We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swanston Farm Holiday Cottages
Ranked #85 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
KL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I also stayed in cottage number 8 in July 2011 with my son and had a totally different experience from the previous post. The cottage was clean, especially the kitchen. I loved that they gave you a little bag with new cleaning cloths, sponges, dishwasher tablets etc.

The free internet was also a bonus.

I also thought that the cottage was great value for money for Edinburgh in July in and I will hopefully stay there again next summer.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank scottiekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed in cottage number 8 for 1 week. It was very peaceful and great walking, with horses all around and nice views. But the cottage was filthy. I had to request a hoover. There was cobwebs on the walls and ceilings in every room and the skirting boards had at least an inch of thick black dust on them. There was coffee stains and marks all over the kitchen of spillages and hairs in the bathroom everywhere. We had to make a list of all the lights which were not working and some were fixed straight away. We cleaned the bathroom light ourself and the mould around the shower was disgusting. Our bed in the master bedroom was so hard it was like sleeping on a rock surface! We moved one of the single beds to fit in our travel cot and found a bread roll underneath and thick black dust. I never moved or cleaned under anything else for fear of what I would find. Disappointing standard of cleanliness for the money we paid.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie Australia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed at Swanston for two weeks,on our holiday from Australia and we loved our cottage!Everything you need was provided and all nice and clean,the beds were comfortable,the kitchen a nice size and we had our own garden which was lovely,we sat out there often.Free internet which we loved to down load our pictures and send home!
It is about a ten minute walk to the bus stop,and another few minutes to get to a huge spermarket "Morrisons"plenty of buses to take you where ever you wanted to go,an all day bus ticket costs three pounds twenty and you can use it as many times as you want.
We loved every minute of our stay at Swanston,good on the team there :0).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiechick_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Great location - wonderful views - but still close to everything. We stayed for 7 nights and would have easily stayed longer. Lots of parking as well.
The cottage catered well for our family. It was cosy with a full kitchen and large lounge area. With the Golf Club right beside you, you can choose to eat at the clubhouse as well.
We have family who live nearby so we found the cottages a great base to work from. I would recommend hiring a car for longer sight seeing trips but you can walk to the nearest bus stop as taking a car into Ediburgh is not ideal. The bus service is so great, and you get to enjoy the sights on the way in.
We would definitely stay at the cottages again and highly recommend them to others.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisaamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We came here for a week in late July and was very pleased with the location and the apartment itself. The accomodation is very easy to find and its close enough to the ring road to make it easy to get around by car. Its also fairly close to a bus stop at the hunters tryst pub so after 30mins on the bus you can be in the middle of Edinburgh city center. Also at £1.20 to get anywhere or £3 for a day pass it is good value too.

The accommodation itself is in a really nice area and you don't get any noise from the golf course, if your into you golf I would certainly recommend it but even if like us you don't there are loads of nice places to walk as your on the edge of a country park. Inside everything is pretty clean and well kitted out with wired internet, full kitchen and LCD TV the bed is comfortable and the only disappointing thing inside was the terrible sofa but they left a note in the welcome pack that many of the places are being updated at the moment so if you stay next year there may be a nice new one. It would have been nice to be able to see someone on arrival and there is nobody to speak to that easily at the weekend which was a bit of a problem when the toaster didn't work and it took us a while to find the switch to turn on the boiler, also we only found the bus time tables on the last day which would have been nice in the welcome pack. Anyway I wouldn't let this put you off as the place is great value and if you plan to spend some time in and around Edinburgh I wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orphir, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We found this place by chance. I have passed by this place a million times and didn't know it was there. We were on holiday in Edinburgh again this month. We were looking for self catering as we were fed up with hotels. One of my family members mentioned the cottages at the Swanston golf course near Swanston Farm. I said I never heard of it before as we live in Orkney. However, we went in and they had one cottage empty for the week. We were told the price which was acceptable. We ended up doing Saturday to Saturday. The cottage had three rooms. The master bedroom was en-suite. The kitchen was huge, great for me as I am a chef. I cooked for my family on almost all evenings. The kitchen and the rest of the cottage had all the facilities that you would require. We saw the grading from Visit Scotland on the wall was four stars. We would grade these cottages and facilities as five stars. The golf course is the newest in Scotland and has excellent greens to play on. The clubhouse is state of the arts with views to die for over the Pentland Hills, the clubhouse has a Restaurant and bar which is open to the public, and they sell excellent food there. They have a fitness suite as well as many other facilities. There are many walks around this area on the Pentland Hills including Allermuir Hill. There is also Swanston Village to look at, and the homes of Robert Louise Stevenson and Edwin Muir Poet. This area is known as the area of thinkers.

We highly recommend these self-catering cottages to anyone visiting Edinburgh as they are 10 minutes walk to the bus stop and a short 20 minute ride to the city centre and a good supermarket is just around the corner.

  • Liked — The large rooms and the facilities also being in the countryside in the centre of a city
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank houtonbaylodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
#115 of 149 in Edinburgh
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spylaw Bank House
#51 of 212 in Edinburgh
24 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#101 of 392 in Edinburgh
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swanston Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swanston Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Swanston Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: 109 Swanston Road, Edinburgh EH10 7DS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swanston Holiday Cottage was renovated in 2002 from buildings that were originally used as granaries, cart sheds & coach houses. The Granary Cottage is north-south facing with large arched windows. The property consists of one double bedroom and one twin single bedroom, a modern bathroom and a modern fully equipped kitchen complete with oven, microwave,washing machine, dishwasher and fridge-freezer. Among the comfortable furnishings in the living room you will find a flat screen television with built in DVD player & freeview channels and a double sofa bed. The Granary Cottage is ideal for those looking for a base outside the hustle & bustle city centre but who still want to be able to explore in and around Edinburgh and the Lothians. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swanston Farm Holiday Cottages Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing