We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marchfield Guest House
Ranked #254 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed there for one night. Had a room on the first floor. The room was very very cramped with no space to move about, we had to be sitting on the bed all the time. The common bathroom and toilet was probably bigger than our room. We checked in at noon and was given the breakfast for next morning ( cereal, yogurt and cold croissants). The bed and breakfast are part of the owners house but only saw them during check in and when they came banging at the door ( as we overslept and was late by an hour for check out). The entire experience was very impersonal and cold. It is located close to a bus stop but far from the city center. It was not inexpensive so would recommend that you spend and extra 10-20 pounds and stay closer to city center. Not worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazalvishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 45 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed here for an overnight so we could go to the fringe.Owner friendly when checking in...never seen them after this....85 pounds for the room I thought was expensive...but very clean which was mt main concern.The Bed was awful I couldn't sleep which was ok as only one night but I couldn't have put up with it for any longer.Breakfast was non awful ...2 small boxes of cereal ,some fruit and 2 rolls in cling film....I would just advertise as room only rather than offer this.All in all clean and friendly but way overpriced for no breakfast .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My room was ok with portable tv but my workmate's different story his was outside owners living space plus tape over light switch and sign saying not to use lights beds are cheapest could obviously buy and no cooked breakfast what you get is 2 boxes of kids size cereal 2 kids carton's juice and quarter pint milk in a fridge in your room which is where you need to eat breakfast and nowhere to park at all and we had 2 vans not good at all right next to busiest street ever seen so can't even park round corner

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fudnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I would not in any shape or form recommend this guest house, the money was took off us when we arrived and that was the last we seen of the guest house owner, we arrived by taxi and the owner seen us getting out of the taxi,yet we were asked did we have our own transport with us, and they talk bout the irish being stupid, whenever we were leaving we were waiting on a taxi outside, the guest house door was open at this time, only for the owner to come along and close the door behind us and not even so much as a good morning or did u have a good stay how rude, the noise of cars on the main road was constant all night, plus a air lock in their water system which blocked the toilet and whenever I was to have a shower I was told to turn the tap on on the sink to stop the airlock, we knew breakfast was contentental my goodness, had a choice of either cornflakes or fruit and fibre in the fridge a couple of yogurts and a couple of fruit pots, crossiants were wrapped up in cling film, I could go on alot more bout this place but I definately would not recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annieAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sophiie-So
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SaDa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: So weit weg von der Straße wie nur möglich.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,057 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#93 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,095 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marchfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marchfield Guest House

Address: 1B Marchfield Grove | Blackhall, Edinburgh EH4 5BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $68 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marchfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marchfield Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing