We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My daughter and I stayed for one night at this hotel. We were on a visit to the theatre. Everyone was so helpful and polite. The hotel was better than we anticipated, rooms were immaculate, and breakfast in the restaurant was first class. Would not hesitate to go back

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LENIHowwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,511)
There are newer reviews for Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,149 - 3,155 of 4,511 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had 7 in our family visiting Scotland for the 1st time beginning of September. Had a wonderful time!! Perfect location! Staff was pleasant and very helpful. Rooms were very clean. 24 hour bar was a plus! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A 3 night break by train to Edinburgh, 1st time for me & 1st time in 30+ years for my wife. For this reason we looked for a hotel close to the station. This one fitted the bill, we were there inside 3 minutes from leaving the station. Hotel was faultless. stylish,and clean with helpful staff. It was however very windy & cold (not unusual for Edinburgh so I understand) and for this reason walking around in the evening was not attractive, this hotel was slightly out from the main attractions & once we knew the geography of Edinburgh we found other hotels closer to the main attractions which would have made going out in the evening in the cold less of a chore & more enjoyable. That said the pool, bar & excellent restaurant meant that it was not a hardship staying in, in the evening. During the day location was not an issue

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharltonTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in August. I do not have a negative thing to say. I found the staff on arrival very polite and helpful in giving directions. The room was very clean with an extremely comfortable bed. The little extras like biscuits and drinks in the room were great especially the little sewing kit. The hotel was only 2 minutes walk from the train station and the shops and ten minutes from the royal mile. I would without a doubt stay in this hotel when in Edinburgh next.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Flymeawayplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here, having been overbooked at their Sister hotel...
The location is great, as you're next to the shops and only 5 minutes over the bridge to the castle.
It's in a beautiful old building and is totally funky inside - don't stay here if you don't want 'modern'

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

First things first, the Waterloo Place is a really very nice hotel - the rooms are spacious, comfortable and stylish and the bathrooms even more so. I've stayed here a couple of times previously and it was great on both occasions.

There were a couple of reasons I didn't give it 4 or more stars on this occasion. Firstly, they've changed the menu to nouvelle cuisine since my previous visit - just as well I filled up on crusty bread buns as the portions were tiny!. The tasteless crab ravioli starter at £6.95 was just one regular sized ravioli pouch floating in a clear consomme with a couple of asparagus spears and a few bits of chopped red pepper.

I've eaten at the Apex several times and have always found the food to be very nice and the portions more than adequate, but this was just a joke and unless they ditch the nouvelle cuisine I'll definitely be eating elsewhere next time.

Lastly, it took me and a few others ages to check out, as one of the guys on reception didn't speak great English, couldn't operate the hotel computer system and the printer was playing up.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L4dge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Having not stayed at an Apex hotel before I was a little unsure about how my stay would turn out. In the past I would have stayed at the Hilton, George or Raddisson Blu.

I must say that I was plesently surprised as my stay was excellent, and I don't think I shall stay elsewhere now when visiting Edinburgh central.

The local is perfect, great pub nearby (Cafe Royal), and a short walk to almost everything you need. The service is was very welcoming and swift. My room was on floor 2 (you arrive on floor 5) strange I know. The room was large, with plenty of space if you needed to stay several days. Bathroom was clean, modern and with a walkin shower - very nice.

Breakfast was first rate, again service was swift and the food on offer was fresh and well cooked.

I didn't try the Gym, or Spa or even then bar but they all looked very good.

Will be going back again.

Room Tip: Can only say that the room I had on floor 2 was superb.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrumpmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,531 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,854 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $116 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing