We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best B&B experience ever!”

Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #179 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My best B&B experience ever!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in June, the place is in a very quiet neighborhood which guarantees a great sleep. There is parking place within the premises which was great for us. City center is very close so you can take the bus and be in the Royal Mile in 10 minutes or 5 by taxi. The place is very cozy, it has a lounge where you can watch movies, read, listen to music. Our family room was spacious enough, spotless and every detail taken care of. You have to decide what would you have for breakfast the night before, the breakfast is huge and very, very, very good. We enjoyed every meal we had here and didn´t feel hungry until dinner time. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iliana70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
26
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I'm a bit shocked to read a few of these awful comments about this bed and breakfast. It seems as if people seem to forget that this is a B&B and not a 5-star-rated hotel, so if you want all the luxury you should apply there. Warm and cosy and a very welcoming. No complaints. I'd go back again any time - in fact I plan to in the spring!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klaudia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location of this B&B is good if you don't want to be right in the centre of things in Edinburgh but want easy access. On arrival I found that the host was a bit quirky and too chatty, when I just wanted to get to my room and settle. I didn't want to offend but he wasn't picking up on the hint. My room was average and pleasant décor wise, nothing special and a bit overpriced. More attention could have been given to the cleaning, especially of the ensuite but it wasn't digusting. Slight smell of damp in the room. In the morning there was no choice given regarding the cooked breakfast, it just came out as standard but there was a selection of cereal.

I wouldn't stay here again, when I've stayed in Edinburgh before I've had better quality for less. I think Mayfield needs to pay more attention to basics for like hygiene and the host could be friendly without being off-putting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Well what can I say, Mayfield Lodge is excellent. Great location close to the heart of Edinburgh (10mins on the number 42 bus which stops right outside the b&b). We needed somewhere to stay for 3 nights as we were going to the 2013 British Open at Muirfield which was about a 25min drive away. We didn’t encounter any issues at all, the rooms were clean and well equipped, wifi throughout, cable TV, the twin room we were in was very spacious, the breakfast was spot on, can have pretty much whatever you want, cereal, toast/bagel/crumpets, full English etc Kenny the host was great and really made us feel at home. If I was ever heading up to Edinburgh again id definitely stay there:-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Mayfield Lodge the beginning of this month {July} as part of our trip to the UK. The Lodge itself, needs some updating in the rooms as well as the kitchen. The host Kenny makes you feel right at home , friendly and outgoing. As for the food we felt it was not what we expected it to be, the full English/Scottish breakfast. More like rationed portions,firstly you are not asked what you would like , just the time you want to eat. The first morning my daughter and I did not eat the eggs or the sausage on the plate. Next morning they were not there and nothing was in place of the missing egg and such.Also one button mushroom, one half tomato, a soup spoon of beans, does not make a full English/Scottish breakfast.
The convenience to the bus stop was a great help for those who did not drive.All in all I can not give it a full 5 .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My friend and I spent a couple of nights here in June and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was small but immaculate and the great, strong shower was welcome after the transatlantic flight. Kenny welcomed us as friends, loaned us electrical adaptors, received out lost luggage from the airline while we were out sightseeing and gave us great advice on seeing his city. The price was good and, with a bus stop just across the street, this is a good choice for those on a budget. It's a short ride into the center of town and Kenny cooks a lovely, large breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatsTicket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed here so I would be near Edinburgh University. I was warmly greeted by Kenny and shown my room. It had a smell of damp and the window was wide open. I ended up spraying some expensive perfume to kill the smell. The room was quite dated although the views to the garden made up for it with garden birds and a wonderful magnolia tree. I asked to borrow an iron and ironing board however the iron proved really greasy on the outside...I had to wash my hands before I used it.
There just seems to be a bit of neglect in the room and the en suite could have been a bit cleaner. The plug extension had a faulty plug.
Kenny was helpful and said I could use the breakfast room to use my computer which was helpful. I eventually went back to my room but was quite cold and ended up sitting with a blanket round me in bed.
I had cereal and fruit for breakfast and declined the cooked breakfast which Kenny said he had made despite not asking what I would like.
The normal price for my room would be £80 which I feel would be far too high for the standard it was. I paid £40 which was more appropriate.
It definitley needs some steam cleaning and a bit of TLC.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a view over the garden so would be quieter than one facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.5 mi away
The Salisbury Hotel
The Salisbury Hotel
#88 of 148 in Edinburgh
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#37 of 392 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pillars House
Pillars House
#94 of 392 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Classic Guest House
Classic Guest House
#67 of 392 in Edinburgh
264 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 392 in Edinburgh
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrandale Guest House
Arrandale Guest House
#159 of 392 in Edinburgh
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse
Address: 75 Mayfield Road, Edinburgh EH9 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing