We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous meal”

Cafe Andaluz Edinburgh
Ranked #112 of 2,479 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: New Town
Description: Our newest and largest venture, Cafe Andaluz hopes to bring a little bit of Spain to George Street, Edinburgh. Sharing tapas is a great way to eat socially and we make our dishes fresh and as varied as possible. All our dishes are prepared using the best raw materials and are all prepared on the premises. Our wines are sourced solely from Spain and our Sangria is made from traditional recipes passed down through generations. Our staff will always be available to offer advice on menu choices and recommend some of their favourites.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous meal”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were in Edinburgh for a wee break and needed somewhere to eat. Fancied tapas and were told this was the place to go. We did not book but were told we could have a table for and hour and a half. We ended up being their far longer and it was not bother. lovely food and excellent service and vibe to the place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gus970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,344
    734
    174
    52
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, well worth a try”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went here on a Tuesday night and managed to get in without a booking. We were greeted by a pleasant waitress who took out drinks orders after showing us to our seats. The restaurant has a Spanish/North African design to it, as you would expect, but is realy comfy and has a great atmosphere. The menu is quite extensive and has things to suit most tastes. As there were two of us we decided to order the dishes in groups of 3 so that we could share and managed to get through 2 full sets of lushness before being forced to surrender to our bulging bellies. The I had a pudding because I could. Can't fault the place at all, if you're in the George Street area of Edinburgh then this is well worth a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavenRachGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Whoah! Must Visit.....AGAIN!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This place is one of the best eateries I have visited! The food was amazing! I can't speak highly enough of this great find!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbsentDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north shields
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, Greedy staff!!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very nice food and wine, chicken thighs obviously been marinated, very spicy patatas bravas and a well rounded, slightly oaky rjoja!

The offer of the day was 3 x tapas plus dessert for £14.95 but not wanting a sweet we picked off the a la carte menu.......adding up to £12.55 and despite having made this clear and then not being offered a pudding the food bill came to, yes, £14.95 - not that it's the amount involved but the principle behind an English accent not being there for any other reason than they're a tourist!!??

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crashball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Birthday Treat”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I wanted something different for my birthday and settled on Cafe Andaluz. We, my wife and I, had not been there before and were impressed by the size and decor when we walked in. The service and food did not disappoint either, the service was prompt and efficient without any rush, the portions were mor than adequate for sharing and were delicious. We would recommend Cafe Andaluz to anyone looking for somewhere different. We will be back!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Andaluz Edinburgh also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Andaluz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing