We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apartment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atholl Brae - The Harland

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atholl Brae - The Harland
Ranked #122 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great apartment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

If you are looking for an apartment in Edinburgh that would suit three people looking for lots of space or a bigger group needing space then this apartment will suit. It was clean and modern and is only a 20min walk (max) to the city centre. Liz was great in getting back to me via email and provided many suggestions of things to do. Loved the apartment and loved Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ultracrepidarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae - The Harland, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
We try very hard to provide brillian customer focussed service as well as luxurious accomodation.
When you return to Edinburgh, return to Atholl Brae!
Kind regards
Liz n co
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

I have just returned from a 3 night break at the Harland Apartment. My husband and I stayed with our two young children (aged 7 and 2) and my parents. Its a lovely apartment, VERY well equipped with tourist information (leaflets, bus timetables, takeaway menu's etc, all up to date) and also plenty of entertainment (games, tv, reading material). Also extra items such as fans in the bedrooms and a pop up bed, came in handy. The apartment was well maintained although the ensuite bathroom could have done with an extra clean (hairs on floor and sink) and there was a few items (eye shadow applicators) on the floor and clusters of dust under bed, which suggests it hadn't been cleaned thoroughly, but the kitchen was spotless. The apartment is located between Edinburgh city centre and Leith, with a bus running every 10 minutes, so is a great base for exploring!

Unfortunately my one criticism is that I don't think the apartment is suitable for younger children. On our final night we received a complaint from a neighbour about the noise of our children's footsteps on the wooden floor. Like most toddlers our 2 year old generally runs about. There was very little we could do about this and although we were only in the apartment in the evenings we did hear the neighbours banging on the walls, which made us feel anxious and unable to relax. This is something I would advise other travellers to consider before booking as had we known this would cause a problem, I don't think we would have stayed here.

Overall a lovely apartment in a great location which I would recommend to travellers with older children.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mull82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae - The Harland, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I'm sorry that you found the apartment was not as clean as I would have preferred - we have "cleaned up our act" meantime are included more review after the cleaning is done.

Our normal procedure is to hoover, then wet wipe, all of the hard floors between each let.

Long hairs can be a problem and bear in mind that with wooden floors you see everything that a carpet disguises. Under our beds is not hidden, either by bed-sides or by valances.

Neighbours are something it's not possible for me to control - I don't know if this lady was another holidaymaker or not, as I don't own the adjacent apartment, but if I'd known there was a problem at the time, I would have attempted to resolve it.

I would suggest that some people are "not as understanding as others" where small children are concerned. I've had similar experiences myself, when my own children - who were definitely not quiet - evoked unpleasant complaints from neighbourghing holidaymakers who were awoken in what they thought were the early hours (10am) after returning noisily drunk the night before. (The neighgbours, not the children, of course!). This can happen anywhere, I've found it's easist for me to stand up against people right away, politely and firmly. I think children should be allowed to make a reasonable amount of noise at reasonable hours - it's their holiday too.

Kind regards
Liz n co
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

We found the Atholl Brae - The Harland, through Trip Advisor, and immediately felt at ease corresponding with the owners, Liz and Ernie Bentley. The pre-planning that they helped us with, details of what the stay in the flat would entail, suggestions on how to get around and helpful hints on visiting Edinburgh (sturdy shoes, umbrellas and rain gear) were invaluable and extremely thoughtful. The flat was comfortable, extremely clean, secure (security door with buzz-in and closed circuit tv on the entrances, spacious, well suited to a family, tastefully furnished, located in a nice, residential area not too far from Leith Walk, easily accessible by walking, a nearby city bus stop (#11 was the one we took to easily get downtown...just have the exact change ready) or taxi (we highly recommend the pre-hires). The Bentleys were very accommodating and extremely kind and made sure that we had whatever we needed. There were some supplies provided but self-catering flats are just that...you need to find a grocery store and stock up if you're going to eat in. A large and modern Tesco (not too far by cab) was filled with fairly easily identifiable brands. There are also smaller groceries nearby that we liked such as the Co-Op on the corner of Leith Walk and Pilrig, a few blocks away, as well as several good restaurants on Letih Walk. The Pilrig neighborhood is lovely and residential. Leith Walk itself varies from historical and interesting to commercial and less inviting. But, as in any city, you just need to know where to go. We had no trouble at all and felt very safe. People were very helpful and kind. The flat had all the cleaning equipment and supplies necessary to tidy up. UK washer/dryers in the flats are a bit of a challenge and not meant for large amounts of laundry...they wash extremely well but the drying is less efficient (a provided drying rack was useful). The kitchen of the flat was wonderful...plenty of very hot water, clean, fresh cold tap water, large fridge and freezer, microwave, stove, oven, good lighting and a door to close so one could work there and not disturb the late sleepers. All rooms had heavy doors actually, which made it nice and quiet in each room. The kitchen had all the requsite items required for cooking. There was a TV and DVD player, altho' our DVD's wouldn't work "across the pond" and we weren't a huge fan of UK TV. But, no matter, there was an iPod player and plenty of literature on places to go and things to see and do. There was also WiFi allowing us to check email. No phone but most folks have mobiles anyway. So, after a long day of sightseeing, the cozy living room was a welcome treat. There was also a faux fireplace/heater for colder weather. However, it was plenty warm in the flat and there were also fans provided. The large wooden table and cushioned chairs for dining were sturdy and well designed. The bedrooms were lovely, with clean, puffy, white comforters and linens, large closets and plenty of dresser space. The bathrooms, one w/shower, one with tub, were large, clean and well lit. The wooden bedroom furniture was sturdy, modern and functional. The mattresses in the UK take a bit of getting used to but still, we slept well. There is much more we could say but, to sum it up, Atholl Brae - The Harland, was a little bit of welcome home away from home and the owners were more than responsible...they were like our fairy godparents. Seriously though, we highly recommend this flat and the owners to anyone who wants a comfy, quiet rest ing spot that is easily accessible to the exciting, uphill and down, downhill and up, hustle and bustle, fascinating and historical yet modern and thriving city of Edinburgh in beautiful Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlandlassies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae - The Harland, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write that lovely review.
I've never been described as a fair godmother before - wow!
When you com back to Edinburgh - come bck to Atholl Brae!
Liz n co
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

We had a very pleasant stay at the Harland apartment during our Scotland visit. We are a family with 4 young children so need a bit of space for the kids. The Harland apartment had every thing to keep the kids busy ranging from free Wifi, satellite TV and DVD collection to board games. The apartment was very clean and well prepared for our stay (complementary bottle of bubbles!). The kitchen was well equipped. Two bathrooms with a very powerful shower. The bus stop is only 2 minutes walk and the drive to the center 10 minutes max. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingVDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

What a great place to come home to after a long day of sight-seeing! We spent three nights here and enjoyed being able to make our own breakfast before we left each day. We also picked up something for dinner and brought it back to the apartment at night. We could have cooked if we had wanted to, since the apartment has all the conveniences of home, but we were tired from being out all day and just picked up something fantastic at the Marks & Spencer grocery dept. We had another couple with us and having two modern bathrooms was great! Liz is wonderful and met us with the key and lots of useful information about the area. Thanks, Liz. We had a great time. ;o)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiMc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

We had 5 adults in our party and found the flat spacious enough that we could spread out without feeling on top of each other. It's bright, cheerful, tastefully decorated and meticulously clean. The master bedroom has a nice balcony for sipping your morning coffee/tea. The kitchen is gorgeous and there is a dining table large enough to accommodate six people easily. A lift makes it easy to get your luggage up. The flat is conveniently located near a bus stop and it was easy to get all around the city using public transportation. Liz is a joy to work with and was able to make great recommendations on where to eat and what to see in Edinburgh. We would definitely recommend this flat to friends and would stay there again when we have the chance to return.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Europe510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae - The Harland, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Thanks a lot for that glowing review! We try very hard to please our guests and it feels good to get such positive feedback. We hope you are able to come back to Edinburgh, and when you do you'll stay with us again
It is easy to navigate the city from this apartment and only 5 minutes in the bus to the city centre. There are night buses which stop very nearby too.
What you get in the Harland apartment is a beautiful apartment, for a great price, in a bright and peaceful location.
What you also get if you book with usfor either of our apartments is our friendly, personal service; assistance, recommendations and support before and during your stay in Edinburgh.
Very best wishes
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

This apartment is well located for getting to Princes Street either on foot or by bus. The building is fairly quiet and parking is provided. The accomodation is good and caters well for 4 adults or a family needing two bedrooms. Our stay was comfortable, the reception by our landlady very good and we enjoyed a trouble free stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nethappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae - The Harland, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Thank you for taking he time to submit this review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
I hope to see you again
Kind regards
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#101 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
The Bridge Inn at Ratho
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Brae - The Harland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Brae - The Harland

Property: Atholl Brae - The Harland
Address: 6, Flat 10, Pilrig Heights, Edinburgh EH6 5BF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Harland" is a 4 Star, Visit Scotland assessed, luxury apartment. Providing luxury for 4 people, or style and comfort for up to 6, plus a baby. Your children are welcome - a cot and high chair are available on request. In a quiet peaceful location, with almost no traffic noise, but still within easy reach of the city centre, this stylish, spacious and bright 1st floor apartment is accessed by a lift and wide stair. On site parking is available, as well as: - Spacious lounge with luxury leather suite and formal dining table - Fabulous fully-fitted kitchen with dining table and chairs - Large double bedroom with balcony and en-suite shower-room - Full bathroom with bath and shower - Bed settee and folding beds are also available. Assessed by Visit Scotland as accessible to assisted disabled people. Up to 6 people can be accommodated in separate beds, if required. Friendly, personal welcome and tourist advice, if you wish us to help plan your stay. Allergy friendly and non smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atholl Brae - The Harland Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing