We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel, Couldn't be better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #32 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Couldn't be better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights with my partner. We had a top floor room which was very nicely decorated and quiet. Everything was finished to a good standard, then shower was powerful and there were Elemis toiletries. Nice touch! The location was a 2 minute walk from the station and great for sight seeing.

Staff were all extremely professional and friendly. I didn't eat at the hotel but had drinks in the bar on a couple of occasions and it was lovely.

I'd definitely stay here again and recommend to anybody!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,440
    1,422
    295
    80
    26
See reviews for
709
2,142
195
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights, have to say, everything was excellent, the staff are extremely helpful, the room spotless, and the bar and other areas all match the star rating.

Would stay here again without hesitation, thank you Apex!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stevecentlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Apex Waterloo is a first class hotel, the rooms are very stylish and most important the beds are quite comfortable. They are on the softer side, so if you like your beds firm as the earth, you may not like them. The rooms as well appointed and fairly quiet. Aside from a family that decided to leave to go somewhere and have a very loud conversation about it at 4:00am this morning, it's been quite nice. The desk staff are very helpful and have been able to address every question we've thrown at them. There are a few resturants near by and many more within about 10 minutes walk. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel that will get you to many locations. The rooms have all of the standard amenties you expect, a safe, tea/coffee, iron, t.v., etc, as well as a proponderance of pillows - you'll see what I mean :)

This is not a budget hotel and breakfast is not included, nor is the hotel breakfast cheap. I recommend a nice grilled croissant just down the street at the Fodder and Pog just down the street.

Room Tip: The main floor of the hotel where the receiption desk is located is floor 5. I recommend a floor abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The merit of this hotel is its proximity to Waverley Station. Once you navigate through the never-ending tram roadworks at edges of Princes Street, Waterloo Place appears as a charming late Georgian Street, but it is empty of any interesting shops or restaurants. The interior of the hotel aims for a sort of modernist, boutique style common to any town hotel anywhere. Like most Scottish hotels, the staff are almost exclusively Eastern European, still honing their service skills. By one, I was told I could not eat dinner in the restaurant at 7pm and that I should return at 8pm and she asked what my name was to make the booking. She seemed surprised when I said I did not want to eat there after all. Odd other handicaps frayed my humour - eeding the telephone speaker to be repaired for a conference call, no reply when dialling the operator. This left the impression that no one was really in charge. One leaving I was asked if I had enjoyed my stay, a good question if you want to know the answer, which the receptionist did not. She just printed my bill with a shrug. I sense Edinburgh hotels can struggle with fluctuations in capacity and demand which can mean perhaps there is not a consistency of training and organisation. But there are also other, enjoyable places to stay with character in and around George Street, say, with more choice of interesting places to dine out. If you had an early train to catch and not too fussed about service or charm, maybe Apex could fit the bill.

Room Tip: Ask what the window of the room looks out towards. One guest before me also asked to have his room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel a couple of times over the last few weeks fir business, though this last week was awful, for done reason upOn check in I had 3 separate bookings instead of 1 3 night checking requiring me to check in each night, on the Wednesday morning I came to iron my shirt and the iron didn't work

I then tried to unplug the iron and the back just dropped off leaving the exposed wires bare, due to the fact the plug was plastic and flexible as the back came off in my hand my finger flinched and created a circuit and got electrocuted fortunately I had dried my feet so I was earthed

Burns up my thumb and feeling sick for 2 days, what threw me however was the lack of concern with the managers when I checked back in that night there wasn't question if I was ok, I had to specifically ask them if I was still in the room and was it safe, the same manager then the next morning actually asked me to sign the bill rather than use chip and pin !!! How can I sign something whilst I had burns on my thumb which I can't even bend !!!

The plug had been recently checked and had the sticker for safety checks so I am unclear how I could have avoided the accident so it's best to avoid the hotel until they sort out their unsafe practises

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heffstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I attend the Fringe annually and for the last two years have used this hotel. Its a great location where quality of rooms is very good and service is friendly. The bar area could be considered a little cold but service was good and plenty of space. The location is very central to all activities in the city and very close to all travel services.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddymc999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
450 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at the Waterloo Apex in a mixed rainy sunny September. Arrived very late and desk were very friendly and helpful. No car park but the NCP is close with a discount not sure what it was but pulled the car out a couple of times and the charge was only £12 each time which I think might be a maximum stay charge. Breakfasts overpriced and if you want something simple I'd recommend popping round to Starbucks (take the lift to 0 and use the rear door (unusually reception is on the 5th floor due to the hotel being on the slope). Rooms very comfortable with decent size flat screen and decent bathrooms. We used meeting room a couple of times and very useful friendly service with again excellent facilities for small group business meetings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maraalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#28 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing