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,690 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $112 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing