We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent downtown hotel. Excellent Service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent downtown hotel. Excellent Service.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent three nights in September 2012. We had originally booked two nights on a City Break package. Shortly before our trip we decided to stay a third night. When we contracted reservations we learned that no more nights could be booked on our original package but they helpfully found another package that was a good value and fit our needs. When we arrived we found that we had been upgraded to deluxe room. Wonderful!

The hotel is in easy walking distance of all downtown attractions. The breakfast is very good with continental buffet or menu service. Front deck, concierge, and bell captain are friendly and helpful. Modern decor in a 100 year old building.

Note: If you are driving, parking is in a garage about 1/2 a block behind the hotel. There is Pay and Display parking on the street in front of the hotel. The garage parking was very reasonable with the hotel discount.

We will happily stay at Apex Waterloo Place again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danb208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,469
    1,446
    301
    81
    26
See reviews for
721
2,169
201
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed in Edinburgh a few times and this has been the best hotel yet, room & hotel was immaculate, staff were genuinely friendly, professional and most helpful! We were given a free upgrade from superior room to a suite, which was fabulous, couldn't fault the rooms, bed was luxuriously made up and so comfy! Breakfast was delicious and was served in our room which added a bit more to the feeling of being catered for instead of just trooping down to a breakfast room. I will not look to go to another hotel on our future visits and would totally recommend without question.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This seems to be one of the best value hotels in Edinburgh. Great location with direct access to the station. Very clean and modern. Large rooms with good facilities - Elemis toiletries, power shower and separate bath complete with rubber duck!

If you book direct, you get a £10 voucher redeemable at the bar.

Staff are very, very helpful and they will happily look after your bags before and after check in.

We had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GallopingLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Really good four star hotel! Big and nice rooms, with both hottub and shower in the bathroom. It is possible to order roomservice and breakfast in bed. It is located in the center of Edinburgh, so you are close to the castle and everything worth seeing in the city.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Super experience at the hotel last week, great location, service was first rate and the rooms extremely well appointed. if anything - albeit very small - I was aware that the wait time at reception was longer than some people might have hoped for when checking out or in - that was not my personal experience though. The bar, restaurant and sauna/pool area are all fabulous too. On the whole its difficult to get better in this price bracket. I would stay again in a flash and recommend wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKMorgan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in March... Absolutely wonderful location, right near the station & Princes Street.

Quick checkin, and although we were in a room near the lifts we never heard any noise during the night.

Didn't have breakfast or dinner at the hotel, so we can't review it.

Can recommend the National Gallery cafe for breakfast - expensive, but so worth it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here on 6/8 and as part of their spa package - which is great value - D&BB including 2 spa treatments for @£135. The room was fairly standard decor wise modern and very clean, comfy beds, huge TV, Elemis products in the bathroom and nice robes & slippers. The hotel is very modern and for our girls away weekend, perfect - unpretentious but stylish bar with a good cocktail menu, a modern Scottish restaurant and nice service. The meal as part of our deal was 3 courses from the pre-theatre menu, however, the main course choices were not anything I would have liked and they let us put the amount towards the ala carte menu - much better. Oddly they had no bottles of house wine? Now we couldn't figure if this was because they had run out (big wedding on at the same time) or if they didn't actually do the house wine by the bottle. So they offered us a limited edition bottle at a higher price? We said that wouldn't be good and they allowed us to choose the next most expensive at the lower price - but it felt like bartering a bit - a bit clunky (and lets face it who likes to be seen as bartering for wine??) Anyway, minor. The hotel is 2 minutes walk from waverly, modern and ideal for a city break - they've got it spot on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotts13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,302 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing