We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #32 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“clean and modern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

the hotel is essentially modern. clean, and good value for money. nothing to write home about, but if you just want a place to sleep it's good.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank woolgatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,440
    1,422
    295
    80
    26
See reviews for
709
2,142
195
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in January and had a great time. It is in a great location, easy to walk to from the station and you are straight onto Princes Street for the shops. We checked in a little earlier than the stated time and this was not a problem at all. Very friendly staff. We stayed in the 'city double' room (the standard one) and it was lovely, plenty of space, large TV, fridge and the bed was AMAZING. The softest, comfiest bed we had ever slept on! We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as it seemed expensive and there are plenty of other places to eat in Edinburgh. The gym was good, small as you would expect but there were only the 2 of us using it and it had really up to date machines. We didn't have any spa treatments but the pool, sauna and steam room were lovely for a relax after a day exploring. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed 1 Saturday night and found the room, staff and spa treatments and facilities all to be first class! We thought the bed was just amazingly comfortable and had a superb nights sleep. The shower was very spacious and tv a good size. The spa was small but lovely. I had a 35 minute massage which was fantastically relaxing. A great stay. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay at the Apex. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout. The location was better than I expected and ideal for shopping on Princes St and not far from the airport bus drop off.
Room was spotless and a good size. Enjoyed my use of spa and pool. Breakfast was lovely but a bit overpriced.
Edinburgh is a great city and I would choose this hotel if visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ally405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

I have stayed at the Apex Waterloo on one previous occasion and was is extremely accessible to the city centre and walking distance to Waverley station.

Arriving prior to the allocated check in time I was pleased when I was handed my key to my room (213) Reception is on level 5 along with Elliot Restaurant and the bright and airy modern bar and public areas.

The double room was immaculate, fresh smelling and fully equipped with a fridge stocked with still and sparkling water, safe, good selection of tea, coffee hot chocolate, shoe shine and sewing kit and safe. Lovely Elemis bath products soap and shampoo and conditioner, hairdryer. The modern bathroom boasts a good size bath and double shower. Bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and the room an excellent size complete with 42” LCD TV.

The room’s A/C is digitally controlled which is great however this is only controlled by use of your key on entry to the room which like many hotels activates all power. There was however a down side to this. The location of this room is not the best nestled between buildings. It is very dark and gets no sun so very cold and trying to put the temperature up for short bursts whilst in the room proved a challenge. Had I had a second key this may have overcome the temperature issue. I was not alone here other colleagues staying on this level had similar challenge of cold. This room is also located directly above the loading bay and opposite a pub so at 3am was wakened with the pub emptying and from then on periodically woken with delivery lorries and metal crates being dragged in via the loading doors below! I coped with this as only staying for one night however if I was to be there longer would have asked for a higher floor eg: level 7.

I was able to spend a very short time in the leisure facilities which were lovely, requiring a room key to access the area and £1 (refundable) for locker use. There is a small pool, sauna, steam room and small gym. Great setting to unwind at the end of the day.

We ate in the Elliot restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Pre dinner menu offered a very reasonable and high quality 3 course dinner for £16.50 the bottle of wine cost more at £19. Good selection of dishes to suit all tastes. Standard of food at Breakfast was of equally high quality with good choice of juices, cereals, meats and cheeses followed by full and al la carte hot breakfast menu.

All in all a fantastic hotel which I was look forward to staying again and again on business or pleasure but phoning ahead to request a higher floor. The hotel standard is first class and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: avoid room 213 directly above loading bay and opposite pub! choose rooms on a higher level or opposi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dajascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Recently stayed at the Apex Waterloo for the second time. Cannot fault this hotel.
Friendly, efficient staff, comfortable, clean room and central location, this hotel ticks all the boxes. Elemis products in the bathroom and use of spa and pool were a nice touch!
Cannot recommend highly enough and will be back next time I am in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fivestarzjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

A superb place to stay- Excellent quality and super staff. Cannot fault it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlo_ManUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#28 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing