We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Forsyth's Tea Room

Forsyth's Tea Room
Ranked #25 of 152 Coffee & Tea in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Old Town
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was easier to find than I thought it would be. That is about the most positive thing I can say about Forsyth's I had hot chocolate and a slice of cake. The cocoa was watery and only warm. The carrot cake was dry and tasteless. Service was absent. The owner (?) was so busy talking to a friend that you did not get much if any service until I was walking out. I had read a few reviews on this place and was really looking forward to going :(

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    38
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Time Capsule Tea Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We found this Tea Room purely by accident....
As soon as I opened the door to look inside and was greeted by a purple haired smiling lady, asking me to "please shut the door as the BlueBottles play havoc with me cakes" I knew immediately that this was the place for us....
It was like going back to the 1950's and having tea with your great aunt....The tea, the food, the service and friendly chat was most welcome.
Would recommend to anyone who is in Edinburgh and wants a quiet cup of tea and a lovely slice of cake..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lfaithlessfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

What a wonderful place! I am sure if Harry Potter exist this would be one of the place he would like to share his tea with his friends :) Mrs Forsyth, the owner with the purple hair, makes you feel like you visit your old aunt who is about to prepare a nice tea for you. The location, the tea room inside, the decoration, everything is great! I would like it even more if smelled less chlorine, but even this, is part of the aesthetic of this place- and to be honest I am not sure if I ever visited a place with such clean toilets! So just find Chalmers Close and vist Forsyth's Tea Room!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fed_lubitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Thought it would be nice......”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Quaint little granny style eatery, clean and tidy.
Abrupt and sharp service, although forgiveable as it was a late afternoon August Sunday.
Soup and roll, hearty, coffee hot
Tuna salad was a pathetic affair, with barely a teaspoon of tuna in it, runny with salad cream and padded out with the odd bit of sweetcorn. Soft radishes, half a tasteless tomato and a spoonful of pickled beetroot and some scraps of lettuce and a miserly amount of what looked like grated onion. Salad price £6.95 and two small slices of brown bread at an extra £2.00.
My total of £11.00 with coffee, for something that equated to a poor sandwich.
I felt ripped off, especially as we had to pay for this upfront.

Never again!
Poor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Washington
1 review
“Great food and conversation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stopped with the family looking for some good shortbread, after a recommendation from a kilt shop. Everything looked so good we stayed for a meal instead (and also bought plenty of shortbread). We had scotch pies, pasties and sausage rolls. All were excellent. Don't expect quick service, it's just her and a man who came to shovel snow off the close 14 years ago (love the stories!). Food was lovely and so was the owner with her lilac hair. Great shortbread too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forsyth's Tea Room also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Forsyth's Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing