We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Not Stay Here Again; Value for Money Not Worth It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Would Not Stay Here Again; Value for Money Not Worth It”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed here for a week in September, celebrating our anniversary

The Pros: close to attractions (the Royal Mile, etc.), train station, restaurants, and shopping.

The Cons: (1) heating/ac range is too limited. Our initial room was too warm to sleep and small fans provided didn't help; bed had duvet rather than sheet and blanket so thick duvet cover added to warmth (no sheet); (2) our initial room was too noisy--one floor above the main street with single-paned glass. We could hear cars, buses, pedestrians (including those who had been drinking). Hotel staff response: "All the rooms are noisy; we're in the city"; "Don't worry, the noise goes away by 1 a.m." Eventually, the manager moved us to another side of the hotel with double-paned glass and much farther from the street. Note: 5th floor is street level on the main drag, falls in back multiple floors. (3) Some of the staff were great, such as Alan, the concierge, a female woman manager (whose name we can't remember), and several others. A few of the desk people were irritating (4) Lounge/bar area doesn't have rugs or curtains and noise reverberates. It's fine when people are chatting quietly, miserable when people get drunk and loud (5) Numerous small irritations: (a) bathroom: the frosted glass bathroom door in the first room opened directly to the bedroom, lighting up the bedroom anytime someone was in the bathroom, and the shower floor's grout had turned black; insufficient bathroom light for makeup (b) small reception area: the appearance of tour groups meant we sometimes had to wait for them to pass to get to the outside door or to go to our room when we returned (c) business area: hotel has 2 computers to use if you can't use your own and they are very, very slow, plus the light in the business area is motion-activated which can be disconcerting (d) the fire alarm went off while we were in our initial room and we had go to toward the INSIDE from the our hall area to get to the steps (e) the second room did not have an electrical outlet on one side of the bed (f) the first room was a connecting room and we immediately expressed concern when we were assigned the room while the staff person insisted that the walls and door were thick and we would hear nothing--yet one night we had to listen to a woman with a bad cough and a child (?) who kept trying to open the connecting door. Not fun.

In short, not a hotel we would stay at again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoadGoesOnForever5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,502
    1,472
    309
    82
    28
See reviews for
736
2,197
206
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porthmadog
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This was our first trip to Edinburgh and we agonisied about choosing the right hotel in the right location for the right price. We needn't have worried about the location as Edinburgh is a small city and we were well placed to see it all from this hotel which is at one end of Princes Street. Breakfast was enough to sustain us all day and their Pre-Theatre Dinner at £14 for 3 courses was excellent value. The hotel has a small shallow pool which was lovely to relax in. The staff were very obliging and friendly and they found room to park my mothers mobility scooter by reception. It cost us £175/night/room and we would have been in a small twin beded room had we not insisted on being in a double bed. My parents' 'disabled room' was small with a walk in shower no bath. I had hoped it would be on the 'ground floor' but it didn't matter as there is a lift. Parking at £19 for 24 hours is just over 5 mins walk away from the back of the hotel. Once you park it there it is cheaper to leave it than take it out as the cost soon mounts up.

Room Tip: Look at the room first as the twin rooms can be small. Our double room had a sofa in it and was idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowdonia_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

A late arrival for me (10pm) and staff processed my checkin quickly and efficiently. Allocated a room on the main road for the first time and was very impressed by both the blackout curtains and noise insulation (buses travel past but I didn't hear a thing). The only "problem" with the room was the relative lack of lighting, but that's standard across all hotels these days.

Not sure if it's an addition or was simply a feature of this room but the power socket next to the bed was a very welcome find. I also eventually realised that there was a clock radio iPod sound dock, though I didn't use that (simply using my iPhone as an alarm).

Breakfast a treat as always, seated very sensitively for a lone traveller. Cooked portion of the meal arrived extremely fast (almost too fast as I was still eating some fruit) but delicious and hot.

Checkout was speedy, no queues despite leaving at 9am, and my taxi arrived within a minute or two at most.

Great staff, a great (if brief) stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herrdoktorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I would stay here again. We appreciated the location, by the train station, walking distance to everything you want to see in Edinburgh. Reasonable price.

Very nice staff. Very accommodating.

Pretty clean. I think the designers should stay in the room (no luggage stand, soap dish, make up mirror, little things that cost next to nothing that would help make it more comfortable).

But that's a little picky. It's a recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Our big event this year was our daughters wedding, which was held at the Waterloo. We stayed as a group of family and friends for three days during May. We were very impressed with the service, rooms and resteraunt, with fabulous breakfast selection.
The wedding was planned from different parts of the country, and I have to say that the events management left a lot to be desired, poor communication, but after we met Niel, who was to be our Master of Ceremonies for the big day, my previous worries dissapeared. He was absolutely fantastic! He made us feel that everything would be taken care of - and it was.
Niel looked after us from booking in to signing out, and when we were trying to pack the car on departure!

Well done Waterloo, I would recomend you for a classy city stay.

Room Tip: if you want a room with a view - ask, we didn't get one. There was no mobile phone connection i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artizan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Twp. Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed there the week of September 12th and we thought the hotel was great. We took the train up from London and our room was ready when we got there. Our stay included a breakfast package and we were not disappointed in the food. We had drinks in the lounge on several nights and the bartender could not have been friendlier. The location of the hotel is great and we were able to walk to most destinations. We surely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohiogil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Overall a great hotel. The location is convenient to Waverly train station and the sights. A convenient walk to the Royal Mile and shopping. The room was large and had a lot of
storage space and a large bathroom. The staff were friendly. The breakfast was good , a wide selection and the ability to have the buffet including fruit, cereal , yogurt and pastries and included a full Scottish breakfast or the ability to order off the menu. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,038 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing