We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My sister and I stayed for a couple nights at Apex Waterloo Hotel. We loved it! Very charming hotel in a great location. Right across from the train station (which is what we took in and out of London). We loved Scotland! People were very friendly. The hotel is very different - our room was underground. Neat experience and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,449 - 3,455 of 4,889 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel itself is lovely and perfectly located for walking to everything from the train station, Edinburgh Castle and shopping. Our only issue was we happened to be staying at the hotel during "the worst storm they've had in 20 years during the month of September". We awoke our second night at 2 am to a leak from one of the pot lights. They moved us to a "superior room" which was smaller, located on the lower level at the back of the hotel, across from a loud bar, loading dock and garbage bins. After a sleepless night we complained at the front desk about the "superior room" and upon our return to the hotel later that afternoon they had moved us into a larger executive suite. The weather caused issues for a few other guests but the hotel managed to handle the situation very well. We definitely would stay there again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMissGiggles75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Apex Waterloo Place for the second year whilst attending a dinner in Edinburgh. This is a great hotel in a great location - rooms are really nice and we were lucky enough to be on the top floor with great views over Edinburgh. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble. Have also stayed at the Apex Hotels in London and they are equally as good so would recommend Apex to anyone wanting a good value hotel in a City Centre.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rulebritannia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel before and found the service to be good, however I was booked recently and had to cancel due to a bereavement in the family. I couldn't get my money back, however they did say that I could change the date for a £20 admin fee. When I called them to change the date they charged me an extra £45 as they said the cost had went up. I pointed out the room was the same rate on the site I originally booked it, and they said there was nothing they could do as that was the rate they had.
I'm disappointed as I gave the hotel notice that I could not make the original date. I would have thought the hotel would have a system in place for cancellations outwith your control.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a city break to do the tourist things, the Parliament, Castle, Princes Street. etc. The hotel is ideally situated for all of these and we were lucky to get 2 lovely, dry days to make the most of our stay. On arrival, there seemed to be a problem checking us in and we had to wait while computer problems were sorted. However, the reception staff were welcoming and apologised for the wait. We were allocated a room on the 3rd floor which is actually 2 floors below reception. The problem with this became clear when we looked out the bedroom window to see a brick wall a few feet in front of us. I didn't realise until then that there is something really depressing about looking out a window at a brick wall - we chose the only other option which was to keep the curtains closed for the duration of our stay. This meant we didn't see what the weather was like until we went upstairs for breakfast in the mornings (even drawing the curtains back you couldn't see if the sun was shining or if it was raining as the wall was so close). Also, during the night we were aware of a noise which seemed to be coming from ducts which ran up the wall at the side of the window. We ate in Elliot's restaurant on the 2nd night of our stay and the food was really lovely - we had eaten in the Witchery the night before and Elliot's was definitely better value for money. If it hadn't been for the depressing sight and noise from outside our window I would have given the Apex a 'very good' rating. Thankfully, the weather was good and we didn't spend much time in the room.

Room Tip: As reception is on the 5th floor (street level) I would request a room on a higher floor to try and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTMagwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here. Set in the shell of a traditional stone Edinburgh facade is this modern almost minimalist hotel. One of a group of eight hotels developed by a local family (different members doing the architecture, design and photographic art) there is a nice sense of homogenous style about the whole place, even fun. Although there are over 180 rooms it is boutique-like in atmosphere and design thanks to its discrete vertical shape. If you like unfussy John Lewis-style furniture, imaginative fittings and luxury bedding you will feel at home here.There is no silly penny pinching but a sense of genuine thoughtful hospitality and decent value for money - upmarket toiletries, to say nothing of the bathtime duck. We found the staff, many young, uniformly polite and efficient with a warm welcome. If you take the guidance of the hotel website it is two minutes walk from the side entrance of Waverley Station: a good enough reason in itself to come back to say 'Hi' to Simian the simian.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank SurreyPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

From swift and very friendly booking in and the help with bags to the room our stay was a complete joy. The hotel is situated a two minute walk from city centre attractions and local transport links. The hotel is bright modern and very nice. Our room was large and comfortable with an excellent bathroom (with bath and shower) The staff were superb, from booking in, to advice on parking,travel and attractions they could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was also a real treat - huge and included haggis! All in all this was a superb short stay. We will be back and I happily reccommend it - you will not be disapointed.

Room Tip: High floors are better. Consider travelling by rail as parking is expensive and public transport is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 373Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $117 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing