We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable edinburgh trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

my husband and i stayed at the apex waterloo place to celebrate our wedding anniversary. the staff were very helpful, gave us an early check in and upgraded our room. the room was lovely with a great view down the length of princes street. the bed was really comfi, the room was well furnished and the bathroom was clean and bright with elemis toiletries. the breakfast was very enjoyable and there was a great choice, service is excellent.
because we booked directly with the hotel we were given a ten pound voucher to use in the hotel, this came in handy at the bar.
we enjoyed the spa area which was very quiet at the time we used it, the pool is big enough to enjoy a decent swim, my husband enjoyed the gym which is small but well equipped.
for us, the location was perfect which was a factor in the booking, it's near to the station and within easy walking distance of lots of shopping, bars, restaurants and sights
overall a great place to stay and i will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,001 - 3,007 of 4,644 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

The bed is very comfortable and the room very light and airy. The bathroom was not quite as grand because there was some grout missing from between the tiles. The shower would not keep its temperature going first hot then cool.
The staff were lovely and they made us very welcome. We only ate breakfast so can only comment on that; it was good. There was a lot on offer and the staff waited on us well.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a little luxury in the centre of a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Nice clean hotel, great location close to the station,
Good bed, nice linen. Friendly and efficient staff.

Room service was very good, ate it two nights.
Breakfast was very nice too.

Not too much else to say really, Edinburgh is great and this is a great Edinburgh hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZallyZally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at The Apex Waterloo. We have previously stayed at the Apex International on Grassmarket which was also excellent.
The room was very nice although we were a bit disappointed that the large amount of spare space was filled with a table and chairs rather than more relaxed type seating.
The location was great - very close to some lovely cafes and restaurants - the pep and fodder on waterloo place or the urban angel in broughton were good places for breakfast.
The bar was a very nice place to have a pre dinner drink (especially as it was free with the £10 voucher).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Lovely hotel with a perfect location. All staff were very helpful and mannerly, the food was excellent in the restaurant and a lovely breakfast. thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would gladly make a return visit

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Apex Waterloo is in a great location. It's handy for the Royal Mile and for shopping and restaurants and bars on George Street. It can be a little noisy on the road side but the rooms are a good size and nice and bright. Spookily, we were given the same room as our previous visit ! Staff are friendly and welcoming. We didn't try the restaurant but did try the bar and found it a little soulless. The gym is small but adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here on 1st March for 3 nights. Its the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We could not fault anything at all. We stayed in a superior double, room 1017, and could not believe the little extras we got. The bathrobes were comfy and warm, bottled water in the fridge, a packet of gourmet jelly beans, Elemis bath products and of course the Apex rubber duck :)!! The bed was huge and so comfortable. I didnt want to leave and will definitely be returning to your fabulous hotel next time we are in Edinburgh!! Thank you again so much for everything :D!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotteW89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,690 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $112 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing