We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again but........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #32 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by friendly, pleasant staff who provided key card and wifi code for room. No £10 voucher was provided even though this was booked directly through the Apex website. Room was comfortable with nice big bed and adequate room to move about in. We did not use the bath or walk in shower as there was body hairs belonging to the previous occupants so decided to use the showers down at the swimming pool instead after we had our swim. Would have liked to have used the shower however did not feel it was my job to be cleaning a shower that I did not use. Not a nice view looking out of the window however this was not really an issue as did not spend a great deal in the room. Went for afternoon tea which was great not loads to eat but was very filling and staff that attended to us were very polite and friendly we also had the dining room to ourselves. Went for a swim on the day of arriving and on the day of departure and we also had this to ourselves, my daughter really loved the pool, nice soft towels to use afterwards and Elemis toiletries to get washed with. Could not wait for an enjoyable sleep after a long night and used the black out curtains, however was woken at about 7 with doors banging in the corridor this went on to about 8.30 so did not get a long lie before our journey home. All in all the hotel is nice but needs a few tweaks with cleanliness in bathroom and try to get some sort of door closure to prevent banging of doors.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnlovesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,998 - 3,004 of 4,551 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel could not be better placed for ease of access from Waverley railway station (our preferred means of travel from London), and its proximity to the city centre and other forms of transport is ideal, whether one is in Edinburgh for business or leisure. The hotel is very comfortable, where the un-stuffy, but highly professional, staff are welcoming and efficient. The quality of the furnishings, the high standard of food, and the added touches such as free WIFI all make for a relaxing and easy stay. Finally, the tariffs represent excellent value for money, for such a well-placed and friendly property.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulineVenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Overall excellent value. Perfect location to enjoy the sights of Edinburgh. Very comfortable and spacious room, courteous and helpful staff (even cheerful!). I also liked the restaurant for their early special deals and food quality

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

On our first trip to Scotland me and my husband stayed at this hotel for three nights. The rooms where tidy and clean. The staff was helpfull and friendly. I would definetly recommend this hotel for peple coming to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Took my Six year old Daughter to the APEX Waterloo place for the weekend and i'd go back any time,Staff were great with kids,Service was good and everyone was very friendly,The hotel is near enough to just about everything,Great weekend M OConnor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a winter long weekend in Edinburgh at this Aprex hotel, one of several Apex venues in the City, and the best-rated. It is well located just off the end of Princes Street, so it was convenient for the station, Castle, Royal Mile and many other tourist attractions on foot. We also found the buses easy to use - to and from the airport and to Leith where we visited The Royal Yacht Britannia - a must-see. The hotel is a recent conversion of an old building and it has been well done. It was chic, with a good restaurant and excellent breakfasts - cooked to order but with swift service. There is a leisure centre and spa, both good. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, going to some lengths to assist us with tourist advice and so on. A first-class base for visiting a lovely City.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pm46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We came to visit our daughter who lives in Edinburgh and have visited the locality many times although not this hotel before. The service was excellent with a man at a desk on reception whose sole job was just to show you where to go and how to get there. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice of food, again excellent service and a bright airy room to eat it in. Our bedroom was large clean and comfortable and so was the bathroom.
The only downside was that the room was not warm. They did provide us with a heater when we complained but the bathroom was still cold.
The swimming-pool was not large but we enjoyed our swim in it.
The location was very good, near the station, very near Prince's Street and within walking distance of loads of good restaurants , shops and tourist attractions.
Overall an excellent stay and we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,595 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,884 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $115 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing